We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pytchley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Haddon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Pytchley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely evening at the Pytchley for a family birthday. The steaks were delicious, piping hot and a good size. Sadly, my lasagne was an inedible lump, and a strange sponge-like consistency. Chips were good though!

Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you Lesley for your feedback following your visit. I am really pleased to hear that your family's steaks were delicious, but saddened to hear that your lasagne wasn't to your taste (and I am obviously disappointed that this has resulted in only a three star review!). Our homemade lasagne is a very popular dish and having been on the... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As ever we had a lovely meal at the Pytchley last weekend. We have been now and with only one exception the service has always been very good. Attentive and friendly. The menu is extensive although not particularly adventurous it serves just what you want. Well cooked pub/ restaurant food and plenty of it.

Helpful?
Thank TipsyDog
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you TipsyDog for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you have found our service to be good and hope that you continue to visit us at The Pytchley. I think your comments about our menu are very fair - we don't aim to follow trends and fashions with our food offer, but aim to deliver quality,... More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was taken here for lunch by a work colleague as he had been here numerous times before and we were in the area. He advised that it was a nice place to eat and he wasn't wrong! On arrival a lady greeted us and remembered my colleague from previous visits, she showed us into the bar area where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whackerv23
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

What a lovely review Whackerv23 - thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We are always really delighted to welcome new visitors to The Pytchley - especially when they come on recommendation from a friend (word of mouth is the best possible advertising!). I am really pleased that we did not disappoint, and look forward to... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked here to take my partners parents out but unfortunately they were ill, so we decided to still go as we had booked a table. Very busy for a Monday night, but was the end of the month so I suppose people have just been paid. Sat in lower bar area and the person on the next table might has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Louise S. You're right to point out that we are fortunate to be busy from Monday through to Sunday - a great situation in which to be in a trade that sometimes finds village pubs struggling to fill tables in the early part of the week. I am sorry to hear that you felt a... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I don't normally post on these sites but after seeing the review prior to this thought that I must. We stopped the night prior to attending a funeral. The wake was also held at The Pychley. Three rooms were booked. One single, one double and a family room. We had our two grandchildren with us aged 4 and 2. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tracy D, General Manager at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you so much Paul to have taken the time to post your thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor. It is really generous of you to flag up how friendly and helpful you found our staff to be on your visit - and very much appreciated by everybody here - especially following the previous reviewer's hurtful and incongruous comments! We really hope... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We where made to feel it was inconvenient to order food. Staff seemed miserable or to side tracked talking to each other to realise people waiting to be served. Food is defo not home made it microwave packet food. My steak was over cooked! Now it not that hard to cook steak! Table was greasy, salad didn't appeared to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Good grief EmmaL...I honestly do question whether this review is genuine as your comments are totally at odds with all the positive feedback we get about the warm welcome and professional service of our staff - who are anything but miserable! I am astonished that you can claim that our food is not homemade - it most certainly is not... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We visited here on Saturday the 17th, booking is advised as it's always very busy even on weeknights. We used to come here very regular for a steak meal but after a mediocre visit a few years back we fell out of love with the place and haven't returned.... until now. Nowhere else can cook steak like this place, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samelly1
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments Samelly1 - we are delighted that you decided to return after such an absence, and that we didn't disappoint this time. We hope your recent experience will put us back on your list of favourite go-to places for good-quality consistent food! We value your feedback with regards to the... More 

Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We've stayed here 3 times in the last 12 months, and each time we've been very happy with the overall experience. The rooms were all good. The staff are both friendly and efficient. In the evenings, the restaurant is buzzing, as it's very popular locally. The food is "only" pub-grub, but that description does it a disservice. It is executed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BD987
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Thank you BD987 for taking the time to post your comments - your feedback regarding the friendliness and efficiency of our staff is very much appreciated by all the team here. I think your analysis of our food offer is spot on - we see ourselves as a good value foodie pub and don't pretend to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Great meal and great service. The staff allocated us a side room that gave us the perfect space to relax with our children and celebrate my daughters birthday. The service was spot on which is rare with such a large group (15). We will definitely go again !!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Hi Lucy G. Great comments - thank you so much for posting them on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your special celebration - it's always our aim to make families with children feel very welcome at The Pytchley. Look forward to seeing you and your lovely family here again soon. Tracy Demetri More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business . Arrived late , found everyone nice & welcoming throughout my stay which was short but from what I have told others a few people from work will now stay there when they have too. well done to all the team

Helpful?
Thank Andy T

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haddon
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
13.4 km away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#2 of 29 in Northampton
403 reviews
6.0 km away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
579 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
The Crown
#2 of 4 in West Haddon
6 reviews
0.2 km away
Shepherds Row
Shepherds Row
#1 of 19 in Northampton
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pytchley is a silver-award winning four-star country inn, with a traditional and informal atmosphere. 18 stylish en-suite guest rooms offer visitors excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation, conveniently located just 4 miles from junction 18 of the M1. The popular family-friendly restaurant maintains a far-reaching reputation for the quality of their chargrilled steaks, grills and home-cooked British food. See also TripAdvisor listing under "Restaurants". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pytchley

Address: High Street, West Haddon NN6 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > West Haddon
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pytchley 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Pytchley Hotel West Haddon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pytchley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a premium room”
 of 5 bubbles keane31, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Remember there are no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles FelicityR, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want the kitchen view don't book or accept room 29”
 of 5 bubbles tonyfall, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms in the older part of the building as these are bigger than those in the more modern buildings”
 of 5 bubbles OwlTours, 8 Sep 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in room 22 which was comfortable. Rooms are individually decorated and all looked clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff were very friendly and happy to show us around. Nothing was too much trouble.”
 of 5 bubbles Flat21_Putsborough, 25 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5