We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was a great success. This old inn has character and the staff are extremely helpful and hospitable. Our room #1, the Veranda Room, was beautiful, quiet, and most comfortable. It is located at the rear of the inn overlooking a beautiful lawn and garden. Unfortunately this property is not conducive to folks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWGB
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your wife's birthday getaway here with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. The Veranda room is an absolute guest favourite! The rear pathway you mentioned is scheduled to be replaced with a paved walkway. We look forward to having you back to the Charles again soon and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Only spent one night at the Charles Hotel wish we had another few nights Ate at the hotel food excellent but not cheap a special occasion Would be good. The staff were so nice and helpful could not do enough for us. Breakfast was one of the best,French toast and real maple syrup If ever in Niagara -on-the Lake again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rinds1
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Rinds1. We consider it one of the best compliments when guests wish they could extend their stay or are already planning a repeat trip before they're even gone! I'm happy to know that you got to come down for breakfast, the French toast is my personal favourite! We look forward...

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This is a historic hotel on the main street of Niagara on the Lake which gives you the feeling of the past but with up to date amenities. It's dining room is wonderful with it's fireplace, old wood timbers and ambiance. The food is wonderful, especially the pairing menu which offers many courses with a fabulous wine match to each....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike C, thank you for your review of our historic Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant. Our Chef's tasting menu is a favourite among refined diners, especially when the wine pairings are added. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Pittsford, NY
Reviewed 28 October 2016

At the edge of Queen St. and right on the old golf course, this is a great location. Quiet but within a few minutes’ walk of downtown and the theaters. A bit pricey, and we stayed in the only available room which was the Safari Room. I wouldn't recommend that particular room. Not full height and my wife bumped her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Brian M, Thank you for your meaningful and kind words about our team. They work hard every day to provide the best possible guest experience and are disappointed when that experience falls short. I'm thrilled to know that despite some short comings we were able make the situation right for you and I genuinely look forward to welcoming you...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We read about The Charles recently and decided to spend a night, Excellent. Well appointed rooms, lovingly updated in an 1832 mansion. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mike D, I appreciate you taking the time to share you experience here. Our team work very hard each day to provide only the best customer service and I'm happy to know that your experience was no different. I hope we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 22 October 2016

My wife and I could not be happier with our time in Niagara-on-the-Lake and The Charles Hotel. In fact, we decided to extend our stay one day longer. Upon arriving at The Charles the grounds were beautiful and parking was easy. Kyle at the front desk was very nice and professional. We are not the type of couple to boast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markwmcclain
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your time with us. I'm thrilled that we were able help you celebrate your honeymoon and that you joined us for an extended stay! We aim to provide the best customer service in town and nothing makes me happier then knowing we hit our mark....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Manager Kyle found us a great deal on a room accompanied by an excellent dinner. Highly recommended. Great location in Niagara on the Lake. We found the hotel by way of a recommendation from a local winery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,600
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there 1600, I really appreciate you taking the time to leave your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner as much as your overnight stay. We look forward to having you back with us again soon and wish you all the best until then.

Beaconsfield, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a house built in 1832. But the novelty of staying in an old place was soon replaced with angst. It was a very tired hotel in need of re painting, some carpets were frayed at the edges, and the door to the parking lot could only be kept open by wedging a rock in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveNorris42
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are excited about renovations that we have planned for the new year. Being a heritage building it takes longer to plan and organize; but just as exciting. The Charles is a smaller special place to stay with all the exotic feeling that old Niagara on the Lake...

Glasgow
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here during our stay in the area. The food was well prepared, presented and cooked to our exact requirements. The service was very discrete. We sat on the veranda overlooking the golf course which added to the experience. Would certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilstonTravellers32
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time the write a review. I'm very happy to see how much you enjoyed your meal and the professional service that we are known for. The back outdoor verandah is beautiful in the summer and it's great to see that you were able to take advantage of the space. We look forward to your return...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

What a shame this hotel actually allocate this room to anyone!!! We had booked a Queen Petite but we really hadn't expected such a disgracefully small and badly equipped accommodation. Other hotel reviews sound fine but we had Room 11 or otherwise called Apple Room. Beware don't book this room it was dreadful!! In fact it is probably the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 64holidaygirl
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I apologize you were not pleased with the size of your room. We actually have multiple requests for that room regularly, but we also have larger rooms for those who require more room (prices would vary). The room in question is being re-designed this winter and that painting will no...

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Petite Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Premier Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
445 reviews
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
898 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,599 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,401 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $203 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The jet tub/shower combination was difficult to get in and out of. If you have knee/mobility problems, ask for a walk-in shower.”
MartineM368, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wait until they renovate/repair”
892allenj, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Veranda Room was the old kitchen and overlooks the park. 1st floor so some noise from people coming and going to the parking lot.”
michelemP7795IB, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stairs to rooms”
WJR47, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only dined here -- next time we would love to stay at the hotel too!!”
B1183VJmelissap, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5