We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
 Click to rate
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall service, location, and the place itself was wonderful! Would definitely stay there again! The B&B is close to all amenities, shopping centre and restaurants. I really enjoyed my stay at Ascendence Harbour side Mansion!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank xAshley01x
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous. The owners are very personable and make you feel very welcome. Easy to find from the airport and very handy to shopping. Our room was immaculately clean, the beds comfortable and a great shower. Breakfast was terrific. :) we will definitely stay there again. Terrific price too! Free WiFi and television when you needed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennilake
Bible Hill, Nova Scotia
Reviewed 1 week ago

List too long to print of things that were not up-to-par with the facilities. Spoiled a couple of days that were to be special. Room was not heated upon known arrival so after 3hours of freezing, went to bed. Lots of repairs needed and junk outside our broken window. Dishware not clean and no soap in the bathroom. Hot water...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmoore_837412
YARMOUTH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife loved this bed and breakfast. The hosts are outstanding and take great care to make sure your stay will be perfect in every way. All the rooms are decorated tastefully to compliment this historic property. Breakfast is delicious too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JASON C
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Thank you very much Jason for the positive feedback. We enjoyed having you at our B&B we hope to see you again soon.

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We can down as a team to Halifax from Moncton for our kickboxing fights. As it was a stressful time, we needed peace and silence and we had it all! The place was pleasant and quiet and the people were great. I would totally go back again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tung t
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Thank you so much Tung. To bad we didn't have time to watch your fight.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I booked through booking.com, and booked this place specifically because it advertised airport pickup. I paid $50 - and they thought it was a 'good deal' for me. Hmm... The room was OK but decorated oddly for Maritime Canada - with pics of NYC skyline. And my 'handicapped' accessible room had a bed about 3 feet tall - I had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnieDalian_
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Thanks Connie for the feedback.We would like to let you know that we have adjusted our bed in the Artist suite to lower it. The mattress was only 3 days old (very thick pillow top) The Christmas decode at the end of December our fault for sure. Nothing on bookings.com says free shuttle that would be crazy especially in off...

Peterborough & the Kawarthas, Canada
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Ascendence - our room was lovely, incorporating old and new decor. The bathroom was well appointed with a jacuzzi tub and everything was very clean! We had some lovely extra touches like water on a silver tray and Netflix on our TV to name a couple. The breakfasts were delicious and when I told them...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobinRoblin
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

We always like to make people feel at home and give them knowledge of our city unless we can read our guests that sometimes don't want any information. Thanks for staying with us.

Reviewed 25 October 2016

We booked to stay 3 nights. We had to cancel our trip due to a death in the family. We made numerous attempts, well before our booked dates, to reach the hotel. No one ever answered the phone and no one returned our messages. And, no one responded to our later emails. Almost the full price of our booking was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Virginia Monk D
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

When we spoke on the phone the day after your reservation you told us that we completely forgot you made a reservation as you where in Australia. We called you back after the 3 days an the rooms did not end up getting rented we even put a discount on them. Just in the summer Halifax gets full so people...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We first stayed at Ascendence Harbourview Mansion for the weekend of our 40th wedding anniversary. Dan and Katherine were such warm and friendly hosts who went above and beyond to make our weekend special, so we were delighted to return for our final night in Nova Scotia. We stayed in the beautiful Auditor's Suite. Breakfast were delicious, attractively served and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elained435
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Breakfast was excellent! Hosts were nice, knowledgeable and helpful. Room was very comfortable. Nice place to stay when visiting Halifax. Would recommend highly. Parking somewhat tricky, but certainly not a showstopper...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taobilly

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#11 of 28 in Halifax
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,656 reviews
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
614 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxurious Victorian registered Heritage Property (c1981). Right in Halifax, by the harbour, only 5 km drive along the water to downtown. Deluxe two course Hot Breakfast, Parking, Wi-Fi, Laptop to use in room, Concierge, Kids Corner, Media room with small library and Business Corner -fax, printer, computer, local calls, Trip Planning - ALL Free! Extras: (please reserve) Makeover Studio in house, Childcare,Gift Baskets, Champagne, Limo Service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Address: 24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $96 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you mind the sound of railroads, ask for a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles David_in_Nova_Scotia, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Extremely comfortable beds. ”
 of 5 bubbles carolwX6334NA, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are quiet and spacious. The Artists Suite is separate from the others with its own entrance if more privacy is required.”
 of 5 bubbles Acadia87, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues, book a room on the main floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Chelseadoodles, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We had a tour of all the rooms. The artist suite is good for people with mobility issues as its on the ground floor”
  • Flowers On The Deck
 of 5 bubbles bobbyc166, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5