We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Show Prices
#14 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 797: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't believe Marriott allows this hotel to carry that name. I've never experienced such a dirty grimy outdated mouldy smelling Marriott in my life. This hotel needs a tear down and rebuild it's so gross. I'm usually never disappointed by a residence inn but this one seemed more like student housing at a university or frat house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are an older generation of the Residence Inn and we keep the Hotel clean. We will be due for a reno and we follow the Marriott Hotels for this. I regret that you were disappointed with the Hotel as we try hard...

Brossard, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Going from Residence Inn to Residence Inn in North America I can see consistancy in reception from staff . The room always includes hot and cold breakfast that will satisfy everyone in the family. Always really clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre D
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Pierre D, We are so glad that you chose to stay at Residence Inns across North America. While the services and amenities are similar, every Residence Inn is unique in it's own way and we are all family friendly.Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to a pleasant trip for you and your family. With kind...

Saskatoon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure how much the company paid to stay here but you could live here a while with the kitchenette and space. Proximity to Parliament Hill was fantastic. Would stay again. Only weird thing was the check in on 4th floor. But you could also get to Tim Hortons without going outside. Great feature!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leek209
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi leek209, Thank you for your stay and the comments thereafter. We have quite a few guests who stay over an extended stay at the Hotel. I agree with you that it is not common to have a check-in desk on the 4th floor and being different our regulars have gotten accustomed to this arrangement! There is little we can...

Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love this property - large rooms, full kitchen. Best part is location - close to the grocery store (with wine shop), the Byward Market, and Sparks street. Also a block to the bus so even working in Gatineau, this is my preferred Ottawa hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamrooney111
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi pamrooney111, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on the Hotel and it's convenience due to it's location. Thank you for making it your preferred Hotel and we look forward to your future visits. With kind regards, NR

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A bit of an odd duck. Claustrophobic underground parking. Lobby on 4th floor of building. Reception desk in the restaurant. Room was comfortable but a bit tired. Suite was a good size and value. HVAC system was loud and ran all night. Everything you need in the kitchen. Pool & hottub, again quite dated. Service was pleasant. Free breakfast not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WLKSR
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear WLKSR, Thank you very much for your feedback, and I hope that all in all you found our hotel to be good value for your trip. Just to help clarify a few details for future travelers: Our parking is a bit smaller, but has never been an issue to manage most vehicles. We do have a limited amount of...

Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast is very good and there is something for everyone. The hotel is in a perfect location as it is near to restaurants, groceries, buses and just down the street from Parliament Hill. The kitchenette has anything you would need for basic cooking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyscott83
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Anthonyscott83, Thank you very much for your kind words. I am pleased that our hotel met your needs, and helped play a role in your trip to Ottawa. We hope that you enjoyed not just the hotel, but your time in our city! Should you need anything at all, please let me know, it would be great to see...

Surrey, British Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at the Residence Inn was an enjoyable 4 days. It served as a great meeting place for business and provided a well deserved mini break for my wife as the property is well located for the major attractions. The Suites are spacious and well groomed, housekeeping staff are courteous and friendly. Front desk is helpful and business center adequate....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertsE8204CR
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear robertsE8204CR, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts from your recent stay at the Residence Inn Downtown Ottawa! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments should be very helpful for your fellow travelers, and we couldn't be more pleased to hear that we played a part in your mini break. Should you...

Burlington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was well cleaned, conveniently located & definitely met our expectations. Perhaps even exceeded them. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We found the people of Ottawa to be very friendly as well. Good breakfast, good sized, up to date rooms. Literally the only thing I can say that was moderately negative was that we found the room got...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OMW2FYB
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear OMW2FYB, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor world about your stay at the Residence Inn Downtown Ottawa. We are so happy that we may have even surpassed your expectations. That is honestly the best compliment you can provide someone in the hospitality industry! Unfortunately this time of year is difficult in larger buildings with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the convenience of location in downtown. Tim Hortons on ground floor, nearby Starbucks, LCBO, Parliament, Spark Street and so much more. We chose it also for the amenities in the room. Full kitchen with fridge, stove and microwave. Very handy for having a light snack or a full on 5 to 7 cocktail and appy's. The included breakfast selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori D
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Lori D! I am so happy that almost everything went perfect during your stay. I am pleased that our GM reacted so quickly and made everything right after the incident. We all know things can go wrong even on the best of intentions, and we pride ourselves on being able to react to these situations with the right...

ottawa
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Great location, top notch staff, huge rooms! Under ground parking was easy n elevators right to the main floor. Swimming pool and fitness room were wonderful! Staff was great ! Hotel was close to shopping, and good restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boulas
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi boulas, We love to read much comments as it makes us so happy to know that you were happy with the stay and services. We are so happy to please all our guests and glad you found everything in close proximity. We look forward to your future stays ! With kind regards, NR

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King) (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King Corner) (47)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (Two Queen Beds) (30)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Studio (King) (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
121 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $177 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Ontario
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner rooms are larger than others. Elevators tend to be noisy so ask for room away from them”
jeaneneh2017, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are very spacious. Would have liked to stay longer ”
abbottlind, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Large suite with separate bedroom inclusions a space for a working desk. It is always equiped with kitchen which has all the needed instruments to cook. ”
pierredB85VU, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great room, top notch staff, great location.”
boulas, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“In winter months it would be good to have a dark cloth or paper towel to wipe salt off boots.”
WendyKB, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5