We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau

Save
Share
2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Wyndham
US$104
View deal
Vio.com
US$102
View deal
Hotels.comUS$104
Booking.comUS$104
TravelocityUS$104
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (222)
360
Panoramas (64)
Room & Suite (337)

About

#41 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Fishing
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Japanese
547Reviews10Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 197
  • 99
  • 38
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rblago799665 wrote a review Dec 2022
Gatineau, Canada1 contribution
The reception was very friendly and accommodating. We were a little early and they were able to give us an early check in. The property looked very well taken care of. We had a nice view of the Rideau Canal.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for the great review, and for mentioning the staff . We appreciate the positive feedback, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views of the Rideau River. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
6533edinburgh wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Insects in room - when reported to disinterested and discourteous front desk staff was told "that's because we haven't had a good freeze in Ottawa yet this year." Garbage overflowing on path to reception. Broken ice machine. Supposedly there was a hot tub, but it was in another building?? Manager committed (in writing) to get back to me by 12th Dec. It is now 14th - not a peep! I stayed one night and got the heck out of there. Awful stay. NOT up to Wyndham standards. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. While we did not follow up promptly we did provide an explanation as to why. The team has also used your experience as a learning tool , and how we can improve. I am thankful for our emails back and forth with the feedback provided. We wish you and your family all the best for the Holiday Season among us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberlee_smith1234 wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution
My stay was for my fiancé and I to do some shopping and get stuff ready for Christmas. The staff was very friendly except for one. The owner (I believe) was a super nice guy! Showed us around, made us feel super welcome! However I did run into a few problems that were never solved.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. Thank you for mentioning the staff. The front desk are permitted to solve any problem that arises. I am interested in learning more , and can be reached via email Khillis@ramadaottawa.com or by direct line 613-288-3540
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sommaijean wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution
I have a wonderful time stay as a guest and my dog love the views with the river. My dog love queen side bed and she have a lot of fun seeing out view 😃♥️ We would like to come back and will tell people to come to visit and also dinner very yummy great service 👍😇😇🙏♥️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m0hamedmimi wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good day Gents. We had one of the most horrible experiences ever in this hotel. The person who welcomed us name's is Charle. Charle was very rude and far from being professionnal, détails to.come. When we first made our reservation by phone in the morning while.on the road, we weren't advised there was a security deposit to add on top of paying room's fee when checking in. Even in the Email we have received, there was no montion of such security deposit at all. When on site, we've only changed currency to do our tours visit during the day and we've took in considerwtion room's fee when we first made our currency change. (Fornsecurity reasons, we only change what we need for the place we're in), so the change included of course room's fee when cheking in the afternoon. So again, when on site, obviously we didn't have enough Canadian $ to pay that security deposit fee. Charle rudely asked us to go look for another hotel if we didn't have enough money without trying to understand why we were facing this incident. We Felt horribely intimidated and mistreated as at that moment, we had about 30K EURO but we just didn't expect those fee for that night. At that moment, my wife told me that she kept about 100$ cash whith her so we negociated a 100 cash security deposit which will be returned when checking out, he accepted with a feeling of Mercy as if he did the biggest favor of his life to someone. We just didn't comment at that moment as we really needed a place to stay plus we don't know the town, probably 22h00 wasn't the best time to start looking for another hotel and we were very tired coing from France. However, we've decided to send à feed back when leaving the hotel. About the room, he gave us a room that smells literally feet. Air Conditionner roars more than à diesel engin. Reste room door doesn't close. The Fan in the toilet makes unsupported noises. The door look thru glass hole is blurred so we couldn't recognize someone when required before opening. The heating was broken and the alarm device doesn't work... we took video evidences of all the above and more... it was just a very very bad and a horrible experience. The day after, we just wanted to leave the place and never come back there ever again. We made our way to the Sheraton Hotel where we were more than welcomed and treated like humain being. We will share our experience with our beloved ones so no one will have to go throught what we went thru there. Thank you for your time and enjoy your day!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for the review. In regards to the credit card I will ensure that my team communicates the security deposit. The security deposit is standard access to the industry, and is 30% of the total room and tax. We do no accept cash upon check in as a form of payment. We ask that all guests have a credit card. Charles was following Policy in this check in process. That being said the conversation regarding finding another hotel, and how it was handled could have been handled better. I will ensure the team listens to our customers, and that all variables are taken into consideration when faced with a situation like this again. In regards to the room occupied I will be sure to investigate your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your experience. I will ensure to speak with Guest Services Team to come up with solutions on how this situation could have been accommodated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seanetmel wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
A wonderful hotel with a great view of the Rideau River as well as a nice hot breakfast. Cheaper than any other hotel around that area,(we were in Ottawa for a soccer tournament). Definitely would stay here again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Thank you very much for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cclark606503 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Rooms were very dirty, dust and cobwebs on walls. Mirrors very dirty, bed frill had stains. Bathroom had a facecloth still there from previous guests and dirty marks on bath tub. Draws were covered in dust and dirt. Would not put anything in them. Everything else was ok
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. We have performed a deep clean of the room that was occupied. If you return to Ottawa ,and require a room please reach out to me directly Khillis@ramadaottawa.com or via direct line 613-288-3540
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
I stay here for work and have made it my home away from home. The rooms are clean and the staff are the absolute best!!! It is a slightly older hotel set up but the cleanliness and attention to detail from the staff make this place The Best in the Ottawa area in my opinion. The scenery from the rooms is gorgeous and gives you a cottage/vacation vibe… glad I found this place as I used to stay at others In The area when I was in town and this is by far the best
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa On The Rideau. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and kind words on our staff. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Stephani Cuconato Operations Manager Ramada Ottawa on the Rideau
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mme Winky wrote a review Sep 2022
Burlington, Ontario81 contributions33 helpful votes
Quiet location in Nepean, close to the airport and not too far from the city centre. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly; the room was clean, spacious and well appointed; the breakfast had enough options for most people (scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, tea, juices). We stayed in a river view room with a lovely balcony and an unobstructed view of the river (second floor of the building directly behind the pool).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’d like a view of the river, ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa On The Rideau. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Stephani Cuconato Operations Manager Ramada Ottawa on the Rideau
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
clarebx2 wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
A great location. Not right downtown but conveniently close and a very natural setting. Great amenities. Was very pleased with breakfast, parking, wifi included, the outdoor pool was pleasant and really nice staff. Also happy to see alot of cleaning staff around all the time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristine Hillis , General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa On The Rideau. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Stephani Cuconato Operations Manager Ramada Ottawa on the Rideau
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monterey inn resort & conference centre hotel ottawa, monterey inn resort and conference centre, monterey hotel ottawa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Monterey Hotel
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAMADA BY WYNDHAM OTTAWA ON THE RIDEAU: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 695 Photos (Ontario) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
What are some of the property amenities at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moxies, Bambu Restaurant, and Angry Dragonz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau have airport transportation?
Yes, Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Japanese, and Arabic.