We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Guv'nor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Guv\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Pros: comfy bed, good linens, large bathroom, fridge was quiet, roomy, two windows, lovely staff, 30 minute walk downtown (fine in good weather), tub and shower, pub just down the hall for late night dinners Cons: noisy doors and hallways (ear plugs quieted the sound so I had no problem sleeping), 30 minute walk downtown (iffy in bad weather) I... More 

Helpful?
Thank REJ810
Natasha C, General Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

HI REJ810 Thank you for taking the time for writing this review, we look forward to any future visits you may wish to have with us, Our staff all work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay and meals with us. Rita N General Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The hotel room wasn't the most modern, the AC unit was awkwardly placed (right beside a window by the bed) and was loud. Otherwise the hotel was clean, the accommodations were comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank andreahski
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andreaahski Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a are an older hotel establishment thank you for your comments we will have our maintenance look into the AC unit. Rita N General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean restaurant and hotel. All staff were very friendly! We stayed for five nights and enjoyed our vacation! Food is also good, home cooked meals. Big shout out to all servers great service!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lynn T Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I will be sure to show the staff as I do with all of the reviews, they all work very hard to make sure all of our customers has a good experience, we look forward to any future visits you may have with us. Thank you More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We visited for a late supper and we're pleased with the great selection of pub food .Fresh seafood is always a hit for us so that's what we ordered,we weren't disappointed good service good value.Desert selection was good suspects one was pre bought elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank rickcardo
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rickcardo Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am happy that you enjoyed your meal and service with. I am not sure what you had for Dessert but we make our blueberry cake & rum sauce in house which I personally think is delicious, and we also have a local Women who makes our yummy... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We had a 4 night stay. Desk and restaurant staff are very friendly. Beds were comfortable. TV worked well, lots of channels. Fridge and microwave were very handy. Rooms small, and really warm unless you run a window a/c all the time. So we did and it was fine. But how about a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries? No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saltboxguy
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

HI Saltboxguy Thank you for your comments, the staff will be delighted to know that you were happy with their service. We are different from a lot of other hotels, not all of our rooms are the same, they all have the same amenities, however all of the rooms here are different is size and shape. I feel that makes... More 

Paradise
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016

It's near the centre of the city, close enough to the downtown scene in a short cab ride, but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. Friendly service, clean modern rooms and GREAT FOOD in an English style with lots of Newfoundland dining choices. You won't be disappointed. Try the cod tongues!

Helpful?
Thank dennisdanp
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review

HI Dennisdanp Thank you for taking your taking the time to wirte this review, we look forward to any and all of your future visits with us. Rita N General Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Quaint little inn with an old world charm.Surprisingly great beds.Food at the pub was not up to our expectations.Everyone was extremely friendly but Kris at front desk was most helpful going above and beyond to help us.Will visit again just for the service she provided!

Helpful?
Thank Adina K
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We recently stayed at the Guv'nor Inn in St. John's. The hallways smelled very stale. Despite the fact this is an older facility, our room was clean but small. The window air conditioner was very loud. Overall, it was an acceptable place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank newlook56
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a few weekends ago and it was perfect for a night away with my boyfriend! Larry and all of the staff were very accommodating to us. The rooms were very clean all equipped with a microwave, fridge and flat screen. Very comfortable beds! Will definitely be booking again!

Helpful?
Thank Stacie H
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed here for a girl's weekend in August 2016 because at $140 CAD it was the cheapest place we could find in the city. It has an old feel to it but it is clean. There was a gym but we didn't go. It was close to the university and mall but if traveling from out of town, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewfieTravellers1

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
515 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monastery Spa & Suites
#22 of 24 in St. John's
141 reviews
Capital Hotel
#13 of 24 in St. John's
103 reviews
Hillview Terrace Suites
#23 of 24 in St. John's
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We’ve been expecting you! The Guv'nor Inn celebrates rich English tradition with our Old-world inspired property in St. John's, NL. Stay with us and experience our distinctive character and our award-winning presentation. We proudly offer 37 guest rooms with a considerate array of abundant amenities - Wi Fi, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Iron/Ironing Boards, Hair Dryers, Personal Coffee, 32" flat screen TVs, Drive-Up accommodations, A/C, duvets, Luxury Suite with fireplace & Jacuzzi and on-site Guv'nor Pub and Eatery. Our Guv’nor Pub & Eatery provides an ideal setting for all occasions and a marvelous feast for every palate. Find your preferred pint on tap, enthusiastic service and a delightful English ambiance. The Guv'nor is known for its local fare such as moose burgers and cod tongues. Looking to put some ‘wow factor’ behind your next business or social gathering? Make your next booking at the Guv’nor Function Rooms. The stately ambiance of The Study and Drawing Room provides the perfect balance of comfort and etiquette. The Guv'nor is centrally situated near Memorial University of Newfoundland, the Health Science Centre, Arts and Culture Center, the Confederation Building and historic downtown St. John’s (a short $10 taxi fare). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Guv'nor Inn

Address: 389 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $120 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Guv'nor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guv`Nor Inn And Pub
Guv`Nor Inn & Pub Hotel St. John`s
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Guv'nor Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Ontario, Canada
newfoundland
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Guv'nor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need a window that opens please request a room in the back, motel-like area of the Guv'nor's.”
 of 5 bubbles REJ810, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful, fully equipped meetings”
 of 5 bubbles dennisdanp, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you prefer to have a room with its own separate exterior entrance, be sure to ask for it upon arrival. Otherwise you may end up with one of the regular rooms. For the latter you will need your key card to get through a security door before you get to your room. Check the room first before unloading luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles KingofService, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you drive, want to stay in a motel where you have free parking and don't care about anything else, then this is the place for yo.”
 of 5 bubbles BillCali, 29 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Air conditioners leaking, water dripping as you enter your room. Find another hotel!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 331valeriek, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay