We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strathcona Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,315: English reviews
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I got a deal with this hotel when I purchased tickets for the Food and Wine show, clean and comfortable rooms and warm, friendly staff. The only detractor was the lack of parking, I used green P and my car was broken into, not the hotel's fault, but it marred the experience slightly.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bronwen H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous location very close to CN Tower and a stones throw from the station. Lots of bars and restaurants close aswell. good value. Hotel and room very clean, could not fault. Staff friendly and helpful with advice and directions etc. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shoegirl222
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a last minute trip and this was a great option. Great location and rooms. It may be small for some, but mind you it's a downtown hotel. Bathroom had soap/lotion/shampoo dispensers - very convenient. Modern, relaxing, and all in all a great find. If I'm ever in the area again, I will look at this place first (although I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank IreneParAvion
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi IreneParAvion Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate it. We are extremely sorry that the stay was not to your complete satisfaction. I would love to discuss with your stay and i am hoping that you would reach me at fom@thestrathconahotel.com. Once again, thank you for your feedback and i look forward to hearing from you Regards

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice downtown accommodations short walk north of Union station. We had two rooms for the weekend and as the train arrived at 1.30 pm we were able to check in early (a nice perk) and start our time in the city without travel bags. Rooms are a bit smaller but very well laid out and efficient. Quieter on inside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mishawindsor
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mishawindsor Thank you so much time to share your thoughts. We are glad we were able to accommodate you early and the location was to your satisfaction. We do recommend booking our executive rooms which would offer you slightly larger space. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there on an evening visit to the city. The kind gentleman at the desk told us that the hotel will always have the cheapest price over any online sites. (We "overpaid" by a couple of bucks, but he comped us internet access.) Room was clean and tidy if tight quarters. Walls are thin and the heating was difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aMarmiton
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi aMarmiton Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers. We are extremely sorry that the stay was not to your complete satisfaction. I have shared your feedback with the team and i am hoping you are able to reach me at fom@thestrathconahotel.com as we can discuss this further. Thank you once again for your...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was nice, staff were very friendly and checking in and out was easy. Location was perfect, we were able to walk around the city and also it was close to public transport which was great. We booked it quite late so it was expensive but it is in the city so that's to be expected.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sstall
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sstall Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for recognizing the valued members of our team. We look forward to welcoming you again Regards

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel. We had Raptors tickets at ACC. This hotel is not loaded with amenities and the rooms are very small but there is nothing negative I would say about the property. We were checked in quickly by friendly front desk staff. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to ACC and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 101Dinnertime
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 101Dinnertime Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers and we are thrilled that you found our team, our location and our services to your satisfaction. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and we hope to see you again soon Regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location makes this no-frills hotel a great place to stay. With the CN Tower in its backyard, the hotel is perfect for tourists on foot. The Union Express train takes you from Pearson Airport to union station...come out of union station and the Strathcona is across the street! Rooms are a bit tiny and hotel has no pool, gym, frills...but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad we could be the preferred choice of hotel for you and we look forward to you April visit. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a nice hotel for the price and location. The rooms were a bit small but can't complain for the price we paid and the location and we were rarely in the room. One down side would be that the walls are really thin and you can hear everything going on in the hallway. Other than that, great hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Talar S
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Talar S Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are glad our services and location suited the reason for your stay. We look forward to your next visit Regards

Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first stay at Strathcona. We usually stay at Royal York but tired of the expensive rates so as this hotel is across the street, we tried it this weekend and I'm glad we did! First, you cannot beat the location, especially if this is your first visit to Toronto as you can walk to many attractions: Hockey...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank luvmeninkilts
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi luvmeninkilts We are so glad to see your review and very happy that you decided to make the switch to our hotel. We really appreciate it and we will continue doing our best to ensure have a memorable stay very single time Thank You once again Regards

805 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (516)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (Two Queen Beds) (34)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (Two Beds) (30)
Viewed
Executive King Room (One King Bed) (45)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (38)
Viewed
Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (31)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Room (One Double Bed) (34)
Viewed
Smart Double Room (Two Double Beds) (29)
Viewed
Smart Double Twin Room (Two Twin Beds) (26)
Viewed
Smart King Room (One King Bed) (29)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (One Twin Bed) (23)
Viewed
Suite (98)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
991 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
2,007 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
2,766 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#59 of 132 in Toronto
5,794 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $159 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Haslett, Michigan
Newfoundland, Canada
over a year ago
Brights Grove, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good spot, the gym is not included and its next door at Goodlife.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9141NLandyc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators for quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles IreneParAvion, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Really good location + good price, affordable”
 of 5 bubbles 433talars, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view...I did not have that..”
 of 5 bubbles lynus2016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“small hotel with central elevator so no rooms free from elevator noise”
 of 5 bubbles 315davek, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5