We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Dog & Gun Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Tremendous Sunday Lunch from the new management who have just opened as The Tomahawk Steakhouse. Beautiful beef, roasted veg, a leek cheese and three additional veg dishes. The Sticky Toffee Pudding with Jaffa Cake Ice Cream was to die for and at £14 for the two courses they're going to be busy!

1Thank pjpalmer
Crathorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Great pub for drinks and food. Slightly overpriced for the average in the area but in my opinion the food is one of the best in the area. I would strongly recommend to anyone looking for an evening meal or just drinks. I have personally never stayed in the hotel part of the business so cannot therefore comment.

Thank kiemicho
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting family nearby, although the pub was very quiet (it is closing January 2017 for a refurbishment due to new management / ownership) the staff were brilliant! The room although a little tired at the moment was great and perfectly acceptable, huge bed, large TV, nice furniture & bathroom with big towels and plenty warm...

Thank carlsenior
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This should have been a lovely family Christmas lunch but it was truly one of the worst meals I have ever had. As Christmas approaches, I hope people will read this and be warned. The meals were small, not hot and of a poor quality and much too different from a traditional meal. I had a piece of asparagus which...

Thank Hazel C
cambs, uk
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here as it was convenient to our venue. We found the rooms well furnished and clean. The beds were comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. To access the bedrooms after hours, you have to use the fire escape at the rear of the building, not a problem if the door wasn't difficult to open... Not a...

Thank dsturbed
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This was recommended by a family member. Location quite isolated but nice and quiet. Stayed in large room with freestanding bath. I was quite excited by this but actually disappointing...i expected it to take a while to fill but had lost the will to live by the time it was only a quater full. Nothing wrong with room as such...

Thank Kathryn G
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

If you visit here expecting a meal like that you enjoyed last year you're going to be very disappointed. Four of us went to celebrate our 59th wedding anniversary - a beautifully cooked meal, a pianist playing nostalgic music in the background - what an atmosphere for our celebration. We should have guessed when we arrived to find we were...

2Thank Mary G
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your comments. First of all you were served by myself who is in fact the manager but from the start you were had already starting asking about peoples ages especially mine. So this must be an ongoing issue to you The 14 year old girls are servers there is no issue with them serving in a...

Cleveland UK
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Went for Sunday Lunch. Not a great choice on the menu for non-meat eaters but I ordered Mushroom Risotto and my daughter Fish Pie. Several minutes later I was informed that it was a 'misprint' on the menu and the risotto was, in fact, Butternut Squash. Not thrilled but only choice as fish pie not my thing. When the fish...

1Thank Clodaghsmum
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We booked Dog and Gun 18 months ago as the venue for our daughter's wedding. Everything about "the wedding package" was great. It included florist service, luxury cars, and delicious wedding cakes. The staff at Dog and Gun were so nice and relaxed about it all, and anything we asked for they did it. The food was delicious and included...

Thank susangreen154
Cuddington, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Unfortunately I do not know where to start. Firstly this was not our first choice but due to unforeseen circumstances our preferred booking was cancelled at the last minute due to personal reasons that being Rudby Hall. It was half term holiday and we had no choice but to book the Dog and Gun Potto. Whilst travellingto the hotel we...

2Thank Micheal D
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments however.... First of all we do not have family rooms, nor do we advertise this anywhere. Your mother in law rang up and due to your hotel cancelling on you last minute and a member of that hotel actually ringing us to warn us before you arrived about the way she had been spoken...

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potto
7.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 km away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
844 reviews
5.3 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
60 reviews
2.5 km away
Swan House
Swan House
#7 of 23 in Northallerton
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Address: 2 Cooper Lane, Potto DL6 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Potto
Price Range: $110 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Dog And Gun Country Inn
The Dog & Gun Country Hotel Potto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dog & Gun Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dog & Gun Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were ultra modern, unusual for a country inn”
susangreen154, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Premises located in a small rural community - so no issues of noise, etc”
hts0204, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite!”
wirelesskev, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“pay the little extra for the suite”
chez4226, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Our room 2, was a standard Twin/double. the bed was vast and the bathroom spacious. All the guest rooms face north and overlook the car park.”
mikewY4108RN, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5