We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Expedia.comUS$59*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Saskatoon Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Saskatoon Thriftlodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Not sure what's going on but this place is now on a steady decline. I first started staying here with work. Things were great. Fast forward to a year later and things are not being cared for. Rooms are gettin cleaned and the bathrooms? Well. They need to be renovated along with everything else. Proper manifolding of the hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent H
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Working on getting the bathrooms renovated and wish everything could be done overnight. Working on getting rooms repainted, replaced 25 rooms of flooring this year, finished redoing all windows last year, installed a new commercial laundry room(2 industrial washers/2 industrial dryers), Brand new commercial boiler, a new complimentary guest laundry area, renovated the breakfast room this...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This is a very loud hotel. The freeway is humming until after midnight, not good. Walls are very thin, we were kept up by guests talking quietly and laughing in neighbouring rooms and people wandering, smoking, on cell phones outside our door. Stayed here to fly out early and hoped for 4 hours sleep, might have got 1. There has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaskTraveller5
Dauphin, Canada
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here while travelling to Manitoba. It was an ok room, comfy bed and nice sitting area. They allow pets. The lady who took my reservation was horribly rude. In fact I said I would call hee back as I had no intentions of staying there after speaking to her. I couldn't find another hotel as a function was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Prices in Saskatoon flucuate. Be careful with online websites that advertise rates as they purposely will post lower rates for future dates but not the dates you are choosing, they will also not let you cancel, make you prepay and make there money doing all these things. My advise is book as far in advance...

Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

I have no idea where my previous review went and really wasn't too concerned about it until I read the managers response to my boyfriends review of Saskatoon Thriftlodge. Our stay was the worst we have experienced in hotel/motel. When we complained about our stay we were offered a whole 25.00 refund, did not find that to be acceptable. That...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine M
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

I had to laugh when I saw this as you and your boyfriend have now posted 3 horrible reviews here. I do wish you move on and spend your time on positive matters. Enjoy the rest of your Summer in Regina.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

You know this place sucks when they don't allow reviews on their page. They never left towels, they stole fruit and beer from us. Travis can say what he wants how the staff didn't but the Saturday night before, we noticed our beer seemed a little lite so we made note of it when we left Sunday to our pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brad B
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your 2 reviews that you both left online and it is unfortunate that you feel the refund wasn't enough compensation for your stay. We understand that there is always 2 sides to every story and that we hope you had a pleasant time in Saskatoon for the rest of your Pool tournament you were attending. We...

Calgary
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Check in was good - friendly - the room not so much - Very tiny - the carpet needed a vaccuum - the bathroom had rust in it - the beds were old and tired - maybe more tired that we were after our stay. There was a piece of paper very close to the garbage and we left it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WnedyG
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the response on the friendly customer service. We have had great pride that our staff have been at front desk for many years and we have all enjoyed the friendly guests that we have. We apologize if we had missed some spots on the carpet. We always print off the reviews so our staff can improve on...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Check in was quick, room was so-so but clean so no complaints. There was continental breakfast available and the place was pet friendly which was a major bonus for me. Also easily accessible from the highway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnes S
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are becoming more pet friendly as we've taken carpets out of the main level and put in vinyl planks which are easier to clean, allergy and pet friendly and look a lot better. We look forward to hosting you again, In hospitality Travis

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2015

So our entry into the room thereafter the tv was not working and didnt know why so went downstairs and the front desk clerk came up and took care problem. Said people before they had a game console and had unplugged the connection for tv box to work but we couldnt tell that. The light in the corner the bulb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip f
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to pass on feedback(good and bad) to our valued associates who work hard to make your stay enjoyable while in our beautiful city. Some upcoming changes, new vinyl plank flooring on lower level to replace the carpet, new complimentary guest laundry service, new atm for guest...

Alberta
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Stayed here with my son for one night - I'm glad it was only for one - if it had been for more, I'd have left. The room didn't seem too bad when we checked in - on the surface everything seemed fine. It was in the morning that I noticed the following issues: -the bathtub had a ring of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rtch03
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback. Your concerns have not gone unnoticed. Standards of any property should consistently be raised and we have listened. It's only without comments from our guests that it helps us understand your needs. We have made some great changes to directly target your concerns and I would feel the same if I was in your shoes....

St. Albert, Alberta
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed for one night on our way through Saskatoon on a road trip. This property is located on a main highway through town, and is easy to find. Not much for ambiance or beauty, but it is serviceable and was well-priced. We had a room with a double bed and sofa bed. There was a wall between the sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank champagnegirl62
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to pass on feedback(good and bad) to our valued associates who work hard to make your stay enjoyable while in our beautiful city. Some upcoming changes, new vinyl plank flooring on lower level to replace the carpet, new complimentary guest laundry service, new atm for guest...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
3.1 km away
Super 8 Saskatoon Near Downtown
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
244 reviews
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#5 of 39 in Saskatoon
687 reviews
1.4 km away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#16 of 39 in Saskatoon
126 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 39 in Saskatoon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ensuring that our service exceeds your expectations we provide an affordable, comfortable and pratical place to stay while in Saskatoon. We have 56 guestrooms conveniently located close to the airport and many popular restaurants/amenities. Less Fuss, More Value. Amenities include free parking, free wireless internet, Continental Breakfast, Business Centre, Suites available, Fridges/microwaves available, and Long Term Rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Address: 1825 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B6, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Price Range: $85 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saskatoon Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saskatoon Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Thrift Lodge
Saskatoon Thriftlodge Saskatchewan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saskatoon Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor, you won't hear the noise above you ( flushing toilet etc.)”
R4711JYandyd, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quietest room, though I think all are loud”
SaskTraveller5, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“I cannot help you - sorry - but help the hotel buy a vaccuum - leave your spare change.”
WnedyG, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“For four people, don't book a "single" or a room with a sofa bed. Rooms on the second floor may be a little quieter in the mornings.”
champagnegirl62, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Park carefully - lots of vehicles in a cramped parking area.”
MetisProud, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$59
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates