We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Templar Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Templar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Staff was great. The hotel was odd compared to bigger chains. The bed was knee high. The bathroom had a tub for 6 at least. The shower was open concept with 3 glass walls and no door to keep water and shampoo in. I could literally roll off the bed right into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MontrealAj
Jason Y, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

MontrealAj, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. First of all we are extremely happy to hear the staff are what stood out to you during your stay here with us at the Templar. We are aware that our design may not be in every traveller’s fancy and because of that we are going to be making some...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to like this place. I liked the way it was marketed online as it looked modern and minimalist, yet comfortable. It started going wrong when we arrived and there was no one in reception. The odd and empty restaurant behind was pumping out dance music and the waitress there couldn't help us check in. After a few minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jane S
Jason Y, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Jane S, The Templar staff are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. While we realize that our hotel may not be for everyone, this is not a normal experience for guests at the Templar. We sincerely apologize and we have followed up to make sure that much of what you have mentioned is no longer...

Picton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our 30th anniversary. From the moment we entered the lobby, I could see that the decor was spartan - devoid of any signs of comfort or holiday decor (it was 2 days after Christmas). The room was not any better. It felt more like a monastery than a hotel so maybe the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ninegables
Jason Y, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ninegables, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry to hear that the hotel failed to meet up to your standards. We are aware that our minimalist design may not be for everyone and we are actually going to be making quite a few exciting changes to the hotel design beginning early 2017. Please...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place, gorgeous rooms, great location and overall awesome vibes. Love Toronto and the people and this place is the epitome of design and customer service. Everyone is so cool and so nice and does their best to be cool and chill with everyone. They do whatever they can to make you happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattgray00
Jason Y, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mattgray00, Thank you for the awesome review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always great to hear that our staff impressed you with their customer service. Please keep us in mind for your future visits to the city and we hope to be able to host you again soon! Regards, Carly...

Ottawa ON
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed at the Templar for 3 nights and quite liked our stay but the design features make the rooms a little less than comfortable. Our room was clean, the staff friendly and we found the bed comfortable but I can see why others did not. The location is great but of course that means traffic noise which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stang1sk
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I was a solo female traveler for a medical conference and paid around $230 for this hotel. They initially gave me a room that had hair and a sticky spot in the bath tub. I was then given another room without a functional door lock. When I informed the staff, I was told not to worry and that only management...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stargrit
Jason Y, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dr. Arany S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Templar Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay that you had with us. The issues with the hair and the tub are far below our typical standards and we will address that with our housekeeping staff to ensure a better standard for the...

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Clean, stylish, comfortable, ideally located with very helpful and attentive staff. A short walk from Union Station where the UP Express from Pearson Airport terminates. The finance district within walking distance as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arnar G
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Arnar, Thanks for the review! We do have a great location makes it easy for guests of the hotel to get around the city. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards, John Paterson

Ontario
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The hotel is downtown and close to Adelaide Hall which was the reason we were there. It is a small trendy little hotel tucked away inconspicuously (almost drove right past it!). There is parking available through the hotel and also nearby for around $30 - $40. Check-in was easy, the front desk staff were polite and professional. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mymillymolly
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Mymillymolly, Thanks for the review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into the few items your mentioned to ensure they are fixed. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Regards, John Paterson

Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This is the first review that I've ever made of a hotel, restaurant, or any type of business that one could review online; but I felt that it was necessary. My s/o and I were looking to spend a weekend in the city and experience something other than the typical chain hotel and tourist hot spot. Templar was the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frets14
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Frets14, We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. This is not a normal experience for guests at the Templar. I sincerely apologize and we have followed up to make sure that much of what you have mentioned is no longer an issue. We have plans to improve the hotel continually and your feedback is...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very modern. Loved the location. The tub was massive and it was an interesting layout. I felt it was very clean and I felt comfortable there. It was very affordable. I was not disappointed whatsoever and I was happy to spend mine and my boyfriends weekend there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SniderOliver
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

SniderOliver, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you and your boyfriend return! Regards, John Paterson

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#79 of 132 in Toronto
129 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#25 of 132 in Toronto
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
973 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 132 in Toronto
1,455 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#9 of 132 in Toronto
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Templar Hotel is a small, uber stylish, unique boutique hotel in the heart of Toronto. There is so much that makes the Templar Hotel a special place - its people, its secretive history, the chic, trendy and minimalist design, or its affiliation with TIFF and private exclusive events and parties. Located in the heart of Toronto's entertainment district, the Templar Hotel promises to provide an experience that you won't get at a standard large chain hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templar Hotel

Address: 348 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $168 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Templar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Templar Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Colborne, Canada
5 days ago
Exeter

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Templar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 rooms per floor I think so not much choice.”
 of 5 bubbles MontrealAj, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid facing Adelaide if for some reason you decide to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles JEM2803, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check location of room/suite if you are expecting a view of the City.”
 of 5 bubbles christinebY9684GW, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing East on a higher floor have a great view of Adelaide”
 of 5 bubbles 813arlenem, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our view was a blank brick wall. Room 5.1. Can't speak for any other room.”
  • Sink is almost totally non-functional, but looks nice. Shower is great, but floor is very slippe
  • This is the tub. Does it look invited and comfortable?
  • Cool, clean and impersonal
  • Bed and tv, with toilet behind chair and frosted glass wall. Note the position of the bathroom l
 of 5 bubbles notbornyesterday, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay