We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craig-y-Nos Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Craig-y-Nos Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Craig-y-Nos Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,105: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Arriving at Craig Y Nos Castle considerably earlier than expected for a family wedding, we made our way to reception where we were surprised and delighted that a room would become available for us within the hour. We had expected the room to be available three or four hours later in the day, so this earlier availability was hugely appreciated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmbrighton
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great and comprehensive review – I am sure all the staff will be pleased to read such a review and that you enjoyed al the aspects of your stay. I am also sure that our Wedding Team and Kitchen staff will be happy to read of your enjoyment of the days events and also that...

Reviewed 14 July 2015

The castle looked nice from the outside and it was quite cool walking around in the castle, knowing that you're staying there. The room was very comfortable but a little cold. Think our heater was not working very well. The toilet was big and strangely had a view out into the carpark. Loved the information folder that gave us insights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne T
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sorry that you were unable to make the history tour, they take place daily from 10.30 – whenever you are back in the area feel free to drop by. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Craig Y Nos Castle – I can’t think which bathroom you had – but hope that it...

Reviewed 10 July 2015

My husband and I decided to take the dogs for a mid week break so we booked into this place as it was the first hotel that came up on Google when I typed in "dog friendly hotels". I can defiantly say we will be going back there. The building was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha M
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We try to ensure we are the first and hopefully number 1 choice for dog owners (and those without dogs looking for something special, and of course different) - so we are glad you chose to come to the Castle. We feel that a dog as part of the family should be valued just like...

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Excellent value. Beautiful location and accommodation. Food was good (here's where the 5th star is missing) as is was not the best value, though on reflection I might be being far too picky and I've add a the muddying star. This is my only 5 star review out of more than 100. Friendly staff etc. We will be visiting again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank f_jones_MON
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you or your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed and your comments regarding the food will of course be passed on to the staff. But to receive your only 5star is brilliant. We look forward to seeing you again M!chael

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Reading some of the reviews prior to this, I find them quite harsh. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May, and had our dog too. From the outside the castle is amazing, beautiful building and grounds, and yes inside is a bit tired looking and in need of repair. But if you take time to read the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine F
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review, it us appreciated to read that you found us to offer good food, polite and helpful staff not least to be dog friendly. Within the next few weeks we have new maintenance staff joining our team and we look to update parts of the Castle in due course. You are correct regarding our...

London
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The Victorian Gothic building is full of history. It had its good days and dark times too. It is quite interesting and beautiful place, with direct access to the Craig Y Nos Country Park. We celebrated our wedding at the castle last week, and the wedding coordinators were fantastic. My husband and I enjoyed every second of it. All of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patpinkpanther
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

The Victorian Gothic building is full of history. It had its good days and dark times too. It is quite interesting and beautiful place, with direct access to the Craig Y Nos Country Park. We celebrated our wedding at the castle last week, and the wedding coordinators were fantastic. My husband and I enjoyed every second of it. All of...

Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Booked a red letter day here for a 1 night stay with my girlfriend. Was very disappointed. The castle is in amazing setting and looks amazing but generally the castle could be looked after better. Tatty chairs in the bar area, dog beds left out, floors and deco looks very tired. 4 couples had dinner with 3 waitresses and barman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments recieved whilst I am abroad on holiday. I am sorry that you felt that your stay did not represent good value for moneymoney, although your booking for 1 day do work out to more on our 2 night midweek b n b package we feel that the rates charged for staying in a historic castle...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I had my so called dream wedding there on 7th June 2015. The castle and grounds were beautiful but unfortunately that was the only thing it had going for it. The Bridal ensuite shower/bath was cold (no hot water), and to top it off we had no towels. Top table had no butter, only 1 x portion of veg (between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire6922
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, which was recieved whilst u am abroad on holiday, we use guest comments to ensure that the level of service we offer is as good as it can be and also to ensure that any issues can be resolved not least that a medium such as this gives a balanced view and is fair accurate and...

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights stay and had a fantastic, relaxed break. My two boys (dogs) had a great time with plenty of walks and paddles in the river. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. All the staff here are friendly, happy, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They are of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bellkazza
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you and your "family" enjoyed and am sure that the staff will find your comments pleasing. Its great to note that you enjoyed the tour and the service given to you by our staff who look to help our customers as much as possible. I am happy to hear you...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We had such an enjoyable stay at the Castle. We were made very welcome by everyone. Our room was perfect with comfortable and roomy en suite. Our dog Ruby came with us and there were no restrictions (except dining room & tour of Castle) on her. She went everywhere with us. We felt there was freedom and no rules really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SUE S
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. I am glad that you found your stay enjoyable no doubt you and your dog will return and we hope that you receive the same great level of hospitality. I am sure that the staff especially our kitchens will enjoy reading your feedback. Best Wishes Michael

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (594)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (316)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
27.1 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
872 reviews
36.9 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
24.2 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Pentre Riding Stables
Pentre Riding Stables
#2 of 4 in Penycae
138 reviews
13.8 km away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Price Range: $240 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Craig-y-Nos Castle staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Craig-y-Nos Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They dont provide lunch but pleanty of local pubs and cafes around”
jillianashley, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one in the atrium. They are larger than the others.”
pilburyf, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms are quiet”
FrancescaKeogh, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would imagine all rooms had good views of the surrounding countryside and gardens.”
  • The grounds of the Country Park which run next to the hotel through a gate.
lizj99, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ground floor would have been easier with the dog, but A21 has an amazing roll top bath!”
amybC2061ZM, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5