We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Knights Inn Barrie

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Knights Inn Barrie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Barrie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

For the price we pay, this hotel is not so bad. The room is comfortable with a nice bed.. if you are looking for anything else, then you shouldn't look to book here. The hair dryer doesn't seem to work and the breakfast options are very less. But again, you get for what you pay and it was worth the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank SunitaVDinakar
BJ_Parmar, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and provide us with valuable feedback. We hope that you stay with us again in the future to see the improvement we have made based on customer concerns and ideas. More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016

So I decided to stay at this hotel on a Friday in spite of some of the bad reviews I read and I'm glad I did. I've driven past this hotel many times and the outside is always clean and there's plenty of parking spaces. As for the complaints others left about noise, you booked a stay at a hotel... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Kathy B
BJ_Parmar, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review Kathy! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you when you are next in town. More 

Port Perry, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The first room we were given had a gaping hole at the bottom of the door, so the room was freezing, since it was minus 20! They were able to put us in another room, but the experience wasn't any better. The room was dated, felt like we were on a slant, it was still cold, I couldn't seem to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelma31

Travellers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed at this hotel because we were in Barrie for a Blues festival and the main act was playing at the hotel. We were frightened by some of the reviews - over half were quite negative. I am not sure what people expect. It is a budget hotel. The room was clean, the bedding was clean, the room was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lloyd H
BJ_Parmar, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review Lloyd, and for the feedback! We are currently renovating the more dated aspects of our rooms, and hope that you stay with us again in the future to see the improvements we have made based on great feedback such as yours. More 

Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

First off the room was on a slant and it felt like you were on a boat. This is obviously the local place to party after going to the bar. No one stopped the all night party, with loud music playing till 7 am, people partying in the parking lot outside their rooms or the yelling and drama. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank tequiladrinker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2016

stayed at knights inn to visit family and friends in the area, Hotel owner threatened to call cops on us at 9 pm because we had a 4 people in the room even though they were not staying the night. We were being respectful and not being to loud compared to some other rooms. We have family that work through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin H
Barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I stayed there a few times, they have recently changed it to knights inn I seen. The rooms are clean and don't smell like old beer or cigarettes which was awesome. I remember the front employee was name Kyle he was really helpful just a nice guy. I will be returning and I hope he is there again made my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Mr-righttt1990
BJ_Parmar, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review! Glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I'll pass on your compliments to the staff, and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Tottenham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Last night my husband and I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Barrie. It was a friends birthday and we were celebrating at sticky fingers next door. When we first got there we knew it was run down. If we hadn't already paid for the room we would have NEVER stayed. The room was dirty smelled like smoke, the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mate C
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015

The room was great. The hotel has great service. I got free breakfasts there. I got wifi. I watched Tv movies there. I used there wifi too. The room was small and the shower was great for me. It is very great.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The room was small, and it smelled of cigarette smoke. {I'm a non-smoker} Although Staff were nice and the breakfast was good. Considering the price it was tolerable for just a night, also its located 5 minutes from downtown Barrie and the beautiful lakeshore.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
149 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.5 km away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,020 reviews
1.5 km away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Address: 150 Dunlop Street West, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Price Range: $60 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knights Inn Barrie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Main floor is good for smokers.”
 of 5 bubbles ibondarev41, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor is accessed by outside stairs. Book a room on main floor if stairs are an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles kathybV1830XV, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Cheap... But not worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles Chelma31, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“top floor closet to the office are better quality.”
 of 5 bubbles I9798RIjessicam, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Sticky Fingers Bar and Grill right next door has great meals at good price, and great live music on weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles 150williame, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay