We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Champlain Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Champlain Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,222: English reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

This boutique hotel just needs an attitude adjustment. It is perfectly situated in the heart of old Quebec. Lovely rooms. Just remember to book your parking spot well before you arrive, as the booking services will not emphasize this point enough. Did not like the snobbish greeting at front desk either.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ingrid G
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We love Quebec City and this time we wanted to spend a couple of nights right in the Old City. We got a very large, well equipped room with an excellent view. Fast valet parking service, fast internet access and a complete breakfast. You don't have a coffe machine in the room, but you have access when you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pibba
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Pibba, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Champlain for your previous stay in Quebec city. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and I will pass the good words to my front desk colleague with pleasure. As mentioned, our espresso coffee machine that is available 24h in the lobby is one of our biggest...

Minster, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2015

For me, this is the way to enjoy this city. The hotel is located near the heart of the old city, a quick walk to all the attractions. We parked our car upon arrivial and did not need it until we left, four nights later. Hotel provided a very clean, large room with a great view. Also, a great breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rohrone
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour rohrone, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us! Even if we are in the middle of the Old Quebec, we are offering a quiet and relaxing hotel for our guest! Our...

Secaucus, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We spent two nights in this nice hotel and really enjoyed our stay here. The location is very convenient-major attractions are within walking distance and there are many nice restaurants just steps away. Our superior room has a wonderful view of the chateau. What else can you ask for? The staffs are all very kind and helpful. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Min P
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Min P, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your previous stay with us. Our unique breakfast environment makes our guests feels like home and everybody can enjoy themselves with our large breakfast variety and our 24h self-serve Espresso machine in the lobby! Our rooms are very spacious and we are able to accommodate single...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and sister for a week. It's a great little hotel within walking distance of many places. We stayed in a suite with a king size bed and a full size pull out bed. The pull out wasn't comfortable, but other than that we enjoyed the suite. The free breakfast wasn't great, so we ended...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meagan Y
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Meagan Y, Merci! for choosing the Hotel Champlain for your previous stay in Quebec city. We strive everyday to ensure that our guests fully enjoy their stay with us and we definitely reach that point, reading your comments on our suite and our well-renowned espresso machine. You will be pleased to learn that we have proceed with a change...

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed here recently with our small dog. We arrived on a weekday night at 10 pm with a prearranged reservation. The hotel had sent us a welcoming e-mail, which I did not read, which advised us to reserve a parking space in the hotel. Unfortunately, I did not respond, but fortunately they saved one for us. When we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esj59
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour esj59, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. As you have mentioned it, we are offering on-site parking; one of the only hotel in the Old Quebec with this unique feature!...

Pittsburgh, Pa.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was spotlessly clean! We had 2 queen beds that overlooked the ursaline gardens and Hotel Frontanac. The staff were so courteous, and helpful. They spoke English very well. I had learned a few French words from my French speaking daughters, but truly did not need to use them in the hotel. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeriBeri
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour TeriBeri, Wow! Your comments regarding your entire stay with us makes me proud of our Hotel! We strive everyday to ensure that our guests fully enjoy their stay with us and we definitely reach that point, reading your amazing comments on our incredible staff. And our location is the best part as you can visit Quebec city by foot...

Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Centrally located in heart of Old Quebec. Room was adequate but would not recommend getting 'standard' room. View out window is of brick building next door. Front desk service was excellent. Access to hotel was easy and hotel is centrally located close to shopping and museums..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mantasatnite
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mantasatnite, Thank you for your comments on your previous stay with us at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us! It is always our pleasure to satisfy our guest expectation. With a quick phone call, our professional front desk staff would have been able to accommodate you with the best room...

Buffalo, NY
Reviewed 25 June 2015

the rooms at Hotel Champlain are modern, very clean and a standard room is quite small. Expensive, without any of the amenities that we are used to in most American Hotels. The free breakfast was sparse but the espresso capacinno maker was a great treat. The hotel is best suited for couples or singles

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoliBuffalo_NY
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LoliBuffalo_NY I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay at Hôtel Champlain. Be assured that we strive every day to provide our guests with the best possible service, comfort and convenience. As mentioned upon reservation on our website, only our Standard rooms have no view of the Old...

Reviewed 24 June 2015

We started staying at the Champlain a few years ago when our favorite Auberge raised their prices and we have been very happy with the switch. The Champlain is located in the heart of old Quebec within easy walking distance of all our favorite museums, landmarks, stores and restaurants. The rooms are clean, large and well appointed and the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mooseonly
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Mooseonly, Wow! I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. I am pleased to read that you had such a great stay with us! As you have mentioned, we are situated in the heart of Old Quebec, near all majors sites! Our self-parking is one-in-a-kind in...

714 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (408)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
3,907 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,050 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
1,343 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,454 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loft is perfect for a family of 3-4. May be 5th on the sofa?”
 of 5 bubbles novascotiagirl44, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nice large rooms with a 70-80s flair . Very well Kept up ”
 of 5 bubbles 406barryc, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Loved the coffee in the lobby and especially the wine machine! ”
 of 5 bubbles 477ellenk, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have fireplaces. ”
 of 5 bubbles annahG2884BF, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Kitchen suite with a view is our favorite (46)”
  • Nightfall view from room 46
 of 5 bubbles Tellurian, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5