We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel on Pownal

Save
Share
146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/22
Priceline
Booking.comUS$99
FindHotelUS$109
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (3)

About

#9 of 27 hotels in Charlottetown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly renovated Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
459Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 157
  • 55
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lee P wrote a review Sep 2021
Burlington, Canada153 contributions75 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights at the beginning of September. The little touches here were what really impressed us. The complimentary bikes, the conversation areas outside with propane fire pits, the attentiveness of the staff to name but a few things. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately I misplaced my wallet before we checked out and the staff helped out by trying to contact the restaurant I ate at the night before and even attempted to call the restaurant manager at home. Way above and beyond. Turns out I left it in the bed somehow. They then were kind enough to courier it back to me. I cannot say enough about how great the experience at this location was. I will definitely recommend this to all my friends when they want to visit Charlottetown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Hello Lee P, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We understand you have many options to choose in Charlottetown we appreciate you chose us! I am also so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with a happy ending that you and your wallet were reunited. We look forward welcoming you back again with us soon. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Dr. Procter wrote a review Sep 2021
Brantford, Canada64 contributions35 helpful votes
The location of this place - in the heart of Charlottetown - is fantastic. The staff are wonderful - so friendly and helpful. The noise from the room above is unbearable. If you stay here, be sure to request a room on the top floor - unless of course you enjoy hearing a cacophony of noise above you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Insist on a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Hi DoctorProcter, Thank you so much for choosing The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a review. We are sorry to hear you experienced noise in your room which we hope to rectify this for you in the future. We take pride in recognizing and acknowledging individual's experiences which we hope to have you back with us in the future. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Laura wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Incredible experience, front desk was very lovely., the room tv was turned on and set to a music channel for when we walked in, so welcoming! Wonderfully clean and air conditioned room. My partner and I are for sure going to stay here again when we come back to PEI!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded 11 Oct 2021
HI K5461NZlauraf, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We are so happy to read you had a wonderful experience which we hope to have you back with us again in the future. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
nameleftblank wrote a review Aug 2021
Montreal, Canada38 contributions18 helpful votes
Two nights with small family in double room. Nicely renovated and equipped. Location in downtown Charlottetown is great. Breakfast is complementary but hobbled by COVID measures. Welcome cookies and happy hour are a very nice touch. Plenty of parking. Five stars for the service, but 1 star for the beds.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded 11 Oct 2021
HI nameleftblank, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your bed. We take pride in purchasing the highest quality beds we can receive which we hope to have you back with us to try them again. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
James M wrote a review Jul 2021
25 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed at this beautiful hotel this week and, wow, what a gem. Great location, beautiful rooms, magnificent beer and wine selection and incredible service. Joee and Anastasia were truly delightful and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay and trip was a successful one. Will definitely be back and thank you Joee and Anastasia. You are awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded 11 Oct 2021
HI jamesmH7543LG, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We appreciate you stay with us out of all the selections in Charlottetown as well as recognizing our Front Desk staff. We look forward welcoming you back again soon. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the islander guestrooms hotel
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCharlottetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel on Pownal
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Nearby attractions include Confederation Centre of the Arts (0.2 km), St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.3 km), and Anne and Gilbert (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel on Pownal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truckin' Roll Ice Cream, Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant, and Claddagh Oyster House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel on Pownal?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Hotel on Pownal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Charlottetown.
Does The Hotel on Pownal offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hotel on Pownal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.3 km), Beaconsfield Historic House (0.4 km), and Port-la-Joye - Fort Amherst (4.4 km).