We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Show Prices
#17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Laurier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,358: English reviews
Padiham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

The building itself is magnificent but our room was so tiny! We didn't get a bog standard room either we paid for a special suit and expected this place to be special after seeing the outside and lobby, but it was like a cheap hotel. I couldn't even blow dry my hair in the bathroom it was so small and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbigail B
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Abigail, Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so on this occasion. We do hope you return one day and allow us the opportunity to show you the high level of hospitality that we are known for! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed 2 nights here with a tour. The room was large and had a King Bed. The restaurant was outstanding for breakfast buffet and dinner. the location was perfect, within walking distant of the Parliament and also the Byward Market. The lobby has a very large Sitting/Reading area. Thanks for a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravler45
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your stay in Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed at the Chateau Laurier September 11-13, 2015 and enjoyed it thoroughly. We had a room on the 6th floor with a view of the Parliament buildings. Because the window was in a dormer, it was not exactly a picture window, but the view was spectacular, especially at night. The room was well-appointed and very comfortable. Internet service, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Ken, We are pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one. I encourage you to join our President’s Club. Membership is free and includes many wonderful benefits, including complimentary Wi-Fi. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2015

This was my second trip, My first trip last year and it was great. My Trip started in Montreal, then on to the Fairmont in Montebello and the to Laurier. Montebello has a lot to learn from the Laurier. The Laurier has the most pleasant & helpful staff. Everyone from the time you drive up to the house keeping people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Dave, It is always a pleasure to receive complimentary feedback and in particular, when it relates to colleague performance. We agree that we have some of the best colleagues in the business. You can rest assured that I will share your lovely comments with them and I know they will be pleased to have been recognized. We look forward...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

First time staying at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised! I expected the room to be small and dated as the hotel is older but our room was beautiful. It was extremely clean and fairly large sized. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is in a good location, within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torgirl65
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay in Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The hotel is an icon and stands out well. Friendly and efficient welcome. Comfortable rooms, but I am concerned that they now need a sensitive makeover. Sensitive to the standard and history of the building.I had a suite and was rather surprised to have such a small bathroom with such a large room. Indeed the walk in wardrobe is bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Festie
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We will certainly share your comments with Jimmy! I know he will be pleased to have been recognized! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and others on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is important to us! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Again , the Chateau Laurier was not disappointing. The location is amazing with lots to do within walking distance. Great access to walking / bike pathways. Great staff, and service. Room was (obviously) clean and comfortable,

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMay2014
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are indeed fortunate to have the premier location in the heart of our Nation’s Capital! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others on Trip Advisor. Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Great hotel. Very good location. Close from restaurants and bars. Close from the Parliament. Furniture old but with good conservation. Great service, from the doorman to the housekeeping. The bad think, as all old hotels is the bathroom. There is no glass in the shower. That old plastic that don't work. I really recomend the hotel and for sure will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zé A
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

You may be pleased to know that we are presently undergoing a complete renovation of our guestrooms and suites. We do hope you return one day soon as we are confident your will be impressed with the improvements. Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Great location. Everything was great. Was there for a friend's wedding. Our room had a great view. Lots of great bars and restaurants in the area as well as shopping and entertainment. Parking garage was a pain and didn't expect to pay to park at the hotel we were staying at.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank candace m
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Candace, Despite your disappointment with the parking fees, we are pleased that this did not mar your overall impression of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

GM of the hotel should consider sending DOR back to hotel school for a refresher course on how to organize housekeeping ,so that rooms are available before 16:00, particular in a resort area..and warm greeting from F/O to handle the check in guests by waiting so long... After all,this is the 'Fairmont'...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liuponnie
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Liuponne, We regret not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We do hope you return one day and allow us the opportunity to regain your trust and loyalty by returning one day in the future. Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

938 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (915)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (233)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (345)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,981 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
85 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zoe's Lounge
Zoe's Lounge
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $214 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ottawa, Ontario
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother paying for deluxe room, not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles laughingwoman6, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles melissaheaslip, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Op for the Gold Floor, the extensive inclusions are well worth the upgrade!”
 of 5 bubbles katherineb733, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was newly renovated. Don't know if they all are.”
  • We didn't ask for a room with a view, but I think this was very pretty.
  • See how pretty the marble is? Not that it's a make-or-break thing.
  • The bathroom was exceptional. The marble is so pretty!
  • One of the beds
  • Our room, taken from the entrance.
 of 5 bubbles beefair2014, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to look for special deals. It is often possible to find good packages that bring the room rates down.”
 of 5 bubbles LWS_Canada, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5