We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Show Prices
#9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,049 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,000: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We recently spent a weekend here. Everything from reception to turn-down service was 5-star! Highly recommend the lounge for drinks or even food. The pool area is relaxing with private cabanas that you only have to reserve ahead if it's busy (it wasn't when we were there and the staff was happy to let us take our pick). The spa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julieu40
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Julieu40, I would like to thank you for choosing Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. I appreciate the note you sent very much and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your getaway. I will be sharing your kind words with our entire team. Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, should...

Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Not friendly staff. Poorly trained front desk. Not 5* hotel but definitly over priced. It is totally over rated. We stayed for my birthday and thought will have great experience... it is just a condo with 5* rating. Don't waste money.

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shangriloooow
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear shangriloooow, Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your experience at Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. Thank you for your feedback and for bringing this to my attention as we will use it to improve on our services for the future. Please know that I have shared your feedback with our respective managers. Again, I am very sorry to hear...

milton, ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our children booked us into the hotel as part of a celebratory package that included two nights in the hotel, supper on the 30th, theatre tickets, and a New Year's Eve dinner at the top of the CN Tower. From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff made us feel very special- something we'd not anticipated. We received a bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C2642YGanns
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear C2642YGanns, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to know that you had a wonderful anniversary celebration with us at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. I appreciate your kind words and please know that I will be sharing your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon....

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

What can I say? Best of the best. Very good hotel with everything. Nice room with all small details and very good service. The have gym, swimmingpool, sauna. Free WiFi... and amcing lobby. I just love it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry R
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Jerry R, I would like to thank you for choosing Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the amenities we offer at our hotel. Please know that I have shared your kind words with our respective managers as well as the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

toronto
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Not a bad place, just not a great place. Our month old request for a high floor could not be accommodated. The room was comfortable and clean. No recycling. Electric drapes are cool, as was the tv in the bathroom mirror. Not much else too special. Fairly slow elevators. The service in the hotel resto Bosk was friendly but slow....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelguy002
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear travelguy002, Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as this gives us an opportunity to improve our services to our valued guests. Kindly know that I have shared your feedback with our respective managers as well as our entire team. I hope...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Overall Shangrila Toronto is great good service , friendly staff and five star hotel. Unfortunately on my first day i found my room to be not throughly cleaned but they remedied right away after talking with the director of rooms. oh and dont expect too much when it comes to a view when your in a suite not a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for also bringing your concerns to my attention, as it gives us an opportunity to improve on our services. Kindly know that have looked into your comments...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My family & I spent NYE at the Shangrila, Toronto and we're shocked at the pettiness of the F&B's department's decision to charge guests $10.00 ($5/ice & $5/delivery) for a bucket of ice when it's normally free. When I complained to Sunil Kumar of F&B he told me that he had made an "executive" decision to apply the fee because...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Canadians-in-Dubai
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Canadians-in-Dubai, Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your New Year's Eve experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as this gives us an opportunity to improve our services to our valued guests. Kindly know that I have shared your feedback with our respective managers as well as our entire...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Shangri-La for new year 2016. This was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. Luxurious room comfortable bed Good location Great view Lovely pool Restaurants. From check-in to check-out everything went smoothly! The room was great! The service was 5 star! The staff were really attentive to our needs and very quick in responding to our request!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sasha K
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Sasha K, Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and the fine details we present to make your experience a memorable one. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Shangri-La hotel, Toronto again soon. With kind regards, Jens Moesker

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This is not a review of the hotel itself but rather its very popular high tea. First the tea- many different types , with a selection of savory and sweet items. Some were traditional- for example scones and clotted cream with berry preserves, some were a little different - in a good way - for example lychee profiteroles. The sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This is one of the hotels that you would enjoy taking coffee at the lobby. The lobby is spacious and the restaurant personnel are not obstrusive. They also serve good breakfast and coffee at the lobby.Good hotel to stay in if you are watching a play or a ballet performance at the Four Seasons Centre which is just infront. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank betty l
Jens M, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review

Dear betty l, We greatly appreciate the time and effort taken to share this kind feedback. I am very glad to hear that you had a excellent experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. I appreciate your detailed review and I will be sharing your comments with our entire team. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again...

969 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (41)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (44)
Viewed
Fazioli Suite (77)
Viewed
Garden Suite (86)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (56)
Viewed
Owner’s Suite (76)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Premier King Room (40)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
555 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $476 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Toronto
#3 Business Hotel in Toronto
#6 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#6 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Toronto staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Toronto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have an Amex plat card, use "The fine hotel and resorts" program to reserve your room.”
  • marble heated floors, beautiful
  • bathtub city view (blinds come down for privacy)
 of 5 bubbles Holly_campers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request for university avenue view”
 of 5 bubbles paulcP7715QY, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy the lounge in the lobby with live music”
 of 5 bubbles XTCmars, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a southern exposure as the skyline is superior to the south.”
  • View from the tub! Pretty impressive
  • It was a great hotel centrally located in downtown Toronto
  • Iconic skyline
 of 5 bubbles CanadaClaire, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I guess higher floors room or lower rooms with a terrace regardless, the Location promises great views”
 of 5 bubbles Romperine, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5