We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Boathouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Boathouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Boathouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We took two elderly relatives there at their suggestion for afternoon tea. It all looked pretty good onscreen, but oh, dear, what a disappointment. Exterior was pretty run-down and scruffy-looking. Inside was a vast and cavernous room, with barely six tables occupied. Despite this, we were told our (previously booked) table was not ready and directed to the bar. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcharity19
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Sweetcharity19, Thank you for your feedback on your afternoon tea. I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and we would have welcomed feedback on the day as any queries or issues you had would have been rectified immediately. I would hope that this experience would not dissuade you from visiting again. I...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent food - tasty and attractively presented. Bright airy space. Service attentive and discreet. Recommend the mushroom ravioli, Shetland salmon and Eton mess. Sit by the window and soak up the marina atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 404karen
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant. It was lovely to read that you had a lovely lunch. Kind Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Visited here again with my daughter for a late lunch. Overall food was good however chips were a little greasy and I've never seen onion rings so large. Only issue I would have is that as only my daughter wanted a dessert and I a coffee, I had to ask for mine a second time as she had nearly finished....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Joan, Thank you very much for the feedback. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable meal. I will pass your comments onto our team. Kind Regards

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My wife and I had dinner here recently with our daughter and son-in-law. While the food was first class I’m afraid that the same could not be said for the service which, to be kind, can only be described as indifferent. The prices are not cheap and if an establishment is going to charge five star prices then it must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almara
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi almara, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am saddened to read that we failed to reach the high standard that you would have expected in our restaurant. We strive our utmost to give an excellent dining experience. Unfortunately it seems that we have failed on certain parts of the service with your table and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant, absolutely fantastic food and great views out onto the water and the boats/barges. Staff were very good and attentive. Would thoroughly recommend dining here, haven't stayed but the rooms on the website look lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dorothy T Thank you for your review. I have shared your compliments with our team. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the restaurant in the not to distant future. Our rooms fill up fast, especially at the weekends. Please contact The Boathouse on 01236 829200 for availability and rates on any enquiries. Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Eaten here many time but this was the first time we had stayed. Very relaxing and quiet, was good to enjoy our meal with a few drinks knowing that we didn't need to taxi it home. Rooms are very clean and modern, with nice luxury toilettes and even a fridge for drinks that you bring. The bar closes at 12...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopTottyTraveler
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. It is always lovely to read such wonderful comments. i will be sure to let our team know. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 31 July 2016

We dropped in for dinner as part of our holiday in the area and we loved the restaurant. It had a good ambience, lovely views of the marina and the food was great. The chap who served us was very courteous and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pub P
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and i have passed on your comments to our team. Regards

glasgow
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Ate here recently and would say the food was good but not very good. The fish and chips, cajun chicken, penne arrabiata and chicken and chorizo risotto were all good. The service was good too. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fergal1
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review. Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Only popped in with an hour to spare for a coffee and coke for my friend, ordered at bar and had to provide table number as we were going to sit outside....after checking chairs table top , bottom and even sauce dispenser I realised there are no table numbers...went all the,way back inside to re-order, the waitress came with me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i have passed on your comments to our team. We provide table service outside on our decking area , unfortunately this has not happened on this occasion and i will look into the reason as to why. I hope this does not dissuade you from coming back to dine with us again. Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Pleasant construction, impeccable toilets, good beer and food at reasonable prices make this canal side restaurant a worthwhile diversion off the beaten track. Close to Kilsyth and Cumbernauld makes it accessible via twisting B routes Risotto with chicken, chilli and chorizo was tasty and filling; fish and chips were generously served with green mushy peas. Looked good as well Young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

I am very pleased to read that your recent visit with us was most enjoyable. It is great to read back lovely reviews. Regards

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
1.3 km away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 km away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
6.7 km away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cumbernauld
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
7.0 km away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
121 reviews
29.9 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Price Range: $109 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boathouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a 1st floor room overlooking the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles DalkeyJohn, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Luxury rooms at a great price.”
 of 5 bubbles ibehan, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Marina view on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 978calluma, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all quiet, over looking the canal would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles TopTottyTraveler, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room over looking the marina basin”
 of 5 bubbles maryu2015, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay