We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broome Park Hotel

Save
Share
Broome Park Canterbury Road, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6QX England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (516)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (45)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At Broome Park Hotel and Golf Resort you can relax and rewind in our stunning main house or one of our 6 person woodland lodges. The grade-1 listed building at this elegant resort is a stunning example of 17th century Jacobean architecture. Steeped in history, Broome Park, which boasts a traditional reception lounge ideal for afternoon tea, British-style pub and elegant dining choices serving local classical dishes in a modern way. A private, 18-hole championship length golf course is just one of many sporting attractions to divert your attention before you strike out to discover Kent—the Garden of England—and medieval Canterbury. Our new marquee can hold up to 250 people for weddings and events and our 250 acres of land with the main house and woodland views gives the perfect photo opportunity.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Squash
Tennis court
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
543Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 144
  • 62
  • 43
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Myriam B wrote a review 12 Jun
1 contribution
We had an amazing week-end in Broome Park, we stayed in their lodges in excellent condition with well-equiped kitchen incl. a good size fridge freezer and oven, comfortable spacious bedrooms and living room and spotless bathroom. The staff was nice and helpful. Our children ranging from 4 to 15 had an amazing time too, enjoying the pool, tennis court and treasure trail in the meadow. The surrounding golf is beautiful too, with sheeps grazing lazily nearby and bunnies jumping around!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Roy H wrote a review 9 Jun
2 contributions
On the plus side a beautiful old building in a stunning location. However the property is in a poor state; peeling wallpaper, marks on the wall, poorly maintained bathrooms. Cleanliness is well below standard. Food was poor quality and service very very slow.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from John Woodward, General Manager at Broome Park Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
I am disappointed that you were not happy with you stay, I am here most days and would have been delighted to have made your experience better if you had given me the chance. If you would like to discuss anything within my control such as food or cleanliness in which you have left no details please call me on 01227 831701. Kind Regards John W
Read more
Demono A wrote a review 6 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is such a beautiful location and venue, so it is a shame it is badly ran and in desperate need of refurbishment. The worst 210 pounds I have spent for a room in my life (it goes down to around 130 pounds in low season but still not worth it).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Woodward, General Manager at Broome Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You do not really give any description of what was wrong apart from its in need of refurbishment. We are currently updating rooms in quieter times and have recently completed the bar, restaurant and changed the lounge furniture.
Read more
Puntapr wrote a review 2 Jun
London, United Kingdom27 contributions16 helpful votes
Positives: beautiful location and grounds, pleasant, helpful and very hardworking staff, great food, including delicious breakfast. Negatives: Too few staff struggling to attend to all residents (though they do seem to be recruiting as almost every staff member explained “this is my first week”). As a result, overstretched staff left the terrace, for example, with cigarette butts for several days. State of disrepair and furniture well past it’s best everywhere except the main hall or lounge as its referred to (though a lounge is supposed to be warm and comfortable, not cold and drafty) Bedroom decor particularly an issue (and we noted the same from other rooms we looked at, so it’s a general problem). Cracks, stains, poor repairs, faulty lights, broken lights, screw holes, badly cracked sink and water damage in bathrooms, tired furniture, dirty finger marks. There’s no excuse - these things should have been addressed in lockdown, as other hotels have done. Inadequate heating in bedrooms (storage heaters with broken controls, electric heater with broken leg). Paired with characterful but drafty single glazed leaded windows, the rooms must be freezing in winter. No food allergy information stated with each dish on any menu (just small print to ask for info). No trays for carrying bar drinks - staff bringing us a drink in each hand desperately trying not to spill them all the way from the bar to the terrace outside. Billiard room with full size snooker table seemed to be a storage area for stacked dining chairs and dining tables. Worst of all, on checking out we weren’t asked how our visit was, which suggests no interest in feedback. Summary: I’ve stayed in many similar hotels at this price point, sadly Broome Park falls well short. Many improvements needed before considering a return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Woodward, General Manager at Broome Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
This is really disappointing but thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will take the negatives and change what we can and use to make us a better hotel in the future. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and food. Kind Regards John W
Read more
Susieseptember wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
This was our second trip to Broome Park and a very enjoyable one it was too. I must praise John, the Manager as he did everything in his power to ensure our trip went smoothly. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was very grand and spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean but due to Covid restrictions there was no housekeeping done during our stay. (Goodness knows why.) The newly refurbished dining room looked beautiful but yet again, the food was not always up to scratch. The breakfasts were wonderful, I could not fault that but at dinner one time, one of our party ordered a burger. This was supposed to come with cheese, bacon, relish and pickles. It came with just a burger and chips. When queried about the cheese and bacon, that came 15 minutes later when the meal had been finished. Saying that, on the second day, our meals were all lovely. We went swimming which we had to book an half an hour slot. Unfortunately, the pool was only just over one meter deep at its deepest, so a decent swim was not altogether possible. The staff at Broome Park, cannot be faulted. Nothing is too much trouble and once again, thank you John for your kindness and help during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Woodward, General Manager at Broome Park Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Susan Again it was lovely to have you all stay with us and thank you for your lovely review and 5 stars, this really means a lot. We will work on the negatives where we can and hope that you come back and see us. I hope you had a safe trip home and if you would like to return you know where I am. Many Thanks John W
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
broome park golf and country club hotel barham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterburyBarham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Broome Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Broome Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sandwich Wildlife Park (7.9 km), Goodnestone Park (7.1 km), and Lydden Hill Race Circuit (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Broome Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Broome Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Broome Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Broome Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Broome Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Duck Inn, The Rose & Crown, and The Jackdaw.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Broome Park Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Broome Park Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Broome Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Broome Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stelling Minnis Windmill and Museum (7.4 km) and St John's Commandery (4.4 km).
Does Broome Park Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.