We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
View deal
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (864)
Room & Suite (503)
Dining (53)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Ottawa
Updated 11/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#22 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Rest assured with our Commitment to Clean experience at The Westin Ottawa hotel. Our modern hotel is located in the Ottawa business district across from the Rideau Canal, an UNESCO World Heritage Site. Our renowned Shore Club restaurant is a popular dining choice for hotel guests and Ottawa locals alike. Stay active during your visit to Canada with our hotel's fitness offerings, including our indoor saltwater pool, our modern fitness center and our private squash courts. Host your next conference or event in our dynamic venues, connected to the Shaw Convention Centre, and take advantage of our state-of-the-art AV equipment and expert planning services. Enjoy a restful night's sleep in refined hotel rooms and suites with enriching amenities and stunning views of the Ottawa cityscape.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free public parking nearby
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Snack bar
Bowling offsite
Walking tours
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2558Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,393
  • 749
  • 256
  • 103
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
donmar55 wrote a review 4 Sep
Toronto, Canada14 contributions11 helpful votes
I booked a Premium city view room with a senior discount. It was a nice double corner room on the 9th floor with a lovely view looking north to the Byward Market and east to Rideau Centre. The hotel is very convenient and connected to the Rideau Centre. Room was very clean, lovely white furnishings and looked recently decorated. Free wifi with lots of channels. Staff were very friendly and helpful and room checkin was very efficient. The elevators are a bit of an adventure at first due to limited capacity as a result of covid so wait times are expected. Covid rules were in place so housekeeping only upon request and for 2 nights it was not needed. Suggestions for hotel management - 1) grab bar at end of bathtub for safety 2) info sheet re hotel services. I didn't know what time checkout was or that the restaurant was only open on weekends and the Daly Express is ok but not great. 3) I couldn't get my phone to work. No connection when I tried to call the front desk to report a suspicious person in the hallway which was a little concerning. I was given a sheet for room service but I didn't know how to call room service!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: Premium room was great. East side corner is quiet and lovely view of Byward Market and mountains...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kaitlyn Elgie, Marketing at The Westin Ottawa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello onmar55, Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, it's a wonderful benefit to be located right in the center of our magnificent capital city! We hope you had ample time to explore and take in all of the rich beauty, culture and history! Be well, Ross Meredith General Manager
Read more
Sam S wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada74 contributions40 helpful votes
Before booking this hotel, I saw mixed reviews but wanted to try for myself. This was the first trip in over a year, and we needed a change of WFH scenery. The main issue for us was the food, particularly breakfast. We were given breakfast vouchers ($15 for Express/$23 for Dine-in), but nobody told us that the restaurant was closed during the week. At the Express counter, I ordered the "Ultimate" breakfast and a latte, and the lady promptly told me that I had used up my limit. See the attached picture, and ultimately you'll be the judge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kaitlyn Elgie, Marketing at The Westin Ottawa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear samsR9291YF, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon each guest stay, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with your comments. Be well, Ross Meredith General Manager
Read more
Jerry M wrote a review Aug 2021
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
It was great to come back to visit the Westin with the family. Very clean and appropriate COVID precautions in place. Elevators were slow and limiting due to space / occupancy restrictions. Swimming pool was a hit with the kids. We look forward to coming back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Valet parking is expensive. Great that the hotel is connected to Rideau Centre and walking...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kaitlyn Elgie, Marketing at The Westin Ottawa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jerry W, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that enjoyed your time with us! Being able to unwind and relax is key to a great hotel stay, and I'm so happy that you were able to do so here at the Westin Ottawa. We look forward to welcoming you back! Be well, Ross Meredith General Manager
Read more
geb11 wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada11 contributions7 helpful votes
Having stayed at this hotel multiple times we were really looking forward to it We used a suite night upgrade as a platinum guest so it would be special. Checking in at 4pm we were told the room wasn’t ready and they would text us. We came back 45 minutes later and having received no text that it was ready suggested a regular room. Check it then told us the room was ready. We were offered the breakfast or points and took the breakfast as we were looking forward to the break. The good: the room was lovely and the views great over parliament. There was however no Westin toiletries which is part of the experience of the brand. Bed bath and body works seems to be the westin Ottawa’s answer. The next morning we went to have breakfast with our voucher and the restaurant was closed. We could however get a coffee and muffin to go, just like a holiday inn express. I would say this hotel has fallen off and suggest anyone looking for four stars may think twice. Had the check out clerk bothered to ask how our stay was, we would have provided this feedback but since they could not be bothered here is the review. As an aside the Chateau Laurier was serving breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Kaitlyn Elgie, Marketing at The Westin Ottawa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear geb11 Thank you for your review. Based upon your feedback it is clear that apologies are due. Your feedback will be forwarded to our Front Office Manager for discussion as this is not the typical Westin Ottawa guest experience. We do hope to see you again so that we can make sure that you receive the Westin Ottawa experience you expect and deserve Be well, Ross Meredith General Manager
Read more
CdnMtnGal wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada465 contributions138 helpful votes
I am a relatively frequent traveler to the Ottawa area. It’s been a number of years since I’ve stayed at the Westin. I needed to be in Ottawa for business on a Monday, so made a weekend out of it. My brother tagged along. He has lifetime platinum status with Starwood/Marriott Bonvoy, so we were upgraded to a 2-room suite. While it was lovely to have so much space to spread out in, the room had definitely seen better days. The carpet was snagged, there were chunks taken out of walls, and the sheer curtain was dirty and torn. Definitely time for a reno! We had breakfast at Daly’s on the Sunday morning. My avocado toast with poached egg was delicious. On Monday, to our surprise, the restaurant was not open so we had to settle for the express takeout cafe, which had a fairly limited menu. Other guests were also surprised that the restaurant was closed. The staff was, however, quite accommodating in customizing my order, which was appreciated. Both times we had breakfast, my brother presented the staff with the breakfast voucher that is given to platinum members. Both times, he was asked whether the voucher covered two breakfasts, or just one. Platinum members are covered for two breakfasts each morning. He advised the staff of this, and both times they said they would have to check. My suggestion is that the vouchers clearly state that they cover breakfast for two, and that staff be trained on the different privileges that frequent travelers are entitled to. We used the parking lot attached to the hotel, choosing not to do valet parking. The lot is poorly designed and shared with the Rideau Centre shopping mall. Over the weekend, it was hard to find a spot close to the hotel. One night, we parked on the third level, and followed the signs to walk from the parkade back to the hotel through the mall. It was extremely convoluted, and involved walking through long, deserted corridors. Not safe for women! I was glad I was not alone. I realize this is not the fault of the hotel, but it may be helpful for other travelers to know. Back in the day, it was a toss-up between the Westin and the Chateau Laurier as the top hotel in Ottawa. Unfortunately, the Westin is in need of a refresh.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Response from Kaitlyn Elgie, Marketing at The Westin Ottawa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear CdnMtnGal, Thank you for your review. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view all feedback as a gift and a way to improve and enhance upon our guest stay, thank you for taking the time to provide us with yours. Be well, Ross Meredith General Manager
Read more
US$145 - US$330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the westin ottawa hotel ottawa, westin ottawa, westin hotel ottawa, ottawa westin
CanadaOntarioOttawaByward Market Area
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Ottawa
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Ottawa?
Nearby attractions include Jigsaw Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Escape Manor Byward Market (0.4 km), and Rideau Canal National Historic Site (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Ottawa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Ottawa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Ottawa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Ottawa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Ottawa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega Nicastro, BeaverTails, and The Brig Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Ottawa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Westin Ottawa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Ottawa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Ottawa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Ottawa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.