We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stratford Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$127*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Stratford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of The Stratford Hotel
 Click to rate
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two days here and enjoyed every minute. It was very easy to get to the theaters and waling distance to several good restaurants. Historic building with modern conveniences. Connie was most gracious and made us feel right at home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TedGP
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your first experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we're very happy you enjoyed all our amenities and our central location. Maybe we'll see you again someday.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the welcome card in you room to addressing you by name, the attention to personal details makes your stay feel special. It's an old building, so some quirks are to be expected but it's not enough to ruin the overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franz W
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do have many quirks as you have mentioned but the feel is very "homey" The personal touches are something that I really do enjoy myself and do believe they make a huge difference in your overall experience.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything went as planned. Connie and George were there to check us in to their lovely inn. Our family took 3 rooms , all were cozy and made even warmer by their gas fireplaces.Great location, as it's only a short walk to half a dozen interesting restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We're very happy everything went as planned that's important. Glad we could meet all your expectations and it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. It was a good experience for us as well.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't say enough about our stay at The Stratford Hotel. Connie was warm and welcoming during the check in process and we immediately felt at home. The room was spacious and well appointed given that it is contained in a historic building in the center of Stratford. From the front steps of the hotel you are only few footsteps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. George and I are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your first stay with us and that you took the time to share your visit on Trip Advisor. Feeling at home is exactly what we promote, we want all our guests to have that feeling. We can't thank you enough for your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at the Stratford Hotel. Connie & George were very friendly and knowledgable about the community. Room was spacious, nicely furnished and we loved the natural light from the 3 large windows. It is an old place but very charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to share your opinion of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Sounds like you enjoyed the space and the amenities (even the natural sun light) that was in your suite. Yes, the building was built in 1875 but it does have lots of character and charm. Every room is unique and offers something different.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The fan was not working and air condition did not seem to work. The vents on the roof was so loud we were woken up by the middle of the night drenched on sweat. We will never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justy S
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. Sounds like you didn't have the experience you were expecting. It's a opinion that I wish would of been brought to our attention at the time you claim you stayed with us (June 2016)not 8 months later. We always make sure all of our air conditioners are working at 100% when...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2017

My Hubby took me to Stratford last weekend, and we were very happy to have been able to get a suite at the Stratford Hotel. Connie greeted us by name as we came in, and wished me a Happy Birthday (Hubby mentioned it when he booked the room). We spent a few minutes just chatting, before being led down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 282Juliette282
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your first experience at our hotel on trip advisor. Sounds like you had a very full and enjoyable "birthday" weekend. Nice to hear you found suite 2 to be comfortable, we also enjoyed our chats in the lobby. Thank you for the lovely compliments, we are very happy you both enjoyed your stay and look forward...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 21 March 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Stratford Hotel for the first time in the early Fall of 2016, and we will be certain to make it our choice for all of our vacations to Stratford in the future. Everything about our stay was simply wonderful. The room was beautiful, spacious and relaxing - a true 'home away from home'....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dclark1965
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we also enjoyed our many conversations in the lobby. Very happy that you enjoyed your first experience at The Stratford Hotel "A Home away from Home only Better!" that's just great!! George and I look forward to your return.

Ont
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. What a great little hotel with the perfect hostess. Connie was great with everything we needed. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite. Amazing room and perfect for a romantic getaway with your husband. Everything was impeccably clean and the little touches made the stay perfect. Little chocolates and a welcome note...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weiser
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your first visit with us on Trip Advisor. Sounds like you enjoyed the Jacuzzi suite and all the other amenities that we do offer. You're very welcome and we look forward to your return.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at The Stratford Hotel in Stratford, Ontario. The owners, Connie & George are exceptional hosts - they make you feel like it's your home away from home. The rooms are impeccable, with fireplace, jacuzzi, and many with suites. My wife and I will most definitely be back again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torontosaxman
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your 2nd visit with us on Trip Advisor. It's was a pleasure seeing you again and your reception to us is also very nice. George and I look forward to your next visit.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.1 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
371 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
144 reviews
3.4 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
199 reviews
0.3 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stratford Hotel, where old world charm and modern amenities unite! Our historic downtown property is surrounded by shopping and theatre districts, historical neighborhoods; and we are 6 blocks from the business park. We offer English style gardens, wireless internet, and free onsite Parking. Features of all our rooms and suites comprise of queen size antique beds, distinctive layouts, private baths, gas fireplaces, bar fridges and high-definition TV's with digital cable. Our location is very close to all the Theatres, a 5 min walk to The Avon Theatre, a 25 min scenic walk along the river to the main Festival Theatre, a 10 min walk to The Tom Patterson Theatre and a 5 min walk to the new Masonic Hall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stratford Hotel

Address: 107 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Price Range: $140 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stratford Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stratford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel Ontario
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stratford Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Adrian, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stratford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite 9 was perfect!”
765stevet, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in front are next to street traffic, choose a room at the back of hotel.”
P3175VLgloriam, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Fav room is 4; Fav suite is 9”
BoomSlang37, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Traffic noise in the rooms on the side facing the road can be a bit loud; ask for a room on the side away from the road.”
17robbins74, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 7 faces the road which was noisy until about the 11 p.m.”
richarddJ3287VK, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$127* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$127
Expedia.comUS$127
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates