We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Burnside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Burnside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Skuzzy and unclean from the outside and in. It's more suited to one of those crime drama tv shows as opposed to a hotel. No amenities and very unclean. Do not stay here. The service is poor and locals always know to avoid it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick L
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Room looked like something you see on the TV show hotel hell. Needed a place to put head for know as tired and cheap. I tough the wall in the other room was going to cave in as all I head was yelling and a headboard banging against the wall. 1 am some one was banging on room door and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hfx-kid
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I stayed here with a group of friends when travelling through Halifax. We were originally going to spend two nights here - I'm lucky I lasted through the first night. Stains on the linens, floors wand walls. There was an ant infestation. A homeless person was sleeping in the stairwell when we got up in the morning. Need I say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

This place is best suited for ghetto parties. It's dirty, stinks, and has no amenities. The price is low-ish, but you can get much better hotels for the same price. This is the place to go if you're hiding from your wife with someone who's NOT your wife... Every room stinks like smoke, so don't bring your kids here!! Plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randee P
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Do not go there, stay away. Wifi did not work. Old mattress. I do not know why this motel still operate, it should be closed. The owner just do not care. Check this photo i took. Just copy and past the link is below. http://i60.tinypic.com/j6r8t5.jpg

 Report
Helpful?
26Thank celine g
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I was attending school in Dartmouth for a month and instead of travelling everyday from the valley I decided to book this motel for 4 weeks. The first night of my stay I found a used condom underneath my bed. I called the front desk and someone came by and picked it up. He said he had fired the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank hpisavage
Seymor T, Guest Relations Manager at Burnside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. If you could please call me at 902-468-7117 to further discuss your stay it would be greatly appreciated.

Belleville, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The rooms were plain which was ok because I was there to see family anyways. But a parcel was left for me at the front desk. I was not notified of this at any time when I was at the front desk or at my room during the week, even when I checked out I still was not told of...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank ichabod444b
Seymor T, Guest Relations Manager at Burnside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. If you could please call me at 902-468-7117 to further discuss your stay it would be greatly appreciated.

Sydney, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2010

When I got in to my room the first thing I noticed is that it stunk. The carpets were dirty the bathrooms were dirty but the worst part was when I went to go to bed there were pubic hairs all over the bed. They wouldn't even give us a refund the next day. I'm pretty sure this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank john999123
Seymor T, Guest Relations Manager at Burnside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. If you could please call me at 902-468-7117 to further discuss your stay it would be greatly appreciated.

Calgary
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I prebooked this place for the end of our 2 week stay in Nova Scotia as it was going to be economical - about $79/night for a queen room. I wasn't surprised that it was shabby and older, and a bit noisy out front due to the busy street. However, our queen room was no longer available and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank Babbaloo
Seymor T, Guest Relations Manager at Burnside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. If you could please call me at 902-468-7117 to further discuss your stay it would be greatly appreciated.

Sydney
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stayed here ONE night on the Labour Day weekend this year because everything else was booked up. We had a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarette smoke and even had a long ash on the window (which we photographed). There were even grains of rice on the carpet under the table. The wallpaper was bubbled and peeling off in...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank ForgiesMom
Seymor T, Guest Relations Manager at Burnside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. If you could please call me at 902-468-7117 to further discuss your stay it would be greatly appreciated.

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dartmouth Centre
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dartmouth
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Burnside Hotel

Address: 739 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Burnside Hotel Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Burnside Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Burnside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?