We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Globe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Globe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Globe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We chose this hotel originally as it was one of the only ones, where we could bring our elderly blind labrador. But we were amazed the rooms were lovely, with a beautiful on suite bathroom. The service was friendly and professional. The town was charming. The meals in the hotel were excellent with a good choice of dishes on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiR63
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

We remember your Labrador well as we have one ourselves! Thank you for your very positive review and we sincerely hope that you will stay again in the near future.

Exeter, Devon
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Another visit to The Globe with family for lunch. My partner went for one of the specials - turkey, stuffing & mushroom pie with mash & peas - best pie he has ever had! Lovely presentation. Was told it would be about 20 mins but it didn't feel that long. Good service as always.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya C
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for such an amazing review. So glad your partner enjoyed the pie and that the service is consistent. Hope to see you again soon.

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

My granddaughter was 16 yesterday and a party of 7 of us went to the Globe for Sunday lunch. 5 family and 2 friends. I had heard such great reports of the food but must say I was disappointed. I started with a very good Oxtail soup with dumplings and followed with traditional Roast Beef. Unfortunately the beef was grossly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_George1
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we have discussed with our head chef. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your roast beef. The beef is carved from a large joint so sometimes it is difficult to cater for all tastes. We do hope that this will not deter you from a visiting us again as we do...

Exeter
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We visited the globe on a Friday evening. I have been to the globe for drinks before but have never eaten. It was recommended to me so thought I would give it a try. The Globe was very busy when we arrived which is usually a good sign. The food was good as reasonably priced, I had the pork cheek...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eatexe
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that you had to wait for your drinks. We will of course discuss your feedback with our head chef regarding the portion sizes. We sincerely hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

A very nice meal with the family. Two of us had the mussels as a starter which were excellent. They would have been a fair main course as well . However as it was 3 out of 4 of our party had the pork belly as a mains which despite being a rather small portion was a good choice. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beefing
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

So glad to read that you enjoyed your meals when you visited with your family and that you would consider returning next time you are in Topsham. Many thanks for your review. Look forward to your next visit.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Popped in for a pint and a coffee, great atmosphere, warm fire , newspapers, very comfortable could have stayed longer. The staff are friendly and professional- would return this time for a meal , menu looks good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Woodybay
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased to read that you would like to return for a meal. We serve the same menus in all areas of the pub. If you prefer a restaurant table then we advise booking in advance. We shall look forward to that visit very soon we hope.

shaldon
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I reviewed this pub a few years ago and am pleased to say that it is still an excellent place to eat. My husband and I arrived without a booking for Sunday lunch but we were able to find a table in the bar by a nice log fire. Because they were very busy we were expecting to have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jane b
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so pleasing to read that you thought the standard was very high and the service excellent. We will ensure the team are aware of your kind comments and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We were very impressed by this very well run establishment. The room on the balcony overlooking the courtyard was very comfortable, roomy and had a great walk-in shower as requested,which suited me as I had recently had a replacement hip. The food at breakfast and in the evening was very good indeed, but the most impressive thing about our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Globe and our team. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Reviewed 26 January 2017

The evening meal was in the main dining room. We were welcomed by the main man who took orders for drinks The table was positioned with ample room and privacy The service was first class , attentive but not over the top We provided our own Birthday cake that was served appropriately at the right time. The menu was varied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russ T
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you all had a very good evening. There are three car parks very close by in Topsham. Next time you reserve a table we can advise you of the best place to park. We hope you will visit us again soon.

N.Ireland
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here mid january and really do hope to return. The Globe is a beautiful old coaching inn packed with atmosphere. Our room was above the restaurant in main building, it was so comfortable with good bathroom, tv, wifi, tea/coffee making. The bar is full of locals every evening and a really convivial spot. They are busy all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank retireeN.Ireland
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We enjoyed looking after you during your stay and sincerely hope that you will all come back again later in the year.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
6.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,523 reviews
6.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.8 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Price Range: $145 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Globe staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
herts
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Globe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room”
Cowdude, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms look to be of equal standard but need to negotiate steps to reach them all”
JANE251062, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are a few rooms in the pub the rest are outside with the doors leading onto a courtyard very nice..”
staustellpatlor, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Did not use as a hotel so cannot comment.”
annf104, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some bar noise for some rooms in main building, but bar closes promptly so no big problem if you enjoy pub style hospitality”
BobT797, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5