We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Oak
 Click to rate
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent breakfast. 10 for dinner Monday night good food good service staff very efficient. Saw some comments about food and prices think they must have been somewhere else.. lived in area most of my life lots of places to visit within easy reach of hotel in. Bewl water Beckbury Bodiam castle rye hastings and more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebeard_12
Nikki_Podak, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thankyou for your glowing review. We can't make everyone happy all the time but I'm pleased you had a good stay with us! Thanks again

North East
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights. Staff friendly and food good but fairly pricey. Room clean and a good size. However, walls seemed to be paper thin and we could hardly sleep on first night (and not much better on second). TV on wall next door was next to bed in our room. Could hear every word, although people did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StrongTogether
Rotherham
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

On arrival the reception staff gave us a key for a double rather than the twin room I'd booked. Back to reception and was given a second key. This room had 2 beds as requested so went back to return the first key. "What about your other guest?' What other guest? 'Look, I'll show you - you have Mr. (whatever)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night while visiting friends. The pub itself is nice and the food is standard pub food. Service was ok, we were late there so ordered our mains but we're not asked if we wanted pudding or coffee after so decided to go to our room. The bed was awful, every time you moved the headboard banged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemma P
england
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The Royal Oak warm welcome was great. From first night arrival to leaving the staff can't do enough for you. Nothing was too much hassle and they really go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. I was there with works and stayed a number of times over the course of a few months. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cityhullfan
Nikkioak, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review .I am very happy that you had a pleasant experience at The Royal Oak and we are all looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Three course set meal needs the three courses as although nice food the portion was so small ie two small roast potatoes and small portions of meat and veg. They did not charge for dessert as we said we were still hungry. The dining room is lovely but as you want to be filled by a roast unlikely would go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieaaa
Nikkioak, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't had a pleasant experience at The Royal Oak , but if you would like to give us another opportunity I can assure you that the quantity of your Sunday lunch won't be an issue. Please feel free to contact me in the case you would like to re-book. Kindest regards, Nikki

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

What a Lovley roast, no hassle of a carvary, great food and great pub, all served with an appreciative smile, feel like guests not customers it's obvious that the people here enjoy having guests , only problem is how to get out, it's going to be a long sunday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain F
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

65 Years ago I remember the Royal Oak as the watering hole I used before going to the local dance at the Victoria Hall. It is also where I first set eyes on my wonderful wife. This trip was to celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary. Our party included the wife and I, Daughter and son in law, grandson and partner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank briangel2016
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed at The Royal Oak when combining a trip to Sissinghurst and Great Dixter gardens. Checked in around 5pm and with no bother. We were shown to Room 6, a twin on the first floor which we later discovered to be above the bar. Room was clean but fittings sparse (no headboards to beds, only one side light and plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbailey857
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We did not stay here but were in the area and ate here three nights in a row, good variety of food, well cooked and presented and very helpful pleasant staff.Not too expensive and a nice feel to the restaurant.Steak night was excellent value too.Suggest you book for the steak night as it was very popular indeed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di B

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkhurst
8.9 km away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
138 reviews
12.5 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
7.3 km away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
5.8 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
295 reviews
7.1 km away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Rye Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Price Range: $158 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room at front surprised how guide it was in morning considering village is very busy”
thebeard_12, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Not room 6 which is above the bar and adjacent the road junction.”
rbailey857, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not room 14 unless you are under 5 feet tall”
tridymite, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is at the front of the building and faces the name road, room was very warm so quite noisy with local traffic but not ibtrusive”
JanetG846, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back as there is traffic noise and there was a drunk singing outside in the middle of the night.”
  • A surprise room LOL
momofalot1, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates