We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Winterberg Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolseley
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Winterberg Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Wolseley, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are almost like family at this beautiful place. Terry the waiter is the BEST. Thank you Winterberg Mountain Inn for always making us feel at home. Please go visit this beautiful setting. When eating or sleeping over. Regards and lots of love Müller's Mooiplaas. XxX

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wena-Maré M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a trip to The Harvest Table Bistro at Winterberg Mountain Inn in Wolseley from Blouberg, and how pleasant our trip turned out to be! Owners Reint and Karien Grobler and their friendly staff make you feel right at home. We sat outside under the trees with Dixon’s Peak in the background and children playing with Knoffel, die labrador...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Engela K
Wolseley, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over at the Winterberg Inn with friends in the rooms above the restaurant. Magnificent views over the beautiful valley in clean, crisp rooms with all the neccesary facilities to make our stay comfortable. Highly recommended if you are looking for comfort, good food and a beautiful view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandre M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We decided on The Winterberg Lodge as it was across the road from my nieces wedding venue, Olive Rock. We paid to reserve all of the rooms as our family was coming from all over the world for this event - this was told to Karein. We were asked to pay a 50% non-refundable deposit, 11 months in advance. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Thanks a million Reint and Karien for your kindness, hospitality and your always friendly reception. While all the rooms that we used to stay in at previous occasions were fully booked, you recommended that we overnight in the upper room. What an excellent surprise! After a very hot day, a lovely cool room awaited us with the aircon already on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenaterblanche
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We planned a 2 night stay here to attend a wedding - and can honestly say I have never stayed in such a dirty and run down establishment. Everything was so grubby - which is unacceptable. Old is one thing dirty is another. The air conditioner in our room did not work and the bathroom was very inadequate and dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annied532
Reint G, Owner at Winterberg Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Annie You are a prime example why rewiews on sites like shouldn't be taken seriously because they give a voice to certain people who should rather never have a voice. A 1 out of 5 rating is always seen as vindictave rather than constructive critisism. As mentioned, we were in the middle of a heat wave. Not only was...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Bad attitude and lack of service. Arrived 4.20 and would not serve any food at all .not even pizza or a starter . Dissatisfaction and disappointed. Will not be back should have listen to the advice at wine farms . Done and dusted with this one

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S5176XLmariad
Reint G, Owner at Winterberg Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Just-a-Number Thanks for your very warped take on the situation. You were politely informed by our head waiter that the kitchen was already closed (yes, it often happens at restaurants don't serve lunch until sunset). Would be interesting to hear which wine farm bad-mouthed us ... seeing that almost all in the area are closed during the festive season....

Reviewed 25 December 2016

Popped in for breakfast heading for Ceres and just loved the calm and welcoming atmosphere. Lovely garden and pool, great for little ones. Food great and views amazing. One of the few good old South African hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

stayed there for two days when we went to a wedding at Olive Rock this weekend. Beautiful old vintage music plays in the background which takes you back in time. Their breakfasts are outstanding as well. The place is run by stunning owner Karien and all her staff really go the extra mile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg F
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Whilst I disnt stay at the hotel many of our wedding guests did. I joined them for breakfast on one day and lunch on the next. Whilst seemingingly quite rustic and basic, my friends said the bedrooms were more than adequate and well kept. My first hand experience of the restaurant/bistro is that the food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Themi V

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolseley
3.1 km away
Fynbos Guest Farm
Fynbos Guest Farm
#1 of 6 in Wolseley
66 reviews
13.2 km away
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Breede River
99 reviews
14.9 km away
The Witzenberg Country Inn
The Witzenberg Country Inn
#14 of 18 in Tulbagh
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Guinevere Guest Farm
Guinevere Guest Farm
#8 of 19 in Tulbagh
50 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"And forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the wind long to play with your hair" - Kahlil Gibran At the Winterberg Mountain Inn we invite you to come and feel the delight of bare feet on rich mountain soil, of a light breeze in your hair... Nestled between fruit orchards, majestic mountains and the meandering, life-giving Breede River, you'll find tranquillity in our piece of heaven. Whether you make use of our cosy and private rooms, restaurant offering locally produced ingredients, wine bar or conference facilities, we welcome you to this dream of ours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winterberg Mountain Inn

Address: R 43 White Street, Wolseley, Witzenberg Municipality 6830, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Wolseley
Price Range: $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Winterberg Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose either of the two inside rooms. Shared dismal bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinewF6181FF, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“none of the rooms are nice - i would find somewhere else to stay”
 of 5 bubbles annied532, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a chalet outside”
 of 5 bubbles EMRA1201, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any of the garden units.”
 of 5 bubbles HelgL, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“rooms access directly from lovely gardens nestled beneath mountains. Good restaurant to sample local cuisine. Good breakfast too.”
 of 5 bubbles maryjane1947, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5