We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Clarendon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Clarendon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clarendon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 943: English reviews
Pickering, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel over New Years and stayed for 3 nights. The rate we got was amazing - so we were a bit skeptical at first, as we thought it may be "too good to be true" .... however this hotel experience did NOT disappoint. We visited Quebec 2 years ago around the same time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley D
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will forward your praises to the employees who will be thrilled. We are also looking forward to greet you again at the Hotel Clarendon.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights right after Christmas. You can't beat their location. The hotel itself is very nice and quiet. We didn't use the hotel's restaurants but they looked inviting. The lobby area is very quaint. Our room was comfortable and clean. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were enjoying the beauty of Quebec...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sh3237
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will also be pleased to welcome you at our hotel in the future. Kind regards

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great location and value for your money. Parking is underground. Enjoyed the view from our room. This is an old hotel but is very well maintained. It's full of old world character. It's like being transported back in time. Staff area friendly too. Overall great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101Ruby
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Clarendon, and hope to see you again soon, and make sure to try our restaurant Le Charles Baillargé!

London, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Pros: - Right in the heart of Old Quebec - Old, charming building - Beautiful lobby, restaurant and bar - Staff is helpful Cons: - Small rooms - hard mattresses - aging rooms need renovating Choose this hotel if: - you want to be right in the center of Old Quebec - you'd like a charming old building Other tips:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBlains
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you liked your stay at the Hotel Clarendon. Concerning the size of the rooms, we have different room sizes in order to please all types of guest. If you need a place right in the center of Old Quebec only to sleep, then the small...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Clarendon. The location could not be better, right in the heart of the old city. The hotel itself is charming - authentic feeling without being kitschy. My room was not luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable (about what I expected for an old hotel). I also really enjoyed the buffet brunch they offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanW329
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Clarendon. Concerning the breakfast at the Restaurant Charles Baillargé, we offer good deals for it if you plan ahead to eat there. Make sure to ask our employees next time you book with us. We will gladly tell you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Location is perfect: right in the middle of everything you want to visit. Room and service were A1. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit beautiful Québec city. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julielesyeuxbleus
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Clarendon. Thank you for your good comment about the staff, be assured I have communicated the message to them. Have you also tried our delicious menu at the Restaurant Charles Baillargé? Make sure to do so for your...

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is in the prime location, in the heart of the city and is a fantastic heritage hotel. The decor of the lobby is grand and takes you to the bygone era. Strategic Location, freindly staff,clean and tidy rooms are perfect for your stay in the charming old city. The VIA Railway station is about 15 min walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reena M
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is very much appreciated. I have transmitted your comments to the Clarendon staff, and they were very pleased to know that we reach our goal of ensuring that our guests have a great experience when staying at our hotel. Make sure to personally contact me for your...

Smithfield, Virginia
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent location and quiet place. Old but well maintained and one of the cleanest places I have stayed lately. Free and fast wi-fi. They charge $25 for valet parking in the underground garage across the street. For $16 you can park yourself in a space of your choice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EDUARDO H
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the parking, the price difference is indeed for the valet service, which is in order to save you the trouble of driving around in the one ways which can be sometimes be confusing. Our price also covers unlimited...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2013

One month ago, I made a phone reservation specifically asking for a Superior corner room with a King bed that oversees the Desjardins and St-Anne street like the one in the picture they advertise on their web site. The room was confirmed and the lady on the phone even told me all superior rooms are on the corner of every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leo041
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your last stay. I would like to explain the Superior rooms location, we do have Superior room on every floor at the corner of Des Jardins and Ste-Anne. The room that was first offered to you was indeed a corner front room (finishing by 09) on the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip. Hotel is in an amazing location right in the heart of Old Quebec, within walking distance to everything. We took the VIA train and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station. No problems at all with the hotel. Room was clean and comfy, although on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rob_Toronto88
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the desks in the rooms, the executive or superior all have one, as some of the regular ones. Make sure to ask for one next time you come stay with us.

385 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (67)
Viewed
Executive King Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
1,296 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
993 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 104 in Quebec City
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 104 in Quebec City
1,151 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 104 in Quebec City
1,570 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 104 in Quebec City
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $131 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Clarendon staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Gilbert, Arizona
7 months ago

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Clarendon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 3rd floor and found it very quiet with a fairly good view of the Frontenac Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles derickmcquarrie, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the St. Lawrence... or an east facing view!”
 of 5 bubbles 25jeffm, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms by the ice machine :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 935madeleinel, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors on the street side have nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles brenda698, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade! It's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles 0318Bear, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay