We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gateway Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harvie Heights
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We were traveling back home and wanted a place to stop for the night. We pulled into the Gateway as we seen they had a vacancy. We also had 2 large dogs. 😁 The owners checked us in right away and after paying a small pet fee we in our room. I was pleased at how clean and comfortable the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WinoandSidekick
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This is nice little place to stay it is really clean and the manager is ready nice I would go again anytime Bed and towels were very clean Nice view from the room window Also Canmore is a lovely place to visit close to Banff

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean-Paul M
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Room looked newly remodeled, clean and the kitchen was great. Grilling and eating in was a nice break from dinner out every night on vacation. The beds were very comfortable. Only downside was some road noise, but it also made for quick access back to Banff.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carl U
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Our experience here was good. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It is quite outdated as I felt as though I had walked into my grammas apartment in 1975. We were the only ones there so it was very quiet and the view is spectacular. The price is a little high for what you get but reasonable for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kheyyogi
Manageress-GWI, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Keyhwood: I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the use of the WIFI and Large TV. Our fire pit area was not quite up to snuff, but i am glad it worked out well for you both. I do hope we will see you both once again. Anne Cameron/Gateway Inn.

Reviewed 8 September 2014

I recently had the misfortune of staying at The Gateway Motor Inn. Right from the offset my impressions were not good. It is a run down property that clearly has had no financial input for a long time. The room I was staying in was absolutely disgusting. Everything was old, my sheets were dirty and there were no phones in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeff C
Manageress-GWI, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir: I am sorry that you had such a bad visit at The Gateway Inn in Sept. 2014. We are now under NEW Management as of March 01 2015. We do hope you will stop in for a visit again and see how things have changed. We will try our very best to make you feel comfortable and at...

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 days there and I absolutely loved it for my purposes it was perfect I absolutely love the light that comes into that place as well it's so easy to get into Canmore or Banff just like that right on the highway. The people that are looking after the hotel very nice and very accommodating. Rooms were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunburylimo
columbus0075, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in 2014!

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent a week at the Gateway. Nice family ran inn with clean, comfortable rooms at great value. Evening camp fires with roasted hot dogs at the fire pit were relaxing and fun. This was a great place to stay. We made day trips into the mountains and surrounding area and returned evenings to rest and recharge. Brian and Courtney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melodie K
columbus0075, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We work very hard to keep our guests happy and love when we meet new guests and are able to share our local secrets and knowledge of the area. Our evening fires around the fire pit give everyone an opportunity to share the experiences of the day and get to know each other. We...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owners were great to work with. The area had just been under flooded conditions (not at the hotel) in town. So there was a boil water area wide. They brought me lots of water, and a fan due to the way higher than normal temps. The room was very clean and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
columbus0075, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We're happy to see that although nature did not provide for much fun in our area at that time, you still had a good stay with us. We're always happy to show up with some bottles of water or a fan. We hope you can make it back now that most of our area is fixed and normal again. Thank...

lincoln, al
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room was clean and comfortable and the owners were very nice and accommodating. There are extras there such as a group fire pit and picnic tables. There are also cabins there. The views of the mountains were great and the prices were very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judybug888
columbus0075, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

I hope you were treated to one of our beautiful alpenglow sun rises. Thank you for staying with us.

Surrey England
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were on a holiday of a lifetime across Canada, had booked it all a year ago. We arrived at Gateway Inn around 19.00 hrs, as soon as we stopped the car knew this was a mistake.The photos on the web site are taken very cleverly and I think give a false illusion to the place. The busy/noisy dual carriageway...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank triggerSurreyEngland
columbus0075, Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had staying with us. We have taken over management at the Gateway Inn as of May 2013 and are working hard to correct issues that have been both brought to our attention and found through proactively looking for problems. We have created collections of new photos to ensure that nothing is...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvie Heights
3.8 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.2 km away
Inn of the Rockies
Inn of the Rockies
#17 of 29 in Canmore
69 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
5.9 km away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
3.4 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gateway Inn is now under NEW Management as of March 01 2015. The Gateway Inn is located in the spectacular beauty of the Canadian rocky mountains, less than 2 minutes from the east gate of Banff National Park and only 15 minutes east of the town of Banff. The Gateway Inn is conveniently located less than 5 minutes west of Canmore off the Trans Canada highway #1 at exit 83 for Harvey Heights. All rooms come with 32" flat screen TV with 30+ channels. Small fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker for coffee or tea. Our property 7 acre property features incredible views down the Bow Valley, plenty of space to roam, a playground for small children and a fire pit for that true Canadian outdoor experience. Picnic tables and benches for relaxing or reading. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 800 Harvie Heights Rd, Harvie Heights, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Harvie Heights
Price Range: $111 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Canmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles Jandeb, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles monti289, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second floor may have a slightly better view of the ridge line”
 of 5 bubbles Lu71t, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles Jean_PaulM183, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Have nothing to compare with, but our room was on the back and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles melodiek226, 18 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5