We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 576: English reviews
Halifax
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Arrived late and made a fast checkin. I was aware that the restaurant closed at 10 and made my efforts to get there before hand. I entered the restaurant at 945 and was turned away to the bar. The bar food was unimpressive. As to the room... $269 for a "suite" with torn carpet, dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, a bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greenwater456
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Greewater456, Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback but are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay due to a couple of issues. We apologize that we did not provide you with an experience that exceeded your expectations. I have shared your comment " was aware that the restaurant closed at...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Out compnay hosted the annual Christmas party Dec. 6/14 at the Sheraton, and while in the past the service and food were excellent, considering the number of revellers that they serve, this year the food was terrible. The steak was so dry and black, I looked up at the server and exclaimed "But I i have been a good boy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ToddSt_John_sNL
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon ToddSt_John_sNL, We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent Christmas event at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.It is feedback such as this which allows us to identify areas of success and others that need more attention. We apologize for the issues you encountered with regards to the quality of the food during your...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 12 December 2014

The Sheraton St. John's is a reliable hotel good amenities and an excellent location. View of St. John's Harbour is the best in the city so on a pleasant day the view is breathtaking. Breakfast service is a little spotty as it can get busy so if you are a rush take the buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Striker709
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Striker709, We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the view of our historic harbor. It truly is a spectacular view, especially on a clear...

Vancouver Island, BC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Sheraton, primarily because of the beautiful corner room. I spent every morning enjoying the views of Signal Hill, the Harbour and the city. It was a spectacular view and I couldn't have asked for a better view of everything. The rest of the hotel was also very nice. Very clean and decent breakfast, though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conscious14
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Conscious14, We appreciate you taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel's view is truly special and is always noted as a very important feature. We are so glad you got to enjoy it. We...

Stonington, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 December 2014

I see that some other reviewers have been disappointed by this hotel, but that was not my experience in two different rooms over the course of 4 nights stay. Both of the rooms I stayed in (7th floor facing the harbor and 5th floor facing the city) had been updated and were well-furnished and in good repair. They were substantially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raoul M
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Raoul, We would like to thank-you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments about your stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.We are happy you enjoyed your stay I will certainly pass on your kind words to all of our associates. I will also provide your feedback concerning the lack of vegetarian options available to our culinary...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2014

This hotel was once a fine Fairmont property, taken over by Sheraton some years ago. I would say that little has been done to refurbish Room 324 in years. Some of the furniture, such as the tables, are worn and decrepit, on a par with what you would find in a cheap motel. The bathroom fan is disgusting, blocked with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneWicks
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Good Day Rene Wicks, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. I would like to thank you for the feedback on the conditions of the hotel. Since branding as a Sheraton in 2009-2010 we have been fortunate to completely renovate the lobby, all public areas, all meeting space, the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Loved this Sheraton, the waterfall in the lobby makes it easier to calm down when you arrive. Rooms are well cleaned, good beds and great location. Uphill from Downtown st-john's but it's not too much of a hike.. 15-20 mins walking distance from George Street (lots of pubs and restaurants there) 15 mins from the airport by taxi. Great staff!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mixedman
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Mixedman, Thank-you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. We are pleased to see that we were able to meet your expectations in so many ways. It is as you say our great staff that keep many of our guests coming back time after time. Our...

Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 16 November 2014

This is a vintage hotel, opened by the CN Railroad years back, but still has elements of that glory. Unfortunately, current management has not invested the wherewithal to maintain that condition. Furniture is worn and has finish missing from tops and edges. Baseboards in the public areas show distress. Food is good, but nothing spectacular. The Concierge Lounge has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geezer45
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello Geezer45, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We currently have an on-going renovation program in place at the hotel to ensure that we are continuing to provide a level of comfort & service that all of our guests are coming to expect from a Sheraton property.. We do receive...

Channel-Port aux Basques
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Great hotel with a nice view of the harbour. Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. A 20 minute walk to George Street and the many other attractions downtown St. John's has to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846dans
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

Hello 846Dans, We would like to thank-you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us. We are happy to know that your experience with us was enjoyable. As well, happy to know that you found our associates to be friendly and accommodating. Our close proximity to downtown St. John's and George Street is certainly a benefit...

Celtic
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Guest-facing staff (front desk, concierge, housekeeping, Club lounge): generally excellent; smiling, being responsive to inquiries, being pro-active e.g. weather, cleaning, hotel events. Where are the managers? The fitness centre has not had television on the exercise machines for at least nine weeks since September 1st. This problem has been reported to the staff repeatedly but there are no signs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discerning_visitor55
Scott620, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us and your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but are disappointed to read it was not a flawless one. The challenges we encountered with the television and cable offerings on some of our fitness equipment occurred as...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
212 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $182 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Spring Green, Wisconsin
1 month ago
Ottawa, Canada
6 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles soleil_0402, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask questions to clarify view and the room amenities”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleMHawco, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a porthole room or one with a harbour view - do it”
 of 5 bubbles SUSKNO, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 246 was a great view of the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Daveee00, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to club”
 of 5 bubbles A1556ENandrews, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay