We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place. Nothing fancy. Could have had more to offer for breakfast. Needed some patch work sanded and a new coat of paint. No fridge in the room. Good location. Front darkness nice and helpful. Clean and no bugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have mini fridges available at an additional cost. Can be arranged by the Front Desk Agent.

Montreal, Québec, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is verry old and would need some renovation for the look but is verry clean and well situated near metro, grocerie, stores en downtown. Verry good service and attention from the staff. Bed was comfortable. Free breakfast was simple but ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoit_Gagnon
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are a clean hotel located in the wonderful neigborhood of Yorkville. We are 2 blocks away from the subway line. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic and there are a lot of great things to see in Toronto. It is the cheapest option in yorkville but the pictures made it seem nicer than it was. The lobby is well decorated but the rooms are old and out of date. The room was very spacious and the bed was decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had trouble with the internet connection. Our internet was just updated this past summer and we have not received any complaints about it. We will certainly look into it. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location.

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building is old and tired but the rooms are quite comfortable reasonably clean and largely noise free in spite of the volume of traffic outside. The front desk staff are helpful and the location is great. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 198halj
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Such a mix bag of reviews on here, I'm left to wonder if I was just really lucky or other people's expectations were too high? My experience was the staff was friendly, our rooms were clean and for the location and price it would be really tough to beat. Yes some of the furniture is dated and shows it's age...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. Often times, due to our location in Yorkville, guests expect a newer hotel with additional services. Our property offers economy rates in the heart of Yorkville.

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Is there a lower than rating of 1. Please someone go buy this place a vacuum cleaner. Ok for budget place but lord sakes replace coffee. 3 out of 4 days I had to go get a refill for the room from front desk. Electric outlets that short sparks. Lamps that you need to wiggle the power button to work....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken Z
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for not providing enough coffee in your room and that it had to be supplied by Front Desk. I have certainly noted all of the deficiencies you mentioned in your room and will certainly check the room myself along with maintenance to make sure any repairs required are done asap. We would...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

I get budget hotels and "no frills" hotels. The ownership may want you to believe thats what this hotel is, but in reality its a neglected hotel. From the moment i walked into the "cold" lobby with mismatched torn furniture and food crumbs on the floor, i knew this hotel wasn't for me. The interior looks like it was last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank observeryyz
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We just completed a refresh of the hotel this spring replacing all guest room carpets, corridors, tv's and new linen. The decor and structure itself is outdated. We are the only economy two star hotel with very good rates in the heart of Yorkville. As you mentioned, there are plans for...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Was moved here from another hotel for first of two nights. It was closer to my conference so I decided to stay second night. I specifically asked the Howard Johnson employee if they would be calling the original hotel to cancel the second night with them, and he assured me he would. He did not. Then upon checkout he completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brien M
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

My apologies for this. Our Agent was confused about the second night and who was responsible for payment. He misunderstood that the second night was optional and could have been canceled. The Agents do not usually cancel reservations at other hotels, it is up to the guest. He should have called a Supervisor and we would have handled it for...

Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

While it is a bit careworn, you simply cannot beat the value and convenience of this hotel situated in Toronto's Yorkville. Rates usually run in and around the $100 per night range - most downtown hotels are twice that amount - rooms are clean, relatively spacious - although the bathrooms tend to be on the small side - and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed our clean and comfortable hotel in the heart of upscale Yorkville. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip. I was able to book the Business Room and I enjoyed the king sized bed, the couch for watching TV, and the large space of the room overall. Other reviewers have complained about the service here but I found it great. Everyone was helpful and I found nothing to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have many guests that enjoy our Business Rooms! Glad to hear you are one of them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Howard Johnson Yorkville.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 131 in Toronto
450 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 131 in Toronto
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#104 of 131 in Toronto
310 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#85 of 131 in Toronto
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
Midtown is a dynamic part of Toronto with some of its most stylish high-rise residences and heritage buildings. The area sees busy shoppers with bag-laden arms balancing lattes in paper cups as they travel from one luxury brand to the next, taking advantage of the proximity of high-end shops. The reflecting pools, jogging trails, and nature treks of the Rosehill Revision are always a hub of outdoor activity, and after a workout from either running or splurging, many take advantage of the spas and massage parlors Midtown has to offer. Away from the bakeries, boutiques, and glamorous old theaters of the district's center, locals use the weekend to embrace the more suburban feel of Midtown's parks, tennis courts, outdoor markets, and the manicured grounds of Casa Loma, while families indulge the area's state-of-the-art playground and learning facilities. Of course, no high-brow district is complete without a healthy counter-culture: Midtown boasts some of the wildest street art and full-wall graffiti of any neighborhood in Toronto.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of upscale and trendy Yorkville-Bloor Village. Our hotel in Toronto, ON, provides you with high-speed Internet access, free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and use of our fitness room. We offer around the clock coffee and tea service, and children under 12 stay for free. Public transportation is just one block away, providing quick and easy access to many areas around the city. Our wonderful location and 24-hour front desk staff makes our hotel near Queen's Park the answer to your Toronto lodging needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Price Range: $106 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
London, Canada
6 months ago
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
8 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles observeryyz, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up, rooms facing road may be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles CatieM269, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very old scratchy funiture”
 of 5 bubbles annielB6714BW, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner room's are the largest”
 of 5 bubbles rcroz2, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you like light in your room, ask for rooms not facing the next door condo.”
 of 5 bubbles Vegas2007, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay