We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Swansea
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Food was very good my only comment is that I find charging 6.00 for a chicken sandwich extortionate I would not of minded if it had been a wrap with a side salad but it was just a plain sandwich on white bread wont be ordering that again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willyweblet
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Red Lion, Adderbury.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We call this pub our local, great pub grub served with a smile and helpful staff. Food is always good and portion sizes just right. Dogs allowed in the pub area only. We recently held a wake, mid week in the afternoon, taking over the restaurant and most of the pub. The buffet food was very good and plentiful. Huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elaine w
United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We paid for a superior room, and had a lovely room, complete with original (not in use) stone fireplace. Big window. Good radiators though! Food was Olde English Inn standard and we enjoyed breakfasts and dinners. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. The only downside for me is that there is not much "sofa" space for residents to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Superdooper020
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your meals with us.

Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I stayed the night here on Christmas Day and found the manager to be very friendly and hard working. As the pub was busy, I had an upstairs room, but it was comfortable with all the facilities. Breakfast was excellent and all cooked to order.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2251COrichard
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are proud of the range we are able to offer on our breakfast menu not only to our hotel guest but also walk in customer too.

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I was traveling with friends and we booked 3 rooms here as it was conveniently positioned for visiting the British Motor Museum. Rooms 6 & 7 were in good fabric condition, comfortable and fit for purpose. However I was in room 1 which was in need of fabric refurbishment. The theme was shabby chic but mostly shabby due to overdue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adyfield
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to here that room 1 did not meet the standard you expected, we are due for a full refurbishment soon and hope that you will return once it has been completed. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed the one night room nice with a very comfortable bed we had dinner and breakfast and the food was amazing. Checking in and out was quick and easy the staff are extremely friendly and helpful if in the area again would definitely give it another visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nige S
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy we were able to provide you with a great stay.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Visited whilst passing through to visit family the building is lovely, very eccentric and quirky. Room was nice but bed needed replacing as very creaky and the dust on the canopy was awful. The 2 staff members were great, very welcoming and happy. Breakfast was poor, went went down just after 9am and there was hardly nothing left. Breakfast came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shortzaba
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable breakfast, we have reviewed this and have made improvements. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We met up with friends for a weekend stay with our dog. We were given room 3 but due to a problem with the toilet we were promptly moved to room 6 which had a four poster bed and a lovely view over the village green. Our friends had room 1, and all the rooms were as expected with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

The team at The Red Lion are glad they were able to give you an enjoyable stay not only with your friends but also your dog. All of our rooms are unique due to the age of the building only adding to the character of the over 400 year old building.

Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We booked in for 2 nights and arrived on New Years day, when guests were late leaving after the late night before! Our room wasn't ready so we were upgraded to the 4 poster room which was great. We ate in the hotel on our last night because there was a special offer of 33% discount on all food. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us on this occasion, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We booked at the last minute with 2 friends for a evening meal. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was quite good with a varied selection and the service was good also. Well worth keeping in mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Sarah J, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for The Red Lion, Adderbury. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
4.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
497 reviews
5.3 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
8.5 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
532 reviews
6.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
4.8 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Price Range: $113 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The renovations promises to be top class as far as possible for Listed Buildding”
williamJones444, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps at back may be quieter, as main road is busy.”
Z2251COrichard, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at rear”
  • Room 1
  • Room 1
  • Room 1
  • Room 1
  • Room 1
  • Tight squeeze access to left side of bed. Other side adequate.
Adyfield, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an En-suite room”
FrancisL514, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you require a really quiet nights sleep, you will need to request a room at the rear of the building”
lewiskal, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates