We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Ottawa

Show Prices
#6 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westin Ottawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,871: English reviews
Start your review of The Westin Ottawa
 Click to rate
Montreal
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great room, great location, but always bring your reservation confirmation with you. That was my first experience with Westin. I booked directly with them and paid for 2 upgrades that included a 3:00pm check-out time. My wife is blind and have health issues and that check-out time was very valuable to us. At check-in, we were told that check-out time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Digledu
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Michel Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience which you experienced regarding your late check out. We will be sure to speak to our team. Here at the Westin Ottawa we take feedback from our guests very seriously, as it enables us to enhance our guest experience and learn and grow. We do...

Brussels, Belgium
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Westin Ottawa is my go-to hotel in Ottawa. Situated in the immediate downtown core, right on the canal, you could not possibly be closer to Parliament, the Byward Market and Rideau Centre. Rooms are modern and well appointed. For our last stay, we were in the process of moving back from Europe which required an extended stay in hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KMacK_CDN
About Hotel's Favourite Review
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear KMacK_CDN, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am delighted that you consistently have an excellent experience staying with us, and that our team has provided great service! Welcome back to Canada, we hope your move was smooth and successful! We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went to the Westin for a getaway weekend and it was a great hotel. The staff were very welcoming and were very helpful with anything that we required. The room was very spacious and clean. The room had a modern feel and our king sized bed was extremely comfortable. The parking was a little chaotic as there were limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany R
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Brittany R I am delighted that you chose the Westin Ottawa for your getaway weekend! Thank you for your feedback regarding pricing for our buffet breakfast, I will be taking your comments back to our operations team to discuss. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon each...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really liked our stay here for the most part...rooms are well-appointed, spacious, clean and comfy, with all of the nice touches you'd expect. The view from our premium room was also spectacular. The Shore Club was a busy (and happening) lounge, with a great wine selection and good vibe. Location is second to none. But despite all of these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTraveller5
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear CalgaryTraveller5 Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your guestroom and the wonderful view of our beautiful city. We do apologize for the noise, the hotel is going through a renovation right now. Here at The Westin Ottawa we view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon each guest stay,...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has been there a long time, although this was my first time staying at this Westin, I was very pleased with the size of the room, the cleanliness and amenities. The staff very friendly, the location fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccampbell622
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear ccampbell622 Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted that you had an excellent experience staying with us here at the Westin Ottawa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, it's a wonderful benefit to be located right in the center of our magnificent capital city! We hope you had ample time to explore and take...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Ottawa, walking distance from many attractions. The staff is super nice and courteous. The hotel looks and smells really nice. The room was very big, with a great view and comfortable beds. Even the toiletries smelled nice. Definite plus was the Stabucks drip coffee in the room. The pool and gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martlem
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Martlem Thank you for the feedback! I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience staying with us here at The Westin Ottawa. We hope we'll see you again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Beamsville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting our son. Great location, staff very friendly, disappointed that the pool was closed, they did say we could use the pool at another property, but too much of a hassle to do that. Park your car and forget about it, walking distance to everthing !! Will stay again for sure !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer S Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that our team provided you with impeccable service! We would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the pool. It's rare that our pool is out of service and although we always try to have a second option, we can...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can tell when a Hotel has that right "vibe". The Westin Ottawa is such a hotel. When we arrived, the doorman went out of his way to help us. The check in was smooth and efficient. Our highlight so far ...breakfast. Hilary R is perhaps the most attentive and helpful waitress we have had on our travels. Keep in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wass fam
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Wass fam I am delighted to hear that Hilary provided you with such great service! The best feedback we can receive is that our associates have made our guests feel welcomed I hope that Max enjoyed his treat! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hilary our waitress was fantastic and sweet. We have a dog and she offered to pack some bacon for him. This buffet is what me and my family look forward to the 5-6 times we come to this hotel. I found this hotel also really friendly so my morning breakfast was the cherry on top of the most amazing Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waslaila9
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear waslaila9 Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast buffet! I'm also glad to hear that Hilary provided you with amazing service, I will be sure to recognize her for this! We hope to see you and your family again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the location for only one night but I loved it. First, they have a very room setup. Second, the view on the canal is gorgeous ! and third, the hotel is directly connected to the rideau center which is a huge shopping mall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear EricMToronto Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you had an excellent experience here at the Westin Ottawa. We hope to welcome you back soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager

762 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (537)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (222)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Daly's
Daly's
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Price Range: $218 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin
The Westin Ottawa Ontario
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Ottawa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Ottawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade with a view of the Parliament, it is beautiful.”
Digledu, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms over looking the parliament buildings have a beautiful view and the Starwood Preferred Guest rooms come with free Wifi.”
brittanyr179, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have amazing views of the city”
Martlem, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book basic room and ask for upgrade upon check in. Better value !!”
Kaupert, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a dog- low floor and ask for their dog setup to get bowls, and a bed”
Wass fam, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5