We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,324: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Upgraded to bridal suite for £50 as a nice touch for our overnight stay very large airy suite decorated in the shabby chic style, but unfortunately it was very shabby stained carpet torn curtain door handle and window handle dropping off damp patches on ceiling and wall stain on front of chest of drawers and furniture scuffed the bathroom fittings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davew1955
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was sorry that you had encountered these issues whilst staying with us. I have addressed all of the maintenance issues that you have identified and apologise for this dissatisfaction and inconvenience. Our hotel is undergoing a multi million pound refurbishment programme that will see...

Hollywood UK
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The hotel is situated in a really attractive area with great walks in the vicinity. Fantastic, friendly staff ensured we had an enjoyable stay. Hotel seemed fully booked during our visit which meant the leisure facilities were extremely busy with numerous babies and young children. The nemesis of many hotels is WiFi access. Although our room was in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhitlocksEnd
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our hotel as part of its refurbishment programme will be installed with a new wifi solution, due to our remote location this is sometimes an issue. However we are installing...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Elm 'cottage'.is one of a number of small apartments comprising 3 rooms in a newly refurbished building opposite the main hotel building. There is a sitting room leading to a small galley kitchen which leads to the bedroom with its en-suite bathroom. Good things: + The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean. + There is a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Hotel. I was sorry to read that we did not achieve 100% satisfaction with yourselves. Customer feedback is essential to us to allow us to monitor and improve our service we provide to our guests. Our hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment that will...

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Stayed in the hotel several times and love the place! Friendly staff and such a lovely area. Love it here in the winter as its lovely and cosy and sitting in front of the roaring fire or in the jaquizzi while its awful outside is very satisfying. After our first few stays we loved it so much we decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us on several occasions and that you chose us to host your wedding day. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Mr...

Stockport
Reviewed 2 September 2015

If you find this review helpful, please give it a helpful vote after you have finished reading it, thank you. We stayed here for two nights on 25+26th August, we had bought a Groupon deal and gave the code to the hotel at the time of booking. When we arrived we were bowled over with how breathtaking the scenery was,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Angela B
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor. I was sorry to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep whilst staying with us, customer satisfaction is our primary concern and I apologise that we have not achieved 100% satisfaction with yourself. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Went here for afternoon tea with our Sister & Brother In Law with coupon from PG Tips. Table was set awaiting our arrival. Prompt service in taking drinks order to go with our tea one of our party does not do not drinks this was subituded for a cold one very unusual big star for that. After noon tea soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boydy73
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea with us here at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor. I was delighted to read that you and your companions had such an enjoyable experience and that the team provided good service to you. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future. Kindest regards Keith Donkin...

Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stayed a 2 day BB and evening dinner break: rural area with extensive views, good roads, and sat nav absolutely essential ! Hotel was operating efficiently in all departments and we especially liked the accessible parking, level access, and nicely furnished bedroom, and quiet location. Convenient for a whole day visit to Beamish Working Outdoor Museum, which is well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GEOFF W
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Mr Keith Donkin Director Lime Leisure

LIVERPOOL
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We went to Beamish museum for the day then decided to stay overnight at this lovely hotel the room was big three beds plenty of room a lovely bathroom... we ate in the restaurant and it was very nice... the leisure suite was excellent jaccuzzi and pool enjoyable.... staff pleasant and helpful..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SHORTYMAM
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that the staff passed on their local knowledge to you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest regards Mr Keith Donkin Director Lime Leisure

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Came here last minute to try the carvery rang up 9pm Saturday night. Took a while to find the carvery room as not very well sign posted. Ordered fine and got our drinks. I had beef which was soft considering it was silverside and my wife had lamb Plenty of veg to choose from and was hot The only issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigmmorq4
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience at our hotel. I was pleased that you had an overall enjoyable carvery lunch with us. I have highlighted your comments regarding the roast potatoes with our head chef. Our hotel is undergoing a multi million pound refurbishment that will see our restaurant fully refurbished and extended, in...

Saltburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen A
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review

361 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
21.3 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,437 reviews
26.8 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,046 reviews
33.8 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
10.9 km away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Price Range: $118 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“being in a country most rooms have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles bendj_uk, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 101 for family”
 of 5 bubbles 724amandan, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We did up-grade our room. The De-Luxe, Superior, or whatever we up-graded to was worth the extra £25.”
 of 5 bubbles cussie67, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 118 on the ground floor has an excellent super king size bed with terrific views out over County Durham.”
 of 5 bubbles LembyScot, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 117 was refurbished, ground floor, lovely views out to the countryside, a large comfy King size bed”
 of 5 bubbles RWGEngland, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5