We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
#11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,090 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,054: English reviews
Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Stayed five nights for an anniversary getaway. We had booked a King Studio Suite, but when we arrived, had been upgraded to a King Premium Suite. Nice! The lobby is gorgeous and historic. Staff are welcoming and efficient. A great first impression, even at 11pm! Though our room looked out on the inner courtyard (meh) it was spacious, elegant, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McMarshal
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the review McMarshal!

Toronto
Reviewed 11 October 2015

A historic hotel located directly across from the beautiful Public Garden, and is very close to major hospitals and the University. A friendly greeting by the doormen, as I entered the charming petite hotel lobby. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Oddly, the period decor morphs during the journey to the room; guest room corridors are decorated in modern bling theme...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Mark H and thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an optimal stay while you were here. If you decide to give us a second chance, I will personally take care of you to ensure your stay is nothing but perfect. Thank you.

Familyof3tourist
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Our family stayed at the Lord Nelson last month. I am so sorry to write this review because Halifax is such an amazing city with beautiful people. The staff at the hotel were very nice, and the seafood chowder was really good. I decided it's best to post this in case anyone has a medical issue. I have a medical...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Familyof3tourist
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Where can I start Familyof3tourist? First of all I sincerely apologize for the disorganization and miscommunication that you experienced. I understand our manager has been in touch with you to apologize and to inquire more about your stay here. Thank you for the review and once again we are very sorry.

Nova Scotia
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Check in was smooth and effecient. Rooms were nice, but nothing fancy. The pillows were the worst I have ever used! They were so lumpy it made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. I almost fell over when I looked at the menu. Who would charge 12.00 for oatmeal? Was it made of gold? Also there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nsbeachlover2016
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We were in Halifax and wanted to stay somewhere in downtown so we could easily walk around and explore. This is a hotel that is very old and looks it. If you are a fan of paying lots of money for a hotel that looks like the 1900's, has zero amenities, the slowest free WiFi I've encountered to date, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heyyou1982
Portland
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Hotel lobby was impressive and room was very clean with nice amenities. The downsides were price and customer service. My wife and I arrived around 12 noon in pouring rain just after driving. I approached the front desk and asked if we could check in early. They said our room was ready but I would be charged an additional $25...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEM2015
New City, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This place is excellently placed, located right where everything in the middle of town is (food, shopping, attractions). You can walk to the gardens, the citadel, food, short distance from harbor, perfect. The place is very clean in lobby, hallways look very pretty with bright lights and chandeliers, and just minor things about the rooms might need some attention. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oatografia
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review oatografia and thank you for staying with us. Based upon your review, I was not expecting a 4/5 rating, but nonetheless, thank you. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with the towel rack in your bathroom, but I am glad to hear that our room attendants were able to adjust to...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

The good was a central location, on site parking (obviously at cost), a good breakfast choice and above all, friendly and helpful staff. The bad was a quite shabby, poorly lit, small room with a view to the rear over the services, air conditioning units etc. Stained carpet and bath plug that wouldn't hold water. Patchy wi-fi that constantly needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CurtisG
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hello CurtisG and thank you for your review. I apologize greatly that your stay with us wasn't quite up to your standards. I promise you that we do not discriminate against those who book through third party websites. Although your visit wasn't 100% enjoyable, am I glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff were accommodating...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed here after searching Trip Advisor. It's an older hotel with English style and shows signs of wear. However, it is very comfortable and clean. It is located across from the Public Gardens (a must see) which we visited several times during our stay. It has a good restaurant and pub for basics. I used the gym every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Well thank you very much for your kind words Phillip G! As the oldest hotel in Halifax, we thrive off of our historic feel while providing modern amenities. We can't wait to have you back on your next visit from the Big City. Thank you.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Location is a bit further from the harbour, but immediately close to the Citadel and the main shopping strip. Seems to be a go-to hotel for business visitors. The room was very spacious. The Concierge desk is basically handled by the bellhops, so their level of expertise is not what you might get from similar staff in a big city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pettinger922
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Pettinger922 and thank you for your review. We definitely agree with your kind words about our driver John. He provides a punctual, reliable service at a cheaper price than most taxis in the city. As far as your experience with our concierge goes - I am sorry to hear that it was nothing other than perfect. Our "bellhops" are...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,654 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
615 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Price Range: $109 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Bowmanville, Canada
Halifax, Canada
8 months ago
nova scotia
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check internet as soon as you're in ... not consistent through hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Nunya-from-NS, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that in Winter the heating of the room is functioning.”
 of 5 bubbles Jaxxinn, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Walls are not sound proofed so be careful where your room is!”
 of 5 bubbles MandDplus2, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of Public Gardens!”
 of 5 bubbles EBF91, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Mid-Range to Luxury. Recommend the Suite upgrades for a great experience.”
 of 5 bubbles henryp731, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5