We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We knew that this was an economy hotel before we stayed. The staff were really friendly and helpful BUT the place needs a major overhaul. The plumbing is a DISASTER, I suggest you dummy run flush the toilet before you really intend to use it !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had some plumbing issues while staying with us. I have to say that this is not common at all. My apologies.

Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My room had peeling wallpaper and paint but the worst part was the MOLD on the shower wall! The cord for the wall mounted blow dryer did not reach the outlet in the bathroom which was mind boggling. I went to the front desk and was told by an employee that he couldn't help me. There were no extra dryers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I will never book in a Howard Johnson or Wyndham Hotel chain EVER AGAIN......I booked the HOJO Yorkville in July 2016 for travel in Sept 2016. Unfortunately we had a death in our family and we were unable to travel.....this hotel would do NOTHING for us and REFUSED to provide a refund on our booking (we booked with points) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The HJ is just a very ordinary hotel with reasonably clean but somewhat old rooms that are in need of some renovations. However the price of $160 is much more than this ordinary place is worth. The breakfast was marginal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guido V
Chatham
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I booked this hotel to redeem my Wyndham points, however wish I would have saved them and just booked a different hotel in Toronto. This hotel is average, somewhat outdated, and no frills. Could not locate washrooms near lobby easily, not sure where breakfast was served. The rooms were large considering it is Toronto, however the beds could use updating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catie M
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are an economy select service hotel in the heart of Yorkville. One block to subyway line and all major attractions are close by. Yorkville is great for shopping, many cafes and restaurants. Fast food outlets can be found one block east near Yonge Street or west on Bloor Street. Whole...

Kincardine
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We are just ending our two night stay here. We wanted something affordable in the centre of the city, and this was certainly that. But that's about it. If you've read any of my other reviews, you'll know we are NOT picky. Clean, decent amenities, and in decent condition, and we're happy campers. In fact, I often write off the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura R
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not find your room to be spacious. Sounds like an upgraded Business room which is large and spacious would have suited you better. This building is old but comfortable and we just replaced all the carpeting in the spring. As for the wallpaper, we are doing some repairs in all rooms and this is a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel is outdated I'm surprised they allow people to stay in there. It is run down in a posh neighbourhood.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shawn S
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an economy, select service hotel. We offer a comfortable no frills stay for the Yorkville area.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I was disappointed with this hotel given the neighbourhood that it is in. The room was large but dark. When I sat on the bed it felt like a box spring. Cleanliness was subpar. There were sections of the floor that clearly had not been cleaned regularly. I passed on using the shower because of the mildew around the tub/shower....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Solotripping
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were staying in a large guest room which is our Business Rooms. Many times Room Attendants and/or Maintenance knock but the room is so large, it cannot be heard. My apologies. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We just purchased an industrial steam cleaner...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Service good but very old inside scratchy furniture lobby lots of dirty dust bunny when u walk in I wouldn't go back if ever I go back there But room was clean I don't recomend this place breakfast was awsome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annielB6714BW
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you found the lobby dirty. We recently had a staffing issue which has been rectified. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

Reviewed 16 August 2016

not very happy with this hotel and the shocker I haven't even stayed in it yet. I called before I booked to see if a truck would fit in the parking lot and got a yes as a reply. as well I wanted to know if the rooms had fridges and microwaves as well got a yes. well call today...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the incorrect information you received. It sounds like you may have been speaking with Wyndham Central Reservations and not with the hotel directly. I can assure you we do not tell guests we have microwaves and fridges in every room, because we do not have them. Also, downtown parking is not complimentary, it is $25.00 per...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#74 of 131 in Toronto
449 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 131 in Toronto
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#104 of 131 in Toronto
310 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#85 of 131 in Toronto
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
Midtown is a dynamic part of Toronto with some of its most stylish high-rise residences and heritage buildings. The area sees busy shoppers with bag-laden arms balancing lattes in paper cups as they travel from one luxury brand to the next, taking advantage of the proximity of high-end shops. The reflecting pools, jogging trails, and nature treks of the Rosehill Revision are always a hub of outdoor activity, and after a workout from either running or splurging, many take advantage of the spas and massage parlors Midtown has to offer. Away from the bakeries, boutiques, and glamorous old theaters of the district's center, locals use the weekend to embrace the more suburban feel of Midtown's parks, tennis courts, outdoor markets, and the manicured grounds of Casa Loma, while families indulge the area's state-of-the-art playground and learning facilities. Of course, no high-brow district is complete without a healthy counter-culture: Midtown boasts some of the wildest street art and full-wall graffiti of any neighborhood in Toronto.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of upscale and trendy Yorkville-Bloor Village. Our hotel in Toronto, ON, provides you with high-speed Internet access, free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and use of our fitness room. We offer around the clock coffee and tea service, and children under 12 stay for free. Public transportation is just one block away, providing quick and easy access to many areas around the city. Our wonderful location and 24-hour front desk staff makes our hotel near Queen's Park the answer to your Toronto lodging needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Price Range: $107 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
London, Canada
6 months ago
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
8 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles observeryyz, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up, rooms facing road may be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles CatieM269, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very old scratchy funiture”
 of 5 bubbles annielB6714BW, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner room's are the largest”
 of 5 bubbles rcroz2, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you like light in your room, ask for rooms not facing the next door condo.”
 of 5 bubbles Vegas2007, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay