We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Royal York

TravelocityUS$263*
View Deal
#21 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$574*
US$263*
US$574*
US$263*
US$574*
US$263*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Royal York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Royal York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,687: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal York as a family of 4 with two small children. We actually live close by, but wanted to be tourists with our kids and do some of the downtown activities, and since I had never stayed here I thought it would be a great opportunity. We took the GO train downtown which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbettin10
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear hbettin10, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy to hear that the hotel and your guestroom worked perfectly for your family's needs and you could take advantage of our great location and explore the city with your children. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi in our hotel lobby and restaurants and complimentary in-room WiFi to...

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

I will start by saying the building is amazing, the lobby is beautiful and so is the pool. but to be honest the rooms are really overrated, there's just nothing all that special about them. if you're staying in downtown Toronto I would recommend somewhere where you can get a little more bang for your buck. Honestly I've stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joevaughan24
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you were impressed by the building itself and found our lobby and pool beautiful. It is disappointing to hear that you were not wowed by your guestroom and we apologize. We have a wide variety of rooms throughout the hotel and hope that you will return and...

Reviewed 3 January 2016

we were in a large group of approx 30 peaple, check in and out quick and smooth. had a room on the 11th floor with views overlooking the train station. very peaceful, well equipped. managed to get free wifi in our room by joining the hotels club, free membership!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judwenson
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear judwenson, Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to know that we delivered a seamless experience for you and your group and we are happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We hope you can all return again in the future! Best regards, Edwin

London, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I am from London Ontario and had purchased a season subscription to Mirvish for my daughter and myself. Having stayed at the Royal York on other occasions I thought this would be our go to Hotel for all of the shows we would be seeing throughout the upcoming year. I was really looking forward to a weekend in the city,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkween
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear bkween, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn of your understandable feeling of disappointment with your experience. The activity in the vicinity of your guestroom is not reflective of our normal ambience and clientele. This should have been addressed and stopped by our security team and we are discussing this further. We apologize that your...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We booked 3 nights for the price of 2 through Trailfinders. We thought it might be a bit 'stuffy' with its history but it caters well for visitors with different priorities/budgets. We ate in the main bar area, the Library Bar and took breakfast in the cheap and cheerful café in the basement area. All the food was of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Villan64
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear Villan64, Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you felt we catered to a variety of tastes and budgets. We are also happy to know that your room had a great view of the CN tower and you had an opportunity to enjoy our many hotel restaurants. We hope you can return for another memorable stay...

My house
Reviewed 2 January 2016

While trying to access the WiFi proved "interesting" full marks have to go to the staff - Hilary on reception went well out of her way to help me out. Scot on the bell desk - thanks for your IT support (and willingness to explain cricket), James the concierge - gear job sorting out the issue with the cars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RS24
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear RS24, Thank you for taking the time to share positive feedback on the personalized service you received from various members of our team. We look forward to recognizing Hilary, Scott and James and all hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Edwin

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 25 year anniversary here! Perfect choice! Staff truly gave us the royal treatment. We felt like we were old friends that had set aside a place to make our occasion special. The decor was superb! I have never met a staff so wonderful. The only criticism was that the beds were average in comfort...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reiner H
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear Reiner H, Happy anniversary and thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate this very special occasion! We are thrilled that you had a memorable experience and our team ensured that you received the royal treatment. We hope to welcome you back again this year. Best regards, Edwin

Berkley
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Upon check-in, I highly recommend avoiding any room that ends in the numbers 299 unless you want to hear the laundry/garbage chute utilized by staff from 9 am to 6 pm every day. When we asked to be moved, we were told no other rooms were available.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeanettef2016
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear jeanettef2016, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered and regret that we were unable to offer a room change as we strive to ensure that an alternative option is always available to our guests. We hope you will return and give us a second chance in the future as we would appreciate an...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2016

One night stay...was upgraded upon check in at no additional cost. Rooms where very clean, well kept and comfortable. Entire staff was attentive and courteous. All these factors made our stay unforgettable

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bongachik
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear bongachik, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had an unforgettable experience at our hotel and we look forward to our earliest opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards, Edwin

Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I stayed here on December 31st and overall had a decent stay. Be advised if you are planning to stay on New Years Eve there are extra security measures put in place to prevent partiers, some of the rules are little intrusive. The room is well appointed, beautiful bath products, cozy, extremely clean, I ordered room service twice once for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear David F, Thank you for your review. While we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, we apologize for your experience with In Room Dining. Food should always arrive within 30 minutes and we are very sorry for the unacceptable delay. This is truly the exception to the rule and not the norm and we look forward to...

1,245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (899)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (160)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (452)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Fairmont Gold Room (41)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (38)
Viewed
Medium Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 133 in Toronto
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Piper's Pub
Piper's Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $354 - $870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#16 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#28 Business Hotel in Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Royal York staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Royal York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“15th floor had amazing views”
eastcoasttraveller32, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't have one....the concierge was nice though”
gothamdiva644, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room without waste/excrement smell from the pipe”
fwinterstein, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“furthest away from elevators, but not to far as the halls are very long”
brainguy, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“their upgrades are well worth it”
Ramzi465, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$263* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$263
Expedia.comUS$263
AMOMAUS$574
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates