We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Show Prices
#16 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,906 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,492: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

Excellent value. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. No complaints. We stayed two nights and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Even room service arrived quickly. Close to Westmount, it's a classy hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AAG007
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed at the Sofitel Montreal between Christmas and New Year. Our time there could not have been better. Everything was wonderful, from our room to spacious bathroom. The quality of service was seriously impressive. But the absolute highlight was the restaurant. We both eat out regularly and we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food and wine. In fact, we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CL M
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review

Dear CL M, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

Four nights over the New Years weekend were perfect. The hotel staff in every department were polite, cheerful and top noch. Our room on the 9th FL was spacious and clean. We ate breakfast in the Renoir restaurant and found the menu quite delicious with a lot of variety. The restaurant staff were professional and welcoming. I rarely find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RFBoston
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review

Dear RFBoston, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the team at Renoir friendly and welcoming. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 January 2015

I had heard so much about the Sofitel but it was disappointing. The rooms were very basic (at least the ones I received - I booked two) but clean. The staff was polite but it had a cold feeling to the hotel overall. Great location though if you're looking for downtown montreal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopdoc
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review

Dear Hopdoc, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues you mentioned to ensure that our...

Reviewed 24 December 2014

I really struggle to fault the hotel. Yes it is not cheap but it is a quality hotel. The service was excellent and both room service dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were excellent - make sure you have the pancakes :) The location is great as we were able to walk to the main shopping strip and the taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pad00
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Outstanding service and very polite staff. You get what you expect from a Sofitel. Only minus: I don't like the staff entering the room without permission. But that's usually what they do. They also called us to tell us, that we left an adapter in the room. We were able to pick it up later. Great staff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mipanko63
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 December 2014

As a frequent traveler, a bit of customer appreciation sure goes a long way! Nothing over the top is needed but a few thank yous and remembering my name go a long way. And a room with luxurious touches is helpful too! We stayed at the Sofitel for my 30th birthday while staying in Montreal. We had just spent some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben L
Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Very well located in downtown Montreal and easy acces with car. The personnel are polite and available. Excellent hospitality and clean rooms, good food. A bit pricy but is expected when staying in a high classy hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Help1450
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is an amazing hotel. I recommend it very strongly. Excellent service from all the staff: from the entry to the reception. Room are small for the price but very clean and the beds are very, very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie P
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review

Bonjour Nathalie P, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

Sydney, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2014

My girlfriend arrived in Montreal in Early September. It was at the end of a road trip that took us from Sydney Nova Scotia, though Cape Cod and Niagara on the Lake and back to Cape Breton. The hotel and its location are beautiful, we were in town to see a Broadway show and the location was close to restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CanadianCaper22

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
4:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Luxury King Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 162 in Montreal
1,278 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 162 in Montreal
909 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 162 in Montreal
1,362 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 162 in Montreal
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal
Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Price Range: $218 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Jetsetter and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in room 1208 facing the city. I didn't find noise to be a problem at all.”
 of 5 bubbles ehart100, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, even the most basic option provides you with a spacious, comfortable room”
 of 5 bubbles Peter20274, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Anything on the 17th floor has great views”
 of 5 bubbles 231JamesC, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are clean and spacious. ”
 of 5 bubbles lorid753, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms with view of city”
 of 5 bubbles Knxthree, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5