We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Easy to get around for here, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Very old basic room with small kitchenette. Older ensuite too. Clean but some weird smell- ??? Air freshener. We left the window open all the time which helps. A/c isn't great, only on or off, can't control temp at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
Joe M, Guest Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Our maintenance and Front Desk staff can adjust the A/C, but for safety reasons we don't allow guests to do it since it can be tricky. If you stay with us again and find yourself uncomfortable or have any issues with the room, please let us know! We like to help...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Perfect for someone looking for a cheap place to sleep, without all the luxury of a hotel. The rooms are locked with a key. Our room had lovely pee aroma to it. As well, there were hairs on our pillows. The woman working the front desk was very short tempered and did not make the place feel welcoming. However, AC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelcey3
Joe M, Guest Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We try our best to keep the hotel clean and comfortable but sometimes mistakes are made in a busy hotel such as ours. I'm sorry we could not help you out while you were still at the hotel; perhaps we could have made your stay more comfortable. Please accept our...

New Jersey
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This is a perfect location for people who are in Toronto for the first time and want to enjoy the city and see the sights. It is in a quiet location next to a local park and a less than 5 minute walk from Queen St. West and all of the restaurants and shopping it has to offer. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TCtecht
Joe M, Guest Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Great review! Thanks for sharing it with everyone. Our hotel isn't anything fancy but we try to help out travelers on a budget and we like to hear from satisfied customers. We hope you can stay with us again!

Rochester, NY
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We were in Toronto for only one night (attending a concert) and the Alexandra was just what we needed, and fit our budget. The accommodations are simple, but everything was very clean and nicely organized. It is walking distance to Toronto's Chinatown with parking on site, and only about 10 minutes by car from the lakefront, during non-rush hours. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lioncloud
Joe M, Guest Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We're glad to hear you found the hotel to your liking and appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed here a few weeks ago to attend a concert at Mod Club. Excellent location within walking distance with parking on site. The room is just a small dorm style room but was clean and the beds were comfortable. Front desk staff was very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dana1
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We try our best to keep the rooms clean and comfortable.

Port Elgin, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Please remember you pay for what you get.....This is an original heritage apartment building....unique in its own way! Old but clean enough I would return. Backing onto a Central Park filled with energetic young adults being active. They are silenced by the multi emergency sirens till 3:00 am.....if you are not use to the city this would be more of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmattrose
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Many of our returning guests appreciate the location as we are within walking distance of many downtown neighbourhoods and attractions. Hope you can stay with us again.

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Honestly, I have reasonably high standards, and I can't understand the poor reviews for this hotel. It is half the price of any other hotel in central Toronto, so you are gonna have to lower your expectations slightly. Yeah the rooms are slightly dated, but they are clean and functional. Small kitchenette if you felt the need to cook something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitch_198022
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review of our hotel and the local attractions. I'm always very glad to hear from a happy customer, and the rest of the staff and I appreciate that you took the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor. We hope you can stay with us again!

Holly, Michigan
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The area appeared rough. Tagging everywhere, Windows on stores were barred, ect... The hotel was old and kind of dingy. The room was ok, more like a college dorm. Was told they would give a receipt showing the $200 deposit hold taken off my account. When I asked about it,she initially refused. She finally gave it to me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebhum
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We're sorry you did not find the area to your liking, but found our hotel satisfactory. We apologize for the misunderstanding with the deposit receipt. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Out of over 100 hotel stays in the past few years, this has to be the worst value of all. Tiny room, no amenities, dated furnishings make it look more like a hostel than a hotel, but we did have our own bathroom. All for $140 Canadian after paying additional for parking. Don't know why the ratings are as high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob w
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I am disappointed we could not serve you better. Sometimes our rates are higher during busy periods. We charge only $7 for parking per night. Thank you for your review, I apologize that the stay was not to your satisfaction.

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The lobby bathroom is a storage closet for glasses and utensils stored on a shelf above a toilet, gross. Dirty towel in bathroom. They also do an old fashion imprint of your credit card they make you sign blank and you have to ask for it back when you leave (they didn't volunteer to give it back) apparently its a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clappyy
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are currently fixing our lobby washroom after you brought it to our attention. We apologize for the condition of it when you visited. Our hotel is a simple business with one property and we still use paper imprints for security deposits instead of storing your credit card and personal information online or in a computer. We destroy the...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#93 of 132 in Toronto
149 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#62 of 132 in Toronto
1,354 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#106 of 132 in Toronto
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#84 of 132 in Toronto
240 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#105 of 132 in Toronto
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Toronto's main Chinatown has the honor of being the largest in North America. Gaping down across Dundas Street West and Spadina Avenue, the area is a wonderful medley of shops and restaurants, busy signs and bright red gates, a destination for foodie fun. Chinatown's streets are always bustling, packed with people and outdoor stalls hawking fresh produce and products. The restaurants and authentic marketplaces that shoulder in against each other display shining roast ducks and menus studded with dumplings and noodle bowls. The air is pervaded with music. different languages, and the smell of fried food and mouth-watering desserts. Chinatown's restaurants represent a broad range of fare, from traditional Szechuan and Shanghai foods, to other Asian delicacies, including some of the top Japanese, Vietnamese, and Korean spots in the city. Whether you're in the mood for a sit-down tea house or a bubble tea to go, Chinatown is the spot to enjoy an exciting walk and the promise of leaving satisfied.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 77 Ryerson Avenue | at Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Price Range: $102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alexandra Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Park near the door.”
 of 5 bubbles 506morganw, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms overlooking CN Tower.”
 of 5 bubbles kraftterrier, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 201, not sure about the rest?”
  • Great little kitchenette... 3 of everything, including a wake up call....extra for an iron and c
  • Double bed and a single, desk, phone for local calls, free Wifi from room...tv
  • Bathroom Four Piece bring a washcloth, towels supplied
  • View of the park
  • Tv and sitting area
 of 5 bubbles jmattrose, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles rebhum, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for upper room. Views are good”
 of 5 bubbles KateK193, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay