We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lord Elgin

Show Prices
#23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lord Elgin
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of Lord Elgin
 Click to rate
Aurora, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a great stay at the Lord Elgin Hotel in downtown Ottawa for Winterlude. The rooms were very clean and spacious with comfortable beds.. The air quality was very good with humidity for a good sleep. Excellent central downtown Ottawa location right across from Winterlude Festivites and Rideau canal skating. My only complaint would be that the pool was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank esq8
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at Lord Elgin this past weekend, the last weekend of Winterlude. This was our third stay at LE in the past few years. From the first phone call, I was treated with respect and every one of my requests (quiet room, higher floor, late check in) was granted. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Beth O
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Didn't start off well when I discovered at check-in that there was no reservation for me, despite confirmation from my travel agent. Staff were polite and sorted it out. Ended up with a room upgrade - corner room with King bed. Fantastic views across the park with ice sculptures. Good buffet breakfast (CA$19 plus tax). Also a Starbucks on site...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 440JOH
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear 440JOH, We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience but are glad that our staff was able to rectify the situation for you! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we do hope that you reported the issue with the window to staff, if you didn’t get the chance, we hope you contact us and let...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We are from Ottawa but stayed at the Lord Elgin for a dirty weekend in order to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was different than I remembered it from several years earlier, but lovely. Staff was excellent and very friendly. We had a nice view of all the activities out our corner windows. It was smack dab in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David F
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear David F, Thank you for celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and that our staff was able to enhance your visit! We are now just completing a significant upgrade to our internet to a Gigabit Fibre Access, which was a very costly investment in order to allow...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lord Elgin is a classic old hotel that is in a great location in downtown Ottawa. It is central to everything you would want to visit. The newly renovated rooms are very nicely appointed with comfortable and well equipped bathrooms. Check in/out was easy, quick, efficient and without incident. This is classic older building with impressive lobby and common...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank groxburgh
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear groxburgh, Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to the Lord Elgin! It is always a treat to hear about what our guests enjoyed most during their stay and we thoroughly appreciate everything you’ve mentioned! We are particularly delighted to hear you like the recent renovations to our guestrooms. We are thrilled with the results as well. We...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good hotel in a convenient location. Hotel is old, but bathrooms are updated. My room was very quiet, but toilet flush was very noisy. I used their in house restaurant for buffet breakfast, which cost $20 and was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaVal57
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear LaVal57, Thank you for your feedback, and for acknowledging our updated bathrooms as we have just undergone major room renovations to all 355 of our guestrooms! We hope you had a pleasant stay and that we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future! Thank you, David Smythe General Manager Lord Elgin Hotel

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay at the Lord Elgin Hotel because it is our most favourite hotel in Ottawa. Its old world charm combined with friendly staff and a perfect location make the Lord Elgin a perfect home away from home. It was especially ideal for taking in Winterlude, Ottawa's magical winter escape.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skillen2017
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear skillen2017, It definitely made our day to hear that we are your favourite hotel in Ottawa! Thank you for mentioning all of the things that continue to make your stays with us memorable! Thank you for continuing to stay with us and we hope you enjoyed all of the Winterlude festivities! Until next time, David Smythe General Manager Lord...

Kingston, Ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

During my one night stay, I found the bed to be very comfortable. Everything was clean and well cared for. The bathroom was very small, but included everything that was needed. The hotel location was fantastic, and staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinderma
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear pinderma, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our amenities. It is also great to hear that you found our staff friendly and knowledgeable! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and do hope you will visit us again! Thank you, David Smythe General Manager Lord Elgin Hotel

Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was in and out for business trip, staying just one night. I found the front desk and restaurant staff to be pleasant, friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and good sized. The elevators come quickly and generally the place is clean and spacious. Great location for those looking to skate on the canal, see Parliament Hill, shop at the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirk F
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear Kirk F, Thank you for your review and for mentioning all of the aspects of the hotel that helped make your stay a great one! We are so glad you got to spend your business trip with us and do hope you’ll stay with us again! Thank you, David Smythe General Manager Lord Elgin Hotel

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment you touch foot on the property you are greeted in a friendly manner from each staff member you encounter. You can tell that this hotel prides themselves on exceptional customer service.Rooms have been recently renovated and now have a completely modern flair. Hotel located in an excellent downtown area that offers everything within a short walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YQTlanding
meelker, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear YQTlanding, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so lucky to have this great team of staff, and are delighted to hear that they helped enhance your visit! We are indeed fortunate to be located in our lovely neighborhood. We do hope to have you stay with us again! Thank you, David Smythe General Manager Lord Elgin Hotel

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,950 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARC The Hotel
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
1,149 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#22 of 67 in Ottawa
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Grill 41
Grill 41
Cuisines: American, International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Landmark Hotel in heart of downtown Ottawa: ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park, the National Arts Centre and steps away from Byward Market, Rideau Canal, Ottawa Shaw Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre. Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness and Starbucks on-site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $184 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa, Ontario
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lord Elgin staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Elgin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed on the 3rd floor in the 300 - 320 range, very quiet and nice views of Confederation park”
 of 5 bubbles esq8, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the City or Confederation Park View”
 of 5 bubbles DavidF536, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have found every room to our liking.”
 of 5 bubbles skillen2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to pay for valet parking park at Ciry Hall. On the weekends it's very cheap we paid 5.00 Saturday evening to Sunday morning.”
 of 5 bubbles WiseK1988, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the park.”
 of 5 bubbles mull0097, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5