We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have gone to the (Holiday Inn-Quality Suites-soon to be the Marriott) for the past five years for Christmas, New years, Mothers day Fathers day and Easter. There are usually 10-12 of us. We indulge in the buffets @ 30 per person. I will say it rather expensive @ $40 per person now. Although the variety is good and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pinda91
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. At the Quality Hotel it is our mission that all our guests have a pleasant stay and a good time and we strive for that. Our special buffets are excellent and extensive and we have priced it reasonable. Due to the popularity of our buffets we have at times had to have more than 2... More 

Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have stayed at this location many times over the years. It used to be a Holiday Inn, but the infrastructure is failing too much for their marque. The rooms are comfortable, but aged. Furnishings and bedding have been maintained and updated, but the bathrooms are small and inefficient.Heating has been upgraded and works well. Restaurant services are excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeepTraveller
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. At the Quality Hotel & Conference Centre it is our mission to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay. The hotel is old but will soon be undergoing extensive renovations which have already started. New rooms, new pool, new public areas and lobby and a new upgraded exterior. We are very excited... More 

Bancroft
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This will be the absolute last time my family will stay at this hotel. The pool was closed 3 times the main day of our stay with our kids not able to use it at all. Hugely disappointing. I was told their was no compensation for this and it was due to high volume. They need to figure out a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all comments and endeavour to respond to all of them. I regret that your stay was not a pleasant one. Yes, we did close the pool down that day for urgent cleaning requirements. This was done in full compliance of Health and Safety regulations as directed by Ontario. I do understand the inconvenience... More 

Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for my daughters basketball tournament. Like other reviewers have said it is dated and in need of a really big face lift. The room seemed reasonably clean to me, the beds were to my surprise quite comfortable. The hotel has an indoor pool which my kids used. It seemed clean and they enjoyed themselves. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At the Quality Hotel we value the opinion of all our guests as it helps us in our continuous improvement process. Yes, the hotel is due for extensive renovations from top to bottom. New rooms, new lobby and public areas, new pool on our way to converting to a luxury brand. We look forward to... More 

Niagara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I wasn't able to stay the night and opted to stay at a different hotel due to many issues. First, the agent at the front desk was anything but helpful. She was rude and barely spoke to me. Before I even got to the room I noticed a sign that stated there would be no hot water the following day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler28
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. At the Quality hotel we value the comments of all our guests as it helps us in our continuous improvement process. We had to carry out urgent repairs to our hot water pipes and we had scheduled the work from 10.00am in the morning so as to cause the minimal inconvenience and disruption to stays.... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have stayed recently at the "Quality Inn" in Oshawa. The hotel is dated, the parking lot is crumbling and the customer service at the front desk is the worst I have ever experienced. A violent incident occurred at the hotel with people fighting and extremely loud screaming. Voicing concerns to the front desk resulted in no attention being given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We value the opinion of all our guests as it helps us in our continuous improvement process. We did have an incident when 2 groups were arguing and unfortunately it spilled out in the lobby. Our Manager on duty quickly dealt with it cautioning both groups. We do not take the step of asking a... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It's a decent enough hotel. A 'name your own price' site rated it higher than I think it warrants. Yes, it has some nice amenities such as pool and fitness center and on site restaurant, but the room is merely adequate. It fills the need for a place to lay your head. Staff were attentive and helpful. On site restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank cje123
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, at the Quality Hotel we welcome and appreciate all comments from our guests which greatly helps us in our efforts for continuous improvement. The good news is this hotel is on its way for major renovations and when completed will be spectacular. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward... More 

Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were in town for my daughter's hockey tournament. Lots of hockey teams staying at this hotel, so it was quite busy. We picked it because the tournament suggested it and it had a pool. It turns out, the pool was closed because the "water was too cloudy". We had 7 games of hockey to play, so we didn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank herringtond
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, at the Quality Hotel we welcome and appreciate all comments from our guests. I apologize if your children were not able to use the pool at the time you were at our hotel. Yes, we did close the pool that evening for a period of two hours due to health and safety reasons. The safety... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

First the hotel is starting to show its age---bathtub could have been cleaner and there were chips out of the bathtub and sink. The bed was comfortable but the pillows are way too soft. This time the elevator required you to swipe your room key to access your floor---great idea for security but then I discovered if you walked up... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer9
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we value the comments of our guests as the feedback is a big factor in our continuous improvement efforts. I have made note of and addressed the issues in your comment. As for renovations, this hotel is undergoing extensive renovations starting March and in a year's time is slated to become a luxury hotel. I... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Well I must say that this is the second time we have stayed at this location and I am ready to book again next year. The front desk staff were great the security was great, and the Night manager was great. Rooms were nice and accommodating, even though the ice machines on both level 1 and 2 were not working... More 

Helpful?
Thank CLaplante1944
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we value all feedback from our guests as it helps in our efforts for continuous improvement. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. As for the ice machines both ice machines are operational but sometimes due to guests filling up that coolers with... More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
136 reviews
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1011 Bloor Street East, Oshawa, Ontario L1H 7K6, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, Oshawa)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Price Range: $107 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Oshawa
Oshawa Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durham Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor so you can leave faster!”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveller663, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the 401 were quite loud. We had an inside courtyard view and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoDie711, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't mind the renovations u should not be inconvinced & you WILL be treated wonderfully”
 of 5 bubbles darahdebvorahc, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay here but hosted a bridal shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Allsaints123, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the side away from the freeway”
 of 5 bubbles reginalds842, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay