We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Room was very nice ...shower wasn't big enough for my tall but slim husband. Spent more on this expensive B & B than most places in the area for " the experience". Disappointed being served "frozen" packaged French toast...went out for local & fresh breakfast. Would never have written a negative review but when this is a hospitality business one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin035
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

In response to your two primary concerns: Firstly, please get your facts straight: All of our food is fresh made daily, including our Chai Spiced French Toast. On your arrival you advised us that you are Gluten Free, and so we tried to accommodate you. We prepared a Gluten Free Scone for you, and then you advised us that you... More 

Bradford West Gwillimbury, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My wife and I stayed two nights at Explorer House and we were quite impressed with the décor, and the pictures and paintings with themes of the hosts' travels, also the room we stayed in was very well decorated. The backyard was like an oasis, with great landscaping, and a hot-tub. Our hosts were very friendly, and helpful with assisting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rjv323
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Great to hear you liked the oasis we have tried to create in our backyard and happy to have been able to assist with reservations. Thank you for the great review and we do hope you will come back again! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed, and the owners were lovely. The rooms were beautiful, it was quiet, the backyard was amazing (loved the hot tub!), and we hung out on the balcony. The breakfasts were delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vdoers_939270
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope to see you both again! More 

Shell Knob, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Part of me wants to keep this place a secret! The hosts were wonderful and so helpful. I agree with the other reviews- they made you feel like visiting family! The breakfasts were amazing, the rooms were fabulous! I just cant say enough. To put this in context, my husband travel quite a bit, so we have no lack of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you didn't keep us a secret :) and thank you for such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have all of you stay with us and we do hope you will return! More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We had a lovely stay at Explorer House on our weekend getaway to Niagara-on-the-lake. The room was exactly as described - clean, cozy and comfortable. The property is beautiful and very conveniently located. Deanna provided excellent winery recommendations for us and passes which was a bonus. The breakfast was delicious as well - we will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_AlexH
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Happy to have been able to help with winery recommendations & passes, I know it can be nice to go explore on your own. We will look forward to having you visit again & thank you for the review! More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We booked last minute at the Explorer House. This was a quick overnight trip following a trip to Niagara Falls. We wished we had longer to enjoy all the amenities the Explorer House had to offer. We especially liked the private patio. The Explorer House was tastefully decorated with fine furnishings and extremely comfortable. Terrific host and breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jaybird810
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and also for choosing to stay with us even if it was a quick overnight, we hope you will be able to stay longer next time. Glad you enjoyed the private balcony - it is a nice spot to just relax, I know many guests appreciate that all the suites have private balconies in addition... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We feel honoured to stay in such a beautiful home with such lovely hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were made to feel very much at home. They went the extra mile for me as I'm gluten free. We only wish we hadn't gone to The Falls for a few days before moving to Niagara on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank crober_473701
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were happy to accommodate your gluten free diet. Thank you for the wonderful review and we do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again! More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2016

An exceptionally clean environment, beautiful and peaceful gardens and outrageously delicious breakfasts. The hosts were congenial and very accommodating. We highly recommend Explorer House for every occasion.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank melvyng680
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Mel! I love it, I don't think I have been told my breakfasts are "outrageously delicious" before, glad you enjoyed so much and thank you for the recommendation. We hope to have you both visit us again. More 

Bedford UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Not often you find somewhere which meets the highest of standards in all respects with no downside whatsoever. The hosts are charming with lots of useful information, the facilities are excellent with so much attention paid to every detail and the breakfasts were first class. An excellent base from which to visit The Falls and some very impressive vineyards. Highly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard065
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow thank you for the great recommendation! We hope you may have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. We are so pleased you enjoyed so much. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

To coin a British phrase "Practically Perfect in every way " will be back next year . if you stay you won't be disappointed . Beautiful place !, Excellent home made breakfasts ! the scones and muffins ,lots of advice if needed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank swinge_512468
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind words and we do hope to see you again next year! More 

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.8 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,324 reviews
1.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,471 reviews
1.8 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,773 reviews
1.1 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
414 reviews
11.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A boutique global styled bed & breakfast in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. This modern, elegantly appointed home has been built specifically to address the needs of Bed & Breakfast guests. Explorer House reflects the owner's passion for travel and offers an opportunity to explore and experience Niagara while staying within an environment of pampered luxury. We have an adult-oriented, smoke free environment with beautifully appointed suites that are uniquely decorated and inspired by different continents. All of the suites are extra-large, and have hardwood floors, private balconies, jetted tubs, separate showers, gas fireplaces and sitting areas. Adjacent to the suites is the guest lounge area complete with a guest refrigerator and coffee maker and a full selection of glassware, with complementary snacks, water, pop, tea & coffee available at all hours of the day. A sunny balcony extends off the guest lounge area. Guests can also relax and enjoy the backyard garden, hot-tub and gazebo. To round out this upscale boutique experience a gourmet three course breakfast will be served at 9am daily, focusing on both local seasonal and artisanal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Anne Street, PO Box 1434, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $237 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorer House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Explorer House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Explorer House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Explorer House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one of the rooms that faces the beautiful backyard.”
 of 5 bubbles D8316TCmikeg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you can, book directly with the inn. Rates are the same as any of the booking websites, and they add a personal touch to the process.”
 of 5 bubbles dpg1988, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnel271, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lovely room, comfortable bed, balcony, jacuzzi, common room with coffee system, refrigerator. Beautifully decorated bed and breakfast. Want to go back for longer stay:)”
 of 5 bubbles helena3417, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked the silk road with its balcony overlooking the backyard. ”
 of 5 bubbles 929DavidE929, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay