We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Forton

LateRooms.comUS$59*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Forton
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan at Forton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here Saturday night for Classic Bike show on Sunday. We arrived a bit late for our 8.00pm booked dinner but were greeted with a smile and told that this was not a problem. Shown to our room, No 16 in the main building, which was huge with both a double bed and a single bed, fireplace, etc. We quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Bromley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We look forward to our stay here every year whilst attending a Convention at Harper Adams. We feel very much at home and are always made most welcome by all the staff. The rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant is lovely and serves excellent food. Breakfast is superb which is varied and freshly cooked. Our evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in room 8 in the annex, right next to the road and it was NOISY! The room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. Dust and dirt all around the edge of the room. Heating broken and room cold but a fan heater provided which worked well but could only heat half of the room due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LancsMead
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lunched with another couple.Those who chose the carvery were content with their choice .One was happy with an egg dish.I chose breakfast and regret that what was served apart from the eggs appeared to be warmed up food first cooked at breakfast time The toast was charred in places. The staff were busy in what is clearly a popular eating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I stay here every year when I go to v festival. Friendly staff and clean. 10 min max taxi ride to the festival. Good breakfast well needed after v fest. And obv a hot shower. Hotel very helpful with your festival needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee1979bpool
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a carvery here on a monday with friends.The meat was beautiful with a good choice but slightly marred by the surly chef serving the meat. We almost felt like we were a nuisance.The yorkies were delicious,definitely homemade.Sadly the roast potatoes were pale & insipid,sprinkled with Rosemary for some strange reason and were suspiciously rounded and all the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kes k
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Hi there Many thanks for your review of our carvery this weekend. Firstly I would like to apologise that everything was not fully up to your standard this weekend. As you could see, we were extremely busy on the carvery doing over 210 people on Sunday and 140 on Monday night (in 2 hours!) As you can appreciate it is...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

First visit, we called on the way back from Telford, and so glad we did. Lovely country pub. Great atmosphere, big comfy sofas, with a fire going. Fabulous food with good choice, we only had a main course, but the puds looked good. Excellent service. Given 4 stars as G&t expensive, it was nothing special, but food was reasonably priced....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VonVon6
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit. I am really pleased that you called in on your way home and had a great experience with us. Sorry to hear that you found the G&T expensive, it may be that unlike all of our competitors, we serve 35ml measures of gin, not...

Shropshire
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stopped in for lunch to be offered just carvery ( nut roast for myself). Awful potatoes just like the frozen Aunt Bessie type and rest bland and tasteless including the nut roast. No one asked how the meal was even when We had left most of it and asked to pay. The place has obviously gone downhill fast since last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jubagsShropshire
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We had a twin room, beds were tiny and very uncomfortable, the bathroom was also on the small side and desperate for refurbishment. The room was at the front and from 6 am it was like sleeping on the hard shoulder. The evening meal was my biggest complaint, started with muscles in tomatoe sauce, more sauce than mussels, I then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience with us. I am sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying and dining with us and can only apologise. I will address each and every one of the issues you raise and will endeavour to put them right for future guests. (Obvoiously I cannot...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Whilst en-route to Manchester airport we arranged to have a meal at the Swan at Forton on Boxing Day. We had booked our requirements in advance from the on line menu and,once seated ,our starters arrived within minutes of our drinks. The restaurant was very busy with Boxing Day revellers but this did not detract from the attention given to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crabma
Swan F, General Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and am glad that even though we were very busy, that we were able to look after you very well and that we helped make your boxing day! Hopefully you will be "en-route" next...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
16.2 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,122 reviews
8.2 km away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
508 reviews
8.8 km away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
5.2 km away
Moreton Hall Farm B&B
Moreton Hall Farm B&B
#1 of 7 in Newport
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Swan at Forton

Address: Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swan at Forton 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan at Forton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Forton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hove, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Forton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the main house”
richardmK9155KJ, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you don't stay in room 8!”
LancsMead, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't call in .”
jubagsShropshire, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the Bridle suite which was very large so cannot comment really.”
BrianWilson1943, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the road”
cfc1008, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$71
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates