We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Rooms are what you'd expect from a chain, but the AC hardly worked. Wifi didn't work well in rooms but worked great in the lobby. Dinner and breakfast were surprisingly good. Ok place to stop for a night, but not much more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Eddie M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tom Thank you for the review of our Hotel - Protea Ondangwa. We are aware of some AC's that seem to be giving in and we are attending to these as a matter of urgency. Ondangwa being a hot place, an AC is a vital component of our rooms, as such it is critical that these are sorted...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2016

this is not the best hotel but it definitely is the only place you want to stay. Pros? The manager of the property: Hilma. She is a star. Nothing was too much to ask. She is welcoming, professional, accommodating and experienced. The restaurant (although a bit dated) provides good meals. It is not fine dining, but the meals are tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveJozi
Reviewed 29 November 2016

from rooms to buffet and service of some of the staff of the hotel was not impressive. air cones in most rooms were not working, the food was edible but not a buffet, it was pre-set menu meaning you had no option but to eat or go hungry, rice everyday! Don't know whether the food given was because we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marythar S
Muhldorf am Inn, Germany
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Have been to this hotel more than once and love it relaxing at the pool and the service are very good food was good and had good times at this hotel relaxed in the casino with the airport c,ose it is the place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willemleroux09
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Clean hotel with everything you really need. Good food, good service at the restaurant and bar. The only thing that bugged me was the highly unprofessional reception lady upon check in. Rude, not organized by any means and looked more interested to what her phone was saying than what we were. Took way to long for a check in... Please...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert T
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I had the pleasure to dine with the hotel and I must say that little effort is taken in preparing the meals. On the first day the food and service was really bad than i decided to give them a 2nd chance and man did i regret it. The meat was very dry on both days, presentation of meal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndemuteka02
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel is tired and a bit run down. It needs a revamp and a deep clean. Everything just felt a bit grimy. Why do hotels still insist on having awful carpets and yellowed shower curtains. There isn't much competition in the area but I would suggest you look for a guest lodge somewhere out of town. The restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremyBruce
Eddie M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us as these is very important to us to ensure that your next stay with us is magical. My apologies for not meeting your expectations and I will personally look into each point that you have noted, and make sure that these items are...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

I must say I was disappointed. I know there are not a ton of options in this part of Namibia, but the hotel was a let down. From the staff at reception to the appearance of the hotel. It's old outdated and just looked dirty.mi asked for a room service menu and was told to go to the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan6969
Eddie M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa, responded to this review

Dear Ryan6969, firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking to advise on your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Ondangwa. It is only through feedback such as yours that we will be able maintain and improve our service to our valued guest. I m very disappointed that you had endure such an experience and my...

Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Firstly i would like to say Protea Hotels must get their ducks in a row because this is a disgrace to the well known francise. After a 1000km drive i thought to myself i will sleep at the Protea Hotel for a good nights rest. Well, I slept in room 402. The room were so dirty i was scared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter O
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

The hotel is on the corner of two highways: the Windhoek-Oshikatimone and the one to the Angola border. It is therefore ideal situated. The beds are good and the bathroom is very nice. Unfortunately the airco is very noisy. On the other hand the restaurant is the best in town. They have weekend specials.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillemHWindhoek

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ondangwa hotels
25.3 km away
Ongula Village Homestead Lodge
0.0 km away
Anot Guesthouse Namibia
Anot Guesthouse Namibia
#2 of 5 in Ondangwa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Ondangwa - An Oasis in the Cultural Heartland of Namibia. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Ondangwa is situated in the cultural heartland of Namibia, approximately 92km from the spectacular Etosha National Park in the far north of the country. Represented by most government ministries and financial institutions, Ondangwa cultural experience offers informal markets and a host of experiences for all to enjoy. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Ondangwa offers all GUESTS air-conditioned and en-suite rooms, as well as satellite TV and coffee/tea making facilities. Stay in and lie by the pool or take a walk in the garden. After a long day at the office or exploring the town, return to out Chatter's Bar which offers a banquet buffet and carvery meals, as well as barbecues on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa

Address: Main Street, Ondangwa, Namibia (Formerly Hotel Pandu Ondangwa)
Region: Namibia > Oshana Region > Ondangwa
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Ondangwa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you don't take one of the rooms with an old air-con unit!”
 of 5 bubbles LoveJozi, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check the air cone first”
 of 5 bubbles marythars, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for working air-conditioner, check if actually working.”
 of 5 bubbles 537gf, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
“upper floor on the right”
 of 5 bubbles markmX3325QM, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
“if you need wifi , look for room closer to the reception”
 of 5 bubbles chitombo, 3 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5