We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coastal Inn Halifax

Expedia.comUS$83*
View Deal
#23 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$83*
US$83*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coastal Inn Halifax
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of the province. The hotel is in a central location, only 10 minutes from downtown and you don't pay the downtown prices. Near the highway you take to Peggy's Cove. Hotel was clean, big bathroom, comfy beds and a good continental breakfast. Great for travelers who want a good nights stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leslieb3
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Leslieb3 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you found our location convenient for all your needs. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of you room and the comfy beds. Most importantly, thank you for stating you would return to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The staff were friendly, helpful and patient, we brought are labrador pup with us who is a bit crazy to say the least! The room was amazing for the money! Big comfy bed, nice living room area with a microwave and fridge. Its near lots of shops and only a 10min drive in to Halifax town center. The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophie b
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Sophie b Thank you for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us as we truly appreciate everything our guests have to say! Thank you for mentioning the nice living room area of our two room suites and how friendly and helpful our staff was. Breakfast can be quite crowded when we have a full house...

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My husband and I had a one week stay at this hotel. It was in a perfect location for all highways access and only 10 minutes to downtown Halifax. Free breakfast was good, although we had to eat in our room as there were not quite enough tables for everyone. Free DVD rentals at office. Beds were very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAVandGPV
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi GAVandGPV We are so glad you enjoyed your week long stay with us while touring around our city and province. We hope you were able to visit all the attractions of interest and we will make sure to share your comments about Matt and TeeJay with them and the rest of our team! We are very pleased you found...

Colton, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Good location, great staff (way to go Stacy!); very good free hot breakfast, free dvd's movies, indoor pool, close to an IMAX Scotiabank cinema, downtown area can be reached by car or $1.75 bus. Metered parking downtown is free after 6:00pm and on weekends or holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickTickCanton_NY
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi RickTickCanton Thank you so much for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor! We are glad you found our location convenient for your needs and thank you for mentioning Stacey by name! We will make sure to share this with her...

Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

After flying all night from Edmonton and spending the day touring downtown Halifax we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Coastal inn was what we wanted. Lots of parking, comfortable room and bed and a good continental breakfast. Hotel staff friendly. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrammaDonna-8
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi GrammaDonna8 Thank you for your kind works with regards to your recent stay with us! We are very pleased to see you found your room and bed to be comfortable especially after the long day you had! Thank you as well for mentioning the comfortable room and good continental breakfast. We truly appreciate all comments our guests have and...

Bluffton, Sc
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Off the highway, close to Peggys Cove. Nice reception area with cute decor. Looked very similar to Country Inns and Suites. Books to read. Small breakfast area with hot and cold breakfast. Eggs a bit strange. Crowded breakfast area. Only a couple of regular restaurants In large shopping area close by. Lovely room and shower. Nice setup: microwave on nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laffininbl
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the amenities in your room convenient. Our location really is great as it is approx 36 km to Peggy’s Cove and 10 km to the downtown. We hope you were able to get a...

Calgary, AB
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Overall a really good stay here. Comfy beds and a quiet hotel. Breakfast was the basic fair with hot and cold items. Hotel is a little out of the way but an easy 10km drive to downtown. This was to our advantage for the tourist items along the coast and to bypass the city traffic. There is a mall approx...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ktharg
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Ktharg Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and found us conveniently located to restaurants and shopping and close to downtown and the tourist attraction in and around our city. Thank you also for mentioning our comfy beds...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Best stay in our two week vacation. We were not looking for budget but location. Found this was perfect, the room was a suite and it was clean, had the best bed and pillows on our trip, nice and roomy, bathroom was large. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. Would recommend this highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LLCanadianGirl
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Loralea, We are so pleased you had a great experience when staying with us recently and thank you for posting your reviews on Trip advisor! We are glad you enjoyed the comfy beds and pillows as we know how important it is for our guests’ to enjoy a good nights’ sleep while away from home! We will make sure...

New Waterford, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Great stay. Second stay at Coastal Inn Halifax. Excellent room! Only complaint was that breakfast was not enough food in the morning. Breakfast is from 6-10. By 9:15 there was nothing left, and not refreshed. Other than that, everything else Was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette C
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Colette, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments with regards to your recent stay with us! We are so glad you returned and had a great stay and hope you were able to find everything you needed for your back to school shopping trip. We apologize for the breakfast running low as we had...

Fort St. John
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Extremely helpful staff. Excellent bed and sound sleep. Breakfast was very good and lots of selection. Price was affordable and we were treated fantastic. Room very clean and neat. We stayed in a king room no noise and on the top floor. This is a great place for family as it has a excellent pook

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mistercedric
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi MisterCedric, Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you enjoyed such a positive experience with us from our helpful staff, comfy beds and our in-door pool! Thank you for mentioning you found your room neat and clean. I will make sure to share your comments with our team as they love...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Queen (32)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
101 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
198 reviews
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $133 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking on a site make sure you are paying in canadian. My mistake”
VivianW863, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size beds are awesome!”
jegbd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appear to be OK.”
duschinsky, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving, it is nice to be on ground floor as patio doors open up to your parking space.”
GAVandGPV, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel”
laffininbl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$83
PricelineUS$83
Hotwire.comUS$83
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates