We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boathouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Boathouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Boathouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We visited on a Tuesday so it was nice and quite and we opted for the tapas so we could all share. Despite it being a garlic overload it was really tasty and served quickly and with a smile. The prawns were my favourite although they all went down well. And the staff were attentive and friendly. P.s. they serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Heather, We are really please to read that you had a wonderful lunch and that you enjoyed our amazing malbec. Always a fantastic wine to have with your lunch. Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We visited her as a family of four and had a fantastic meal..the food is very good and service is too. The children had two courses ( one of which was off the children menu and the other off the main menu), and hot chocolate..the adult had starters..mains ( one of which was a succulent steak) and one desert and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant. I was very happy to read that you had a great dining experience with your family and everything was fantastic. I have passed on your comments to our team. Kind Regards

Glasgow
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Went in for lunch today with a friend, pretty disappointed if I am honest. Took ages to get a table, the service was very slow, we had to chase for drinks/the bill etc. The food itself (when we got it) was very good. But it was just the service that spoiled it. I stood at the bar at one point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, i was saddened to read that you felt your lunch was spoilt due to slow service. On busy days sometimes you may have a wait for a table as we operate a waiting list if you have not pre-booked. We do always advise to book in advance. I...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The service was helpful and friendly. The food was nicely presented but the chips were cold and cooked from frozen, as was the blackened cajun chicken and the sauces were from a jar...the freshest on the plate was the salad. All three of us had cold chips. Not impressed as expected more from The Boathouse than pub grub. Catriona and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuartwellerlynott
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Catriona and Stuart, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit with us. I have passed on your comments to our head chef. Kind Regards

Reviewed 28 August 2016

We went for our 33rd anniversary and found it quite disappointing. Food was pretty average fare, service was variable, the place lacked comfortable ambience and convivial atmosphere. Seemed to be run by a group of men who were flitting between the bar and the tables looking all business. There was nothing friendly or approachable in their demeanour which was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Jean, Thank you for your comments, I have passed these onto our team as we take all feedback on board. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We took two elderly relatives there at their suggestion for afternoon tea. It all looked pretty good onscreen, but oh, dear, what a disappointment. Exterior was pretty run-down and scruffy-looking. Inside was a vast and cavernous room, with barely six tables occupied. Despite this, we were told our (previously booked) table was not ready and directed to the bar. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcharity19
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Sweetcharity19, Thank you for your feedback on your afternoon tea. I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and we would have welcomed feedback on the day as any queries or issues you had would have been rectified immediately. I would hope that this experience would not dissuade you from visiting again. I...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent food - tasty and attractively presented. Bright airy space. Service attentive and discreet. Recommend the mushroom ravioli, Shetland salmon and Eton mess. Sit by the window and soak up the marina atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 404karen
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant. It was lovely to read that you had a lovely lunch. Kind Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Visited here again with my daughter for a late lunch. Overall food was good however chips were a little greasy and I've never seen onion rings so large. Only issue I would have is that as only my daughter wanted a dessert and I a coffee, I had to ask for mine a second time as she had nearly finished....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Joan, Thank you very much for the feedback. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable meal. I will pass your comments onto our team. Kind Regards

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My wife and I had dinner here recently with our daughter and son-in-law. While the food was first class I’m afraid that the same could not be said for the service which, to be kind, can only be described as indifferent. The prices are not cheap and if an establishment is going to charge five star prices then it must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almara
Boathouse K, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi almara, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am saddened to read that we failed to reach the high standard that you would have expected in our restaurant. We strive our utmost to give an excellent dining experience. Unfortunately it seems that we have failed on certain parts of the service with your table and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant, absolutely fantastic food and great views out onto the water and the boats/barges. Staff were very good and attentive. Would thoroughly recommend dining here, haven't stayed but the rooms on the website look lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
Boathouse K, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dorothy T Thank you for your review. I have shared your compliments with our team. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the restaurant in the not to distant future. Our rooms fill up fast, especially at the weekends. Please contact The Boathouse on 01236 829200 for availability and rates on any enquiries. Regards

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
1.3 km away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 km away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
6.7 km away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
34.9 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.0 km away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Price Range: $109 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boathouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the north side overlook the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanH409, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a 1st floor room overlooking the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles DalkeyJohn, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Luxury rooms at a great price.”
 of 5 bubbles ibehan, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Marina view on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 978calluma, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all quiet, over looking the canal would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles TopTottyTraveler, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay