We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford

09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
 Click to rate
Charlottetown
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well, this is our new "go-to" hotel for Halifax. The beds are so comfortable, we didn't wake up until 10:30 a.m. and missed breakfast. When I stay at a hotel, I don't like wandering around the room wondering what I should unplug so I can charge something or plug in the iron if I need to use the ironing board....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a business trip out to Halifax and of course I choose the reliable HI express chain. . A lovely refurbished hotel with a great bed and the wonderful hot breakfast. Nice comfy bed with lots of pillows and new funky work area for computing. But...... A new 42 inch flatscreen with coax analog tv channels. No HD ...SHAME !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thanks so much for the review. We do have some upgrades planned for our TV experience, so stay tuned! I am glad that you enjoyed the bed and our breakfast as well. We hope your next stay is a better one.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For my daughter's 11th birthday I made a reservation at this hotel for her and 3 of her friends. By mistake, unknown to me, I had booked two suites when I only needed one. When I arrived at the hotel they informed me of my mistake and gave me some options to correct it. Within 20 minutes of being in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is now our favourite when visiting HRM it's close to downtown as well great for exploring the whole area and only 30 minutes away from Peggy's Cove. The rooms are well laid out with in room Keurig instead of coffee makers.. free breakfast is well appointed with something for everyone and kept well refreshed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Ed G! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are honoured to be your favourite hotel in HRM! I am so glad you like the in room conveniences we have, such as the Keurig. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Bridgewater, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at hotel at 2,p.m and we luck a room just came available. The room was nice modern , aswell as a little different then hotel I visited over the last year. The bathroom was small, with door open fully, you can barely get into the tube with door full open . The side of the bathroom is what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wallace C
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hi Wallace C! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am glad we were able to get you checked in a little early. It sounds like you enjoyed the renovations overall, which I am pleased to hear about. We do have a few different layouts as far as the bathroom goes. On your next visit feel free to...

Truro, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a nice low cost option for staying in Halifax. Right off the highway and relatively new. The rooms are clean and a good size. The pool and slide was a big hit. The service was friendly and very helpful. A free breakfast is included and it was pretty good with hot and cold options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernestonvacation
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Ernestonvacation! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our location convenient and you enjoyed our staff and new renovated look. It sounds like you had a great time in the pool as well! Enjoy your travels, and if you come back to Halifax, we would love to...

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This hotel is clean and new feeling, bright and welcoming!! The rooms are not very big but ample for a hotel and the bathroom is adequate! All new fixtures, tiles, flooring etc. Breakfast was bacon, pancakes eggs, omelettes etc. Very easy access from hwy conveniently located to get to BMO center or Halifax shopping as well as right handy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radx2
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Radx2! Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our new Formula Blue look, our breakfast, location, and pool! We really appreciate that you shared your experience, and we hope to see you again soon.

New Brunswick Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Honestly when I saw the pics I thought it was an older hotel, boy was I wrong. This is a very new modern hotel. We were in going to a family gathering in Lower Sackville and this was the closest hotel. My only complaint is we were in line to check in for half an hour because we arrived the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shadoww
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello shadoww! Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you chose our property to stay at. I am so sorry to hear about your check in experience. We do take measures to staff appropriately for occupancy levels, however there can be extraordinary circumstances that hinder our efforts. We greatly appreciate your patience to get checked...

Bridgewater, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I usually try and stay at IHG Hotels whenever possible. I find them consistent in what they provide and the value for the cost has always been great. I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for business and was very pleased with all aspects from its atmosphere to check-in to its modern decor throughout. I liked the electronic safe,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coldinnovascotia
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Coldinnovascotia, Thank you so much for your thorough review! We appreciate your loyalty to IHG and we are so glad you chose our property for your trip to Halifax. It is great to hear you are pleased with the renovations and the new Formula Blue look of Holiday Inn Express. I am so sorry to hear there were some...

Reviewed 5 February 2017

My daughter and I stayed here for 5 days for a gymnastics competition. We loved it! The rooms were clean. The beds were very comfortable. The free breakfast was great. It was simple, with healthy options ( eggs,bagels,toast,yogurt,fruit, etc) . The gym was excellent! They have a pool with a slide which was great for kids. The location of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordis844

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax - Bedford FORMULA BLUE, a smart design for smart travelers. Featuring opened greeting desk area with inviting comfortable seating, relaxing music & scent harmonizing a memorable stay & experience. We are easily accessible from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport and conveniently located just minutes away from Historic Downtown Halifax. You will appreciate the hotel's proximity to Bayer's Lake Park, Canada Games Centre, BMO Centre, IBM Innovation Centre & the World Trade & Convention Centre. Whether it's for business or pleasure we have it all! Start your day savoring the healthy food of our Express Breakfast Buffet in our Great Room featuring a wide flat screen TV & Comfortable seating. Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Daily Newspaper & Ample Complimentary Parking. For your comfort, our spacious newly renovated guest rooms and suites are all equipped with fridges and microwaves. All Suites are equipped with King beds, separate living space which includes pull-out sofa bed. Accessible rooms are available. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. For your enjoyment, take advantage of our heated indoor Pool and whirlpool or energize in the fully equipped Fitness Center. Our property features Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate Meeting or Special Event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford

Address: 980 Parkland Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4Y7, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Bayer's Lake)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $151 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Bayer`s Lake
Quality Inn & Suites Bayer`s Lake Hotel Halifax
Quality Inn Bayers Lake
Quality Inn Halifax
Halifax Quality Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on first floor right handy to central stairs....convenient location but also close to elevator so a touch noisy at times”
 of 5 bubbles Radx2, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on the front side of the hotel to reduce street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles coldinnovascotia, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Windows needs to be sealed well as the hotel is next to hightway.”
 of 5 bubbles natandycanada, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“great service”
 of 5 bubbles hannahf297, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our experience was pleasant on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
HIExpress.com
Booking.com
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates