The Arts Hotel

The Arts Hotel

155 Kent Street Charlottetown, Pe, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 5Y6 Canada
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#17 of 25 hotels in Charlottetown
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Arts Hotel is a modern, minimalist property in the heart of Charlottetown. It provides cozy rooms at a budget-friendly rate, allowing guests to enjoy everything Charlottetown offers without worrying about blowing their travel budget on accommodation. The Arts Hotel is home to The Trailside Music Hall and The Salvador Dali Café, with shows nearly every night that can continue until 2 am. Rooms on the second floor are affected by the music.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

155 Kent Street Charlottetown, Pe, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 5Y6 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Charlottetown Airport
74Reviews0Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 15
  • 4
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Discover141070 wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came into town last minute for a business trip on Halloween Night. I as ready to check in to another hotel when the front desk clerk warned me that is was going to be a noisy night. He recommended The Arts Hotel around the corner.

Upon arriving I was a bit concerned as we had a truck full of insulation and only street parking but it worked out for us as the street parking was free and within view.

The front desk person was very pleasant and helpful as she recommended places to eat nearby.

The room itself was stylish, fresh and clean. Well decorated with a funky flair. The bathroom wall was all glass and all details of the room were well thought out. It is not your typical hotel room with a closet, ironing board and chairs. Who hangs out in the room anyway when there is so much to do in the area! Everything you need is in walking distance.

We were quite impressed and would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: we had street view and it was quite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello Discover141070, thank you for your review on your stay with us at The Arts Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your choice in accommodations. We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for the recommendation!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peggy M wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean, very friendly and accommodating staff. However, I feel this is more of a Hostel priced as a Hotel. We had booked at the arts hotel as we were going to trail side theatre and was more convenient then nearby hotels, when I originally booked the hotel prices were on par with other local hotels( delta and Rodd Charlottetown) for the same night, and they did give me a 25$ voucher for the trailside theatre. My partner and I have 4 children and this was our night away. When we arrived to our Room we were disappointed to find there was no TV, mini fridge or hairdryer. I did call down and a friendly staff brought me a hair dryer. I asked the front desk if there was any rooms with TVs as we were escaping our children and planned on lounging watching something other than the Wiggles. We were told there was a lounge that we could watch TV. I’m not big on sitting in a room with people I don’t know to lounge in my underwear and they probably would be a little awkward for them as well. I re read the online description I could not find where it said there was no TVs but that it advertised a family staycation. As Beautifully as the rooms were minimalist styled they lack what a family with Kids would be looking for.

As a world traveller the Arts Hotel has a euro Hostel feel. I like the concept of this hotel and feel there is a market for it. I think if you advertise it as what it is, a Hostel, lower the rooms to Proper hostel prices and I think you will fill your rooms with the young vibrant clientele you are aiming for.

Or add a TV and a mini fridge and leave the prices which are fair for a hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello E4815FBpeggym, thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We understand that our minimalist style hotel is not suited for every guest, especially the ones who are looking for a relaxing getaway from the kiddos. We do advertise on our website that our rooms do not have tv or telephones, we truly believe this factor encourages our guests to explore our beautiful city. Thank you for trying our minimalist euro style hotel, we apologize that our hotel did not meet your needs and expectations. Kind regards, Emilie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Velvet B wrote a review Apr 2022
Parry Sound, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Arts Hotel and the price was unbeatable. I was a little hesitant at first because of the lower price but I'm so glad I booked here, I will definitely be coming back. The king size bed was amazing, the glass shower with double heads was so relaxing. We appreciated there was no carpet in the room, if felt very clean and minimalistic. We didn't even miss not having a tv. We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night and there was no noise from the music venue downstairs. They were very accommodating for our small dog. We loved it here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The kingsize bed was worth the extra $10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hi Velvet, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at The Arts Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, our showers and our beds. We are also glad to hear that you did not miss having a TV and that this encouraged you to enjoy the live music downtown. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
business1man wrote a review Oct 2021
Kitchener, Canada21 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, staying at the end unit on the 2nd floor (room 223) . Every night started at 5pm we were bombarded by loud noise of music and other cheering sound until after 11pm. At first we thought may be just people from the next room just having too much fun. But no, on the last night we found out it was the Trailside Music Hall that situated right underneath our room. This hotel bills itself as minimalistic which includes bare concrete floor, walls and ceiling. I doubt there was any soundproofing effort done to isolate the noise generated by the music venue. The design of the hotel in putting guest rooms right on top of loud music venue is faulty in this regard. I raised this with the hotel manager but obviously there was nothing she could do except paying some lip service in apologizing. So, if you cannot avoid staying at this hotel, I hope you stay at upper floors away from the far end, or you can put up with the noise throughout the nights. Best of cause, is to avoid staying at the Arts Hotel Charlottetown.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay at upper floors away from the far end, unless you don't mind the loud noise from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brianna Allen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Hi Business1man, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. As a brand new hotel we take all our feedback seriously and it is unfortunate to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. While we do advertise The Trailside Music hall on our website, we understand some noise may carry to the rooms above. We are looking into this matter as we do not want our guests to feel they cant get a good nights rest when staying with us. I do recall speaking with you during your first few days and there were no issues of noise brought up at the time. I do wish we had of known your concerns right away so we could have moved you to a quieter room. As mentioned we are a brand new hotel. We rely on feedback from our guests so we can address any areas of concern and make adjustments as needed. I am glad you spoke to our assistant manager at the end of your stay so we had the chance to speak face to face regarding the issues during your stay. We do apologize that there was nothing further we could do as you were ready to check out after your 4 day stay. We will be sharing your feedback and concerns with our team so we can review any changes that need to be made, and see how we can better provide our guests a great stay. if you have any other concerns or feedback for us, I would love to hear from you directly. I can be reached at office@theartshotel.ca We do hope you give us another chance. All the best, Brianna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul k wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is terrific, but the hotel is poor. There is a club on the ground floor, and our room was above the stage on the second floor. It was like I was a member of the band. (I am in the music business and tolerant, but our iPhone recording is proof perfect). The noise was like being in a heavy metal concert ten rows from the front and went on past 11:30 pm. They moved us three times, all on the second floor. The first move was by the elevator, which was noisy through 1:30 am with people coming in and then again at 6:00 am. It was next to the hotels communal lounge area. Noisy till much later.Then back to another room on the second floor. Then on the last day, with no music noise, a couple had a blazing row at 3:30 am, but no one from reception picked up when I phoned for someone to deal with it. The room was only cleaned on request, but when I asked for clean towels or to clean the room once during our stay, they forgot to do it. Also, the toilet handle was broken in one room. And the best was on our last night at around 10:30 pm a stranger walked into our room who had been checked into our room in error. The staff was lovely but very new on average. As for the misnamed art hotel (which has no art in the room or any public space other than the cafe/club) if I got a free room for a year, I wouldn't take it. PEI is fantastic and highly recommended, but don't stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get rooms on the fourth floor otherwise, it's problematic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello Paul, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry for my delay in getting back to you. I appreciate your feedback. While we advertise The Trailside Music hall and The Salvador Dali Cafe on our website, we understand some noise may carry to the rooms above. We are looking into this matter as we do not want our guests to feel they can't get a good night's rest when staying with us. Being a relatively new hotel, we rely on feedback from our guests so we can address any areas of concern, make adjustments as needed. We currently do have a lot of new staff, however this is not an excuse for the experience you have received. I sincerely apologize.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Duncan M wrote a review Aug 2021
St. John's, Canada20 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really funky, cool hotel in the downtown area. The rooms are small and minimalist but very clean, with hard flooring (I avoid carpeted hotel rooms), and I lived the shower … really interesting set up. It was also very quiet and the location was perfect. And what an asset to have the Trailside Cafe -the renowned venue for some of the best Canadian talent.

The other bonus was the price … well below the other hotels on the city during a very busy period.

Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brianna Allen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Voyage695568 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is so great to here you loved your stay with us ! We hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie S wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a wonderful stay at Art Hotel! The front desk staff are absolutely incredible! Special thank you to Kendera for booking me a room last minute (I had a misleading booking at another place and was panicked to find a room) and the blonde woman (afternoon sept 19) who easily extended my stay for an extra night at the last minute. I was not worried about not having a tv and was offered the use of a hairdryer when I checked in. The room was exceptionally clean and the bathroom was pristine. Comfortable bed and blackout curtains really made my rest perfect. I ate at the Dali cafe located in the hotel and the staff were friendly and the food was delicious. Parking was a breeze in the paid lot, only cost $8,75 per day and the attendant Chris was a gem. Location was so perfect I didn’t drive once. I will not look further than the Art Hotel when booking future visits to the island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Hi Natalie, thank you for taking a minute to leave us a beautiful and kind review regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you LOVED your experience with us and that we have become your new home whenever you are on the island. Our amazing front desk team is always happy to help our guest with any requests they may have. My thanks goes to you, I have never had a guest buy me Cows ice cream before... you made my day! We hope to see you again Natalie, you are very kind!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary G wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Arts Hotel in PEI multiple times now and though I was apprehensive the first time as reviews talked about noise and the "busy" location, I was totally impressed on the first night. There is an event space on the main level and that, to me, is a bonus as I have enjoyed a few shows. The shows usually end around 10:30/11. Also, on the main level, there is a cafe (if I had a complaint, it would be that the cafe isn't open until late morning but being downtown PEI there are many restaurants that are phenomenal). The rooms are lovely and clean. I love the fact that they are uncluttered and not carpeted!
Now to get to the front desk personnel.......they are terrific and very helpful with suggestions. I was in a bind for my July stay (couldn't find a space due to a music festival) and Brianna worked with me over the period of a month and I cannot state enough how appreciative I am to her dedication to my needs. I have the feeling that this valuing commitment to the guests is prevalent with all the employees.
I have booked The Arts for my next few stays in PEI because I'm so very happy with all of it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at The Arts Hotel. We are happy to hear that you love our hotel and that it is now your hotel of choice when you are in PEI. We truly love helping our guest plan their activities throughout their stay! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janmac0 wrote a review Jun 2022
Dunbar, United Kingdom4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Brilliant location for access to shops and restaurants with the confederation of the arts centre and harbour area only a short walk away. Loved the room - simply furnished but good size and very comfortable bed. Ensuite had a great shower with toiletries provided (body wash, shampoo and conditioner, tissues) plus ample soft white towels. Staff friendly, polite and helpful. Good and prompt communication when I contacted them to advise that I had missed my connection and would miss my first night stay,

Would have liked to have a hairdryer plus a kettle with coffee and tea. Suspect some guests may prefer to have a tv but this was not an issue for me and it does say so in the booking info that there are no tv's.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello Janmac0, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our minimalist hotel, friendly staff and the location of the hotel! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VMMF wrote a review Aug 2021
Bathurst, Canada48 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I really love the philosophy of this hotel. They know you are in town for the city not for the hotel itself. No point in charging a high bill by including things that most likely you will not be using. We didn't have breakfast included and our room didn't have an iron, microwave, fridge, hair dryer, phone or TV. But we didn't care. We were there only to sleep and take a shower. The double shower technology is wonderful and WiFi Internet speed is also good. The piano show Saturday evening is great. The only thing we missed was having a reserved parking spot close to downtown. I feel this could be coordinated with the parking lot in the corner of the block where the hotel is located and offered as an extra if guests wanted to. Also the shower doesn't have a door and you end up spilling a lot of water outside, which you need to dry with towels. A small sliding door could be installed. Finally, the bathroom doesn't have a fan to extract water vapor and odors. I feel that in small rooms like the ones in this hotel this is a must.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emilie C, Guest Services / Front Office at The Arts Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hi Victor, thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at the Arts Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the concept of our hotel, it is meant for travelers who are looking for a comfortable bed and a clean space to shower! I truly believe this encourages our guests to explore our beautiful city! Thank you for your suggestions, I will pass this along to management. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlottetown area.
PRICE RANGE
S$142 - S$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCharlottetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ARTS HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 36 Photos (Charlottetown, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Arts Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Arts Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Confederation Centre of the Arts (0.2 km), St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.09 km), and Anne & Gilbert, The Musical (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Arts Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Arts Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Arts Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Arts Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Arts Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truckin' Roll Ice Cream, Claddagh Oyster House, and Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant.
Is The Arts Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Charlottetown.
Are pets allowed at The Arts Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Arts Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.09 km), Beaconsfield Historic House (0.7 km), and Port-la-Joye - Fort Amherst (4.6 km).
Does The Arts Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Arts Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Charlottetown HotelsCharlottetown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CharlottetownHotels near The Arts Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire