We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI Montreal Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI Montreal Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Start your review of HI Montreal Hostel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't get to party there as much as we would have liked (jet lag/Unwell) but the people at the hostel were great! Really helpful and the overall atmosphere felt like everyone was up for a good time! Location was good, easy walk into central locations & Mont Royale etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattDsnooza
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review. Please make sure to come back soon to fully experience the festive atmosphere of the bistro at night. Nicolas, GM

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hostel itself was really nice, clean and cheerful with an ensuite bathroom in the room I stayed in. Unfortunately it was a bit far away from everything I wanted to see in Montreal. Other than that- great breakfast and super nice staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ameliagrace94
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for the feedback. On behalf of all the team: MERCI! :) Nicolas, GM

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is a very nice budget place to stay in Montreal. They offer good breakfast, clean rooms and the location is perfect - 100 m from the subway and 2 blocks from the main street (Saint-Catherine Road). Nice and kind staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LUIS_PAULO_RIBEIRO
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Beautiful! I hope that you had a great time and fully enjoyed our beloved city of Montréal as well as the hostel! Happy Travels, Nic, hoste;l manager

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Booked a bed for my little sister last night at HI hostel since she wast stuck DT because of the huge snowstorm. When my sister arrived they told her sorry they can't give her the bed even though she already paid and it was confirmed because they wanted to save it for foreigners.... It was 10pm at night and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikey E
Noyb
Reviewed 4 March 2017

If you are traveling alone, this is a good option. If you are a couple or family, Montreal offers much better choices for equal money. I highly recommend an auberge (B&B) instead. The location is very convenient to the Metro and Bell Centre, where I attended a show. Overnight parking is available in a garage next to the Bell Centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atwhit
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the extensive review. True that there is an abundance of types of accommodation in Montréal, so everyone ought to find the perfect spot to fulfill their needs. As for us, a backpacker hostel, operated by backpackers, and for backpackers, I believe that all backpack travellers will fully enjoy their stay with us! Happy Travels, Nic,...

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Friendly staff. Clean, cheap, and excellent service. Well organized. Great continental breakfast. Good for travellers on budget, HI Montreal got a lot of events and they will help you explore Montreal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

WOW... So nice to hear! Many thanks for the review! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

Vancouver
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Clean, modern, ( slightly squeaky bunkbeds so you wake your bunk neighbor, but this seems to be more of a standard with ALL hostels.) Kitchen and small "pub" in the basement, and vending machines, ( though I wish they'd labelled that a little more apparent, they were off in a corner easily missed). I was only there one night so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
AubergeHIMTL, Responsable de la réception at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Bonjour Tania, Thank you very much for taking the time to share feed back on your stay at our hostel. We like to have the friendliest & most helpfull staff ever on board! I will make sure to have a little talk with the front desk team. See you next time, Cheers, Gabrielle, Assistant Manager @HI-Montréal

Reviewed 10 January 2017

The staff are lovely. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. Each room comes with an ensuite bathroom which is a nice touch, meaning you don't have to remember your key if you need the bathroom in the middle of the night. The free breakfast is great and the kitchen is large and well equipped for cooking all of your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Wow... This is music to our ears! Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The best hotel I've stayed so far. The staff are friendly and helpful. Everything is well-organised. The kitchen is large and the breakfast is healthy with fruits. It's near the centre of Montreal in just a few walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanguyen2
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks you so much for those sweet words. It’s great to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. Come back to visit soon! :) Nic, hostel manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Hostels are great when you’re just in town for one night and don’t need more than a bed to sleep on and maybe breakfast to get you going. The Montreal location is just a 15 minute walk from the VIA station, so easy to get to since I was taking the train from Ottawa. I was checking in on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don_G_Wright
AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Indeed, we believe we have a nice selection of local beers. Max, who is in charge of the hostel's bistro/bar is very knowledgeable about beers as he brews beer for himself. Come and ask for him so he can recommend the best option for your tastes! Santé! Nic, hostel manager

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Four Bed Dorm (30)
Viewed
One Double Private Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bed Dorm (26)
Viewed
Two Single Private Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
1,409 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 163 in Montreal
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
1,303 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#44 of 163 in Montreal
1,574 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 94 in Montreal
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HI-Montreal Youth Hostel is dedicated to making you discover the best of the city! We’re not only centrally located in downtown Montreal, close to Irish pubs, supermarkets, microbreweries, restaurants, a pool hall and even an all-you-can-eat Indian buffet, but we also organize several daily activities, such as pubcrawls, urban walks, skating and much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI Montreal Hostel

Address: 1030 Mackay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $29 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Montreal Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your HI Montreal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Montreal Hotel Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI Montreal Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from HI Montreal Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor and away from the stairs”
LUIS_PAULO_RIBEIRO, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best rates, accessibility, enjoyable”
W7307YMjayg, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms seem good.”
64taniam, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had room 103, it was quiet even though it was on the 1st floor.”
Y2995XEsusank, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quality price is very high”
  • Room for 2 people
Samiab1, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5