We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
travelup.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 7 in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sydney! Located in the heart of Cape Breton Island, voted number one Island destination in the Continental US and Canada and ranked 3rd most desirable island destination in the world according to "Travel + Leisure Magazine". The Holiday Inn Sydney is the perfect starting point to tour Cape Breton's Island's historic villages, play a round of golf at the Highland Links Golf Course,one of the world's top rated courses. Revel in the traditional music of Cape Breton when the Island transforms into a festival of music during the Celtic Colours International Music Festival. The Holiday Inn Sydney is just a short drive to the Fortress of Louisbourg, the largest reconstruction project in North America of an 18th century French Fortress. Experience what it was like to descend into the dark abyss of a coal mine at the Miner's Museum and let a retired coal miner spin yarns of yester year.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
575Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 211
  • 199
  • 91
  • 46
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Real_Duke_of_Hockley wrote a review 21 Jun
Perth, Canada216 contributions129 helpful votes
Great bed, great waterfront view. Even the lobby bar was really good - the bar tender has some great stories and is only to happy to visit with you while you have your drink. Easy parking, fast elevator, pool and slide were a lot of fun.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Danny Switzer wrote a review Apr 2022
Peterborough, Canada159 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Not a perfect place, but we’ll suited for our needs. Staff are very very accommodating for your needs. There also very friendly, and helpful.The location is kept clean. We even got moved up 1 floor when booking from our original booking. Beds are very comfortable. Lots of bathroom supplies for all your needs. If you need more, they will provide. We didn’t use the pool or gym, but looks very clean from what I saw. Only real problem was in our bathroom, a minor issue, didn’t warrant a complaint, but in future should be watched for. Around base if toilet could be cleaned better, and the fan looks to have been cleaned in some time. (See pictures) The view of the harbour is amazing, and you are located to pretty well anything you will need or want to do. Only other issue I had is I thought breakfast was included with our room, but found out it wasn’t. If you want breakfast with your room varify at booking. Overall I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2022
W4223JHdannys, We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront. We value your comments as it allows us to create a more inspiring stay for our guests. We do hope you will return on your next visit to Sydney. See you soon!
Read more
Raylene M wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed at this hotel twice recently and I do not plan to stay there again. We stayed in what they consider a "suite" which was quite expensive at about $300.00 plus a night. This hotel is tired and needs an upgrade badly: 2 of the 3 ice machines are broken (no signage so you have to traipse all over the hotel to figure that out); the elevator is slow and one was broken for an entire weekend and they are still not cleaning/servicing the room during your stay. You have to pay for parking? This is a small town and this is a way to gouge the customer. There were pockets of decent service, but on the whole it is poor. We had breakfast included but it was mediocre at best. I would not recommend this hotel except to say the location is good and there are a couple of decent restaurants nearby (Flavor on the Water was very nice for pub type food) and the live entertainment was wonderful. There is a restaurant in the hotel with live music on weekends and there was one excellent waiter there that made up for a lot. It's really time for the hotel to pick up its game and offer services commensurate with the price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Harborside offers a nice view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2022
raylenem2017, We appreciate the time and effort you took in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience possible. Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel comments such as yours allows us to access where we have opportunities to make improvements. We value your patronage and comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to service your accommodation needs in the future
Read more
Jenna M wrote a review Jan 2022
46 contributions23 helpful votes
We recently stayed overnight at this hotel for date night. I had chosen Holiday Inn in Sydney as we love the HIEX in Dartmouth Crossing and I was under the impression we would have the same enjoyment here as we do there. However, I was sadly mistaken. My first impression upon walking into the hotel was actually a good one. It seemed fresh and modern, even though the color scheme was odd I was happy to see there was a small, strangely laid out “convenience store” for hotel guests. It took the front desk agent an ungodly amount of time to check in the couple before us. It was like he was moving in slo-mo, not kidding. As someone with extensive background in front office and hospitality management, to not even offer an apology for leaving us standing for over 10 minutes to complete one unproblematic check in was painful. We were finally sent to our room. The hallways were dark and dreary, and I was praying the room would change the bad feeling I had about how this was going to go. Another note: I had requested a top floor room at the end of the hall, and we were placed on the 4th floor in the middle (I believe there’s 7 floors) Again, maybe out of their control due to occupancy but just something to note. Luckily the other guests were extremely quiet during our stay. The second I opened the door I was hit with a pungent musty smell. I felt like I had travelled back in time to an 80’s drive up motel and not a “newly” renovated Holiday Inn. The carpet/furniture/wall paint was updated but very strange as it still looked like it was from 30 years ago. The design and color scheme were absolutely dreadful. Bed was hard, but clean. Booking.com and the Holiday Inn Sydney websites both note that there are pay per view movies available but after a call to the front desk we were informed “that’s an old ad from years ago”. One of the main reasons we booked here was because we thought we could watch a movie. But I guess they only update their website every 10 years. The heater in the room is older than the hills- just a unit on the wall with the options “heat, cold, hi, low”. You will have to get up everytime to shut it off when it gets too hot, and turn it back on when the room freezes off. No option to select temperature and you have to MASH the buttons to get them to work. There’s a long list of other issues I could mention (hot water takes 10 minutes to heat up, and even then you only have about 5 minutes before it goes cold again; tub was grimey and dirty) but I’ll spare you the rest of the details. If you’re looking for a (very) no frills place to sleep it’s alright, but there’s much better options in the area for the same price or less. We wont be staying again, and will take our business back to the Hampton for an extra $10.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2022
462jennam, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. Through each comment we receive both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our business and leisure travelers. We value your patronage and comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to service your accommodation needs in the future. Sincerely, Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
Leslee M wrote a review Nov 2021
Sydney, Canada24 contributions7 helpful votes
Wonderful guest experience! Hubby and I had a STAYCATION-Location is perfect - right downtown, walking distance to so many nice restaurants and venues! We didn’t have to worry about parking or cabs. They had love music in the pub. Didn’t eat there (THIS TIME- but have before…. Delicious!) Also, they really respect guest comfort. The hotel was fully booked - hockey teams, dance competition and even a wedding ! We had no issues with noise or elevator waits. We felt like we had the building to ourselves ☺️. The room was clean and comfortable- thanks to our great sleep my husband is making me get a new mattress 😱 Didn’t have to interact with staff much - but check in was quick and easy. Like they were waiting for me. Definitely stay again and again as i have before! Big holiday inn fan - love their standards!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking lot is not huge but hotel was FULLY booked and we still got a spot right on the street...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2021
694lesleem, What a review! Thank you! We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful Staycation here with us. Come back and see us again soon! Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
nslisa wrote a review Oct 2021
Nova Scotia1181 contributions198 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Holiday Inn on October 4, 2021 in a king suite, room 216. Our view was amazing, loved it. The room was spacious, clean and well stocked. The bed was great as was having an room Keurig. Service from hotel staff was very good and all COVID protocols were followed. My in laws had a queen suite just down the hall from us. Their room also had a great view. I definitely would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
nslisa, What a lovely review! Thank you! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming back! Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
A M wrote a review Sep 2021
Yarmouth, Canada15 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel lied about having feather pillows which I have a severe allergy to this is one of the conditions I requested or questioned when booking 3 months earlier and they flat out lied. This caused major breathing issues for me in the hotel and I was there responsible for other people and there is nothing I could do to move us all at that point . They switched the pillows and still said they do not have any feathered pillows in the hotel. I literally pulled feathers out of the pillows. I was spoiled by previous hotels in regards to checking in as when traveling with a large group, they usually had our key cards ready when arriving at 4pm they did not so we spent 20 min with a large group standing there with our luggage. The immediate smell in the room smelled like old socks and burnt carpet. The rooms are dated and not clean I could see food in the carpets. I do expect they were under staffed as when calling the front desk, I rarely got through. I would expect this to be similar for all hotels, it was not as we stayed at another immediately after. The staff were polite, other than when they told me I was liying to my fave twice about feather pillows. The food in the moose pub was terrible, 10 of us ordered the only thing anyone liked was chicken wings and cheesecake. Trust me on this, do not order room service. They add the tip in for you as well. I really would not recommend this hotel, I am now officially scared of the holiday Inn chain.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2021
Hi Amandareview928374, Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback from your most recent stay. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. I'm sorry that your stay experience was unsatisfactory due to the issues you encountered during your visit. I have read your dismay with the service due to the pillows not being feathered as requested, the delays at check-in, the cleanliness and condition issues of the room, limited staffing, and the quality of food served at the pub. I have sent you a private message to get more details to help you further. I'm looking forward to your prompt response. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Joansie wrote a review Sep 2021
Miramichi, Canada18 contributions2 helpful votes
This was a long overdue family get together after covid shut the country down for 19 months or so. Check in was great as always. The cleanliness of the room is the problem. I had previous emailed IHG but they did not reply which was a complete disappointment, are you not concerned about your regular guest, anyway “our room” had a lot of “Dust” all along the edges of the tv stand/dresser as well as the night tables. It wasn’t just dust it was a lot of dust. These rooms are supposed to be CLEAN, this room WAS NOT CLEAN. I guess it could have been worst......my daughters room was directly across the hall from us and she found a PURPLE DIAPER yes DIAPER and a hair tie, like seriously, how do you not see a diaper. They gave her a discount, but this is NOT acceptable. If I’m paying a $100.00 plus a night I should not find dirt, diapers or hair ties. The fact that you did not respond to my email with ANY sort of apology was again quite disappointing, apparently the satisfaction of your regular guest are no longer a priority. The only bright spot was breakfast in the morning was our waitress....she was such a ray of sunshine. Unfortunately I did not get her name. She was an older lady with longer grey hair and was a complete delight. She even called the following morning to wish us well as she would be off the following two days. Thanks to her she made the stay very pleasant way to start the day. other wise, Holiday Inn gets a poor grade from me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2021
disappointed, Thank you for your time in posting your comments, and we appreciate your thorough review. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so we can take appropriate steps to correct them. I do apologize for your experience here and the impression that it left you with. I thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention, and hope, despite this ocasion your faith in our property will be restored on future visits. Sincerely, Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
Steve D wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada54 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed 2 days. Nothing terribly unpleasant about the hotel. But for the price I was expecting a bit more. When we went to our room, the outside hallway smelled a bit "musty". I didn't notice the smell the following days. So perhaps it was the damp weather on the first day. Or maybe I had gotten used to it. The décor seemed . . . well, just a bit dated. Maybe all the other hotels in Sydney were similar. Don't know. Our room had some cracks in the ceiling in the bathroom, above the bathtub. Nothing too serious. But you have to wonder about maintenance. Staff in general were friendly and helpful when we approached them. (No great interactions with them as we didn't have major problems) We ate one dinner at the pub just down the street from the hotel (you can see it when you exit the hotel and look to the left and other side of the street) and another dinner in the pub attached to the hotel. Definitely go to the one down the street. Breakfast at the hotel was okay, though not a very extensive menu. You might be better off to take the "breakfast coupon" available when you book ($31 for the two of us) as the individual items on the menu add up quickly. One thing that really surprised me was that they charged us $7.00/day + several taxes and levies for parking in their outside parking lot. That probably came to over $10/day, which seems a bit steep for a place like Sydney NS. And you think the hotel, at the prices they charge, would include parking. As for the harbour view, sure it was pleasant enough. But I really wouldn't bother booking the hotel just for that. I'd suggest checking prices for the other hotels around Sydney as this one, though, okay, is not particularly exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 6th floor is a quiet floor. Staff put us there without prompting from us.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2021
Steve D, Thank you for your constructive comments. Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel comments such as yours allows us to access where we have opportunities to make improvements. It is truly disappointing to hear that your stay was not all it could have been. We value your patronage and comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to service your accommodation needs in the future. Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
Bruce wrote a review Sep 2021
Lower Sackville, Canada1 contribution
If you enjoy screaming kids running through the hallways then book here Completely unacceptable Called twice so far Sad Don't advise staying here with the screaming, hollering, dragging kids into the.elevator and a barking dog Why the hell would you put 3 adults on the floor, including an 83 year old lady Completely unacceptable
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Philippa Bryden, Sales at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2021
GrandTour57773495804, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. We take all reviews very seriously, as we look for every opportunity we can to review and improve on our service based on guest feedback. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant department heads in order to address these issues and avoid any reoccurrence. We value your patronage and comments and hope you will give us the opportunity to service your accommodation needs in the future. Philippa Bryden Sales Manager Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$135 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
delta hotel sydney, delta sydney, sydney delta hotel
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaCape Breton IslandSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Big Fiddle (0.4 km), Sydney Downtown Development Association (0.2 km), and Cape Breton Centre for Craft and Design (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flavor, Doktor Luke's, and Governors Pub & Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jost House Museum (0.6 km).