We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alt Hotel Ottawa

Save
Share
185 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0E8 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$130
View deal
Hotels.comUS$134
ALT HOTEL OTTAWAUS$133
PricelineUS$133
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (269)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (183)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Alt Hotel Ottawa
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In a downtown business district, this modern high-rise hotel is within 10 minutes' walk of both Parliament Hill and The National War Memorial, and 1 km from The Canadian Museum of Nature. Intimate rooms feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and Keurig coffeemakers, as well as desks with ergonomic chairs. Altcetera Café, a trendy café, and a fitness room, both open day and night, are available at the hotel. There are also 9 rooms to gather your team or to hold an event.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French
661Reviews22Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 423
  • 190
  • 34
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jacqueline W wrote a review Aug 2021
Montreal, Canada240 contributions120 helpful votes
I was disappointed in my recent stay at Alt Ottawa. We were two couples staying several days in two rooms over a recent long weekend and sadly we all had more complaints than kudos. Our rooms were small and overlooked a wall. The only plus was good water pressure in the shower and good tv. There was no bottled water in the room and no fridge. The hotel seems to be significantly understaffed. We made several requests for amenities at reception and in each case after waiting a long time and then calling with our requests a second time we ended up having to go downstairs and waiting until we could could get - eg - an extra towel. I had paid $30 extra to bring my dog (they have a dedicated floor) and had read on line that this comes with a water bowl, dog bed, treats. I'd expected these would be waiting in my room, but no, there was nothing. Again, I had to call several times, wait, and finally go to reception to ask again to get these amenities for my pet (and the dog treats never arrived at all). There was no servicing of rooms at all, supposedly because of covid, so our rooms were not refreshed at all. It's pretty miserable to stay in a hotel where the rooms are not made up at all. Supposedly after 3 nights the hotel changes the room if you are a long staying guest, but we left before this kicked in. This was not my first post covid trip but it was the first time I have experienced this. When we checked in we were given a paper explaining covid rules which included a phone number to be let in after 11 pm since, they said, the hotel closes its doors after that time. Fortunately this didn't actually seem to be the case as we returned late each night and the hotel was still open (a good thing too since we had left the phone number in the room). The lobby area is very nice with a pool table and small cafe area. Breakfast is not included and the nespresso machine in the room uses paper cups (another supposed covid measure). Parking nearby is expensive: the lot across the street is more convenient and cheaper for overnight than street parking but it still adds a lot of expense to one's stay. Would I stay at Alt again? The location is good but everything else is wanting. No, I'll go elsewhere next time I visit Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Florence Leblanc-Belanger, Guest Services / Front Office at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Good morning Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed our lobby area, the shower pressure as well as the television. However, I am sorry to see your overall stay did not meet your expectations. Please note we do have some fridges in certain rooms as well as pet amenities available, but both have to be requested in advance. In addition, during the pandemic, for guests and employees safety, we do indeed have additional measures in place including replacing all glass dishes by paper, avoid servicing the rooms, as well as locking the doors at night when the employee has to step away in order to better control the traffic coming into the hotel. Overall, I remain sorry you were disappointed with your stay and invite you to call me at the hotel if you wish to talk about your experience further. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can regain your trust. Warm regards, Florence Leblanc-Belanger
Read more
Yeonwoo J wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I stayed here for two days with my friends, and I was really glad that I chose this hotel. The rooms were very clean, comfortable. Staffs were extremely accommodating and friendly. Thank you for staff Singh, for allowing us to have another key when we lost one. I highly recommend here for anyone visiting Ottawa, best location to walk around downtown. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Judy M wrote a review Jul 2021
Stoney Creek, Canada20 contributions2 helpful votes
My friend and I stayed at The Alt during our 4 day visit over Canada Day and weekend. I noticed the hotel is extremely clean in all public spaces. Unfortunately , due to COVID restrictions, the lobby bar and cafe were closed for sitting in but you could order food and drink to take to your room. I look forward to a return visit when COVID restrictions are lifted. I will definitely enjoy a cocktail at the cozy bar. I chose a basic queen room. The linens were very good and the bed /pillows were comfortable. The bathroom featured a great walk in shower. I did find the wall mounted magnifying mirror difficult to use. I think it would be more user friendly if the mounting was the extendable type. Located in downtown area, it is very walkable to Parliament buildings, museums , Rideau Centre and Byward Market
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
maplewaffle wrote a review Jun 2021
Stanford, California, USA1 contribution
Stayed at the Alt Hotel in Ottawa for a last minute business trip. The location is fantastic! Steps away from Parliament Hill and some good restaurants. The hotel also has some nice design and styling. I have previously stayed in a few St Germain hotels and always had great stays with nice rooms and excellent service, so figured that would be the case here. Unfortunately it was not. We knew that with COVID things would be a little different. And we appreciated that the staff mostly seemed to take the public health guidelines seriously(not sure why the rules regarding masking only applied to guests and not desk staff hanging out chatting with each other in the lobby). However, the room we had was quite small and faced a concrete wall. An odd choice since the hotel seemed to be mostly empty and presumably from the website and photos others posted there are better rooms than we had. The bed which is supposedly a queen seemed smaller than that. There are no drawers at all for clothing in the room. No refrigerator, no bottled water in the room, and because of COVID no room service. And during our stay it was VERY hot and humid in Ottawa so this was a pain. Tap water from the sink in the bathroom strangely couldn’t get cold. It was maybe room temperature. Which I guess is fitting since the temperature of the water in the shower barely seemed capable of getting above lukewarm. The television in room was also strange, with only a few channels and many of those channels being standard def(I don’t even know those still existed in 2021!) only taking up a small portion of the screen rather than full screen digital/HD. And while we didn’t watch much TV it was strange that channels would regularly randomly lose the signal while we were watching. Another strange thing was the clock in the room was set an hour ahead, with seemingly no way to fix it. Further, without housekeeping(COVID - we get it) we were simply supposed to put our used towels in plastic bag at the end of our stay, but they seemed to forget to give us the bag. And anytime we needed someone at the front desk, no one was around to help. So in summary; great location, sub-par room(if you’re offered room 911 ask for another room. Better yet, stay somewhere else), and almost non-existent service. I would not recommend staying at the Alt, as there are other options in the city that are much better. We will have to return to Ottawa a lot over the next year, but won’t be staying here if it can be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Dear maplewaffle, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you liked the location and the design of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hold ourselves to a high standard and I am disappointed with the experience you had during your stay. Please give me a call at your convenience so we can discuss in detail your concerns. Best Dino Gurusamy
Read more
mylovelytravels wrote a review Jan 2021
calgary9 contributions14 helpful votes
I stayed here for two nights for business, and it was an excellent short stay. The bed is so comfortable, I had a great night sleep. So many restaurants and amenities nearby. There was no fridge my in my room, but I made do without it. Some restrictions due to covid, but hotel is probably an even better stay under normal times. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: my room did not have a fridge
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 1 Feb 2021
Dear mylovelytravels, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay .We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Dino Gurusamy
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alt Hotel Ottawa
Which popular attractions are close to Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Nearby attractions include Escape Manor - Queen Street (0.2 km), Bank of Canada Museum (0.3 km), and Hideaway (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sansotei Ramen, Beckta Dining & Wine, and Shinka Sushi Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Alt Hotel Ottawa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Alt Hotel Ottawa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.