We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Hotel Harbourview

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Harbourview
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Harbourview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I read many of the reviews posted to Trip Advisor before staying at this hotel and true... the rooms are dated... but also true is that they are clean, the location is awesome (we were able to walk to everything), parking is available and price can't be beat. Is a total bang for the buck and how often can one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank corey475
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. I have just shared with the team and we are delighted to hear that your stay was so memorable. We certainly strive to offer the best service possible and thank you for recognising the team. We are hoping for renovations in 2016 and will keep you updated on its progress. Once again...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Cannot beat the location of this hotel! At one end of the famous Water Street, it is within walking distance of restaurants and the infamous colourful heritage homes. The staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and professional. The facility was clean but needs updating. Hotel rooms are beginning to show age and the bed was not the most comfortable. That being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastCityBoy2014
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is greatly appreciated. The team and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found our staff friendly and professional. With regards to our property needing an update, we are hopeful that 2016 will bring renovations and...

La Scie, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel harbourview. Rooms are kept clean and neat, bathrooms as well. The rooms are a little dated with regards to color scheme but overall quite nice. We have stayed here a few times in the past because we enjoy the nightlife and downtown shopping. This is a great spot to stay without having to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne S
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Leanne S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is very much appreciated. I have shared your comments with the team and all are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that all was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit Yours in hospitality Jane Kingston General...

Reviewed 3 October 2015

Stayed one night at Quality Hotel Harbourview in St. John's. A pleasant experience. Rooms ok, clean and well prepared. Restaurant was one of the best I have visited in Newfoundland. Quiet room, slept well in a (for me) good bed. The Hotel is slightly "old fashioned" but i Liked it. Internet worked fine, maybe it could have been quicker but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lion1947
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. My team and I were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit please advise us that you have insulin and we will gladly provide you with a fridge or store in one of our fridges for you. We are hoping that all rooms will be...

Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We had a terrible experience at a different location and needed to find alternative accommodations. I called the Quality Hotel and had nothing but the best of service from the minute I spoke with them. I am not sure of the gentleman's name but he was very friendly and seemed to really enjoy his job. He even recognized my voice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LD t
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. On sharing your review with my team, they remembered you and were delighted to hear that you and your little one had such a memorable experience. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you and would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to St....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed here for a few days on business in a harbour view room. Views are very nice, and everything is within walking distance. Most nights I would leave on foot and try a new bar or restaurant, signal hill is also very close. The bar in the hotel is very small, go there to eat the great food - not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel G
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your positive review. You can be assured that it will be shared with all the team. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Jane Kingston General Manager

Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. When we checked in we were asked three times about our car and three times we said we didn't have one which showed a lack of engagement with the guests. The room didn't have a night stand on either side of the bed and you had to get out of bed to turn lights off. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan J
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our...

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Stayed here a few times now, and staying again in the near future. The hotel is slightly dated, but still clean. The staff are mostly helpful. Only bad thing i found was staff answering the phone when also dealing with a customer face to face. I believe that there is suppose to be 2 people at the desk all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnyman
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our team members for improvement. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely...

Kinston
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We have stayed here a number of times during our visits to St. John's and have always been satisfied. Rooms are quiet and clean, personnel hospitable and view of busy harbor wonderful. The restaurant is adequate, but unfortunately does not have the most excellent Newfoundland lobster. Parking is not a problem. Recommend for anyone staying in St. Johns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonKinston
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes it is unfortunate that our restaurant does not serve lobster, however there are excellent restaurants here in the city that do. We hope you were able to get your lobster dinner.

Newbury, England
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Stayed twice - August 22 and September 8/9. Have stayed here a number of times previously. Hasn't changed much since 2003 when we first came to NF other than refurbs. Good points - is in a great location for downtown shopping, eating strolling, looking at the harbour etc. If you can, try to book a harbour view room as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gartoon
Managercn246, General Manager at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
527 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
223 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#8 of 24 in St. John's
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of downtown St. John's, the Quality Hotel Harbourview is the perfect place to wake up to the first sunrise in North America. Steps away from whale watching, shopping, walking trails, art galleries and nightlife, the Quality Hotel is the perfect place to begin the day. Enjoy fresh, local seafood at our onsite restaurant Rumpelstiltskin's or fit in a workout at our onsite fitness centre. Whether for business or pleasure, there's no better place to experience St. John's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Harbourview

Address: 2 Hill o' Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $133 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Harbourview 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Hotel Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St Johns
Quality Hotel St Johns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Hotel Harbourview staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Harbourview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harborside is always best!”
 of 5 bubbles NG925, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Harbour are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 902glendah, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take a room with a view of the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimmie3, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbor view rooms have a great view, but lights from the port are very bright all night”
 of 5 bubbles weemurree, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Harbour view was nice”
 of 5 bubbles ClareF73, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5