We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Expedia.comUS$77*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$77*
US$86*
US$77*
US$86*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I am not quite certain whether we were put in a particularly poor part of the hotel ( judging by the reviews below ) but in all fairness the whole experience was very disappointing . Lovely surroundings and sufficient parking but it all pretty much ended there fir us - very tired reception which doesn't appear to have been renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juc574
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

I am deeply saddened to read your review and sorry we did not meet your expectations. We take all comments on board and address where ever possible. The hotel was developed in 1990 and has undergone numerous renovations since, as has the cottage which was developed in 2000. The shower doors have been rectified they had jumped out of the...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here from Wednesday until today (1st October). Although the hotel is situate on a main road we did not hear any noise whatsoever from our hotel room. The hotel is lovely set within its own grounds. The lady on reception was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen j
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Good clean spacious room , so very friendly and attentive staff ,food and swimming pool excellent , I found the old Rectory to be cheaper and better than the other hotels I stayed in ,around Norfolk that week , We will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I booked this hotel for my 80 year old mother to have a four day break. She told me that everything about her stay was excellent. The staff were especially kind and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. She needed extra cushions for arthritis and after the first time requesting them to sit on at breakfast, somebody rushed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank painter100
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet and accommodate your mother, i know this was a big step for her. We look forward to seeing you soon.

rickmansworth
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a single night here at the last minute, and what a good chance choice it was. Staff great, location also very good, the room and bed were excellent. But best of all was the restaurant, we had the best meal we had had for a long time, all for pub prices. And a heated swimming pool to boot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevward796
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Really appreciate you taking the time to review and was great to meet you. pleased you enjoyed the restaurant. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 September 2016

We booked this hotel for a very last minute trip, staying one night. We received a warm welcome and the kids loved the pool. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very nice and served by friendly staff. The only downside was the noise from other rooms and guests during the night. however it only seemed to disturb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawnjlw
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Glad you and your family enjoyed short time with us. It has certainly been the summer for the pool this year!. Hope to see you again if you are this way again.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We've just returned from our friend's wedding. We had an amazing time. The food was lovely and the venue was ideal. The staff were friendly and made the bride and groom feel really supported. We finished off with a swim in the pool. It was really warm, despite the overcast weather. Would recommend for a wedding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2601
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and congratulations to the newly weds. It was a great day and fabulous atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The double room ensuite that I booked was nothing like I had expected from the photo on the website. We were shown to room 21 with a four poster double bed and a rather tired looking gloomy room. I did not feel well and did not complain but in retrospect I feel very disappointed in the hotel and would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajstevens0n
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, i can see you had cancelled, then re booked and modified the booking which changed from the super king bedroom to a standard. I am guessing this is the confusion relating to the room imagery. Please contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

SPALDING
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We choose this hotel because it has adjoining rooms which enable my wife and I to take our 3 grandchildren (11,10,7) and still have privacy. Both rooms have full facilities with bathrooms. The childrens' room has 3 single beds The hotel is convenient for Norwich, The Broads (Wroxham is close) and the coast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APOLLO1991
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you all again.

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Last weekend we took over the entire hotel for our son's wedding. The ceremony, decorations, reception, food and rooms were all faultless. The staff were all attentive, hard-working and keen to please. The owner, Ian, could not have been more helpful and the same is true of Becky, the wedding organiser. Outstanding in all regards. Thank you so much for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and what a pleasure it was to be part of the special day. Congratulations to the newly weds, hoping they are having a lovely honeymoon and best wishes for the future.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
7.3 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,088 reviews
3.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.3 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
14.1 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,421 reviews
3.9 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Price Range: $129 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from the function area”
V6800WKianb, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ROOMS to the rear are quiet.”
bigglesStrathaven, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to book rooms 2 to 5”
raysD3612BT, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the staff in advance”
painter100, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 not recommended”
ajstevens0n, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$77
TripAdvisorUS$77
PricelineUS$86
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates