We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whangaruru Beachfront Camp & Motel

Save
Traveller (12)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (1)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good14%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“low tide”(2 reviews)
“the kitchen”(2 reviews)
“fishing”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Beachfront
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
22
5
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
5
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidethe kitchenfishingbaytenttoiletssitefacilitiesstingraysgroundcaravan
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our one night here, right on the beachfront Super friendly owners with helpful information about the area etc. it was off season but that didn’t matter, in fact probably added to the enjoyment of our stay. Would highly recommend

Thank Mollynasher
Response from Robynne C, Owner at Whangaruru Beachfront Camp & MotelResponded yesterday

Thanks for your review. We hope you come back one day. Travel safely!!!

Reviewed 18 April 2018

We have stayed at the camp for the past week in our motorhome. This is our second stay here and we will definitely be back. The local area is very special to me because of family connections going back over 80 years but even without...More

Thank Pat B
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This was my family and myself third visit to your campsite which we've always enjoyed but unfortunately it will be our last.... from the moment we arrived one of your staff members was being rude or abusive To someone with us or to somebody else..He...More

Thank Dean B
Response from Robynne C, Owner at Whangaruru Beachfront Camp & MotelResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the behaviour of our staff member and assure you that this has been dealt with. It saddens us that you have chosen not to return to our camp but of course this is your choice. We have done...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

On arriving at whangaruru we were pleasantly surprised. We had cabin 5. $140 for two nights for 2 adults 1 child and a toddler so great value. The lady owner was so lovely and inviting, there was lovely spots to have a communal dinner or...More

Thank Ursypercy
Response from Robynne C, Owner at Whangaruru Beachfront Camp & MotelResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks for your honest feedback and we apologise greatly for the behaviour of our staff member (who is not family). His behaviour was totally inexcusable and did not go unnoticed, since your group left we have dealt with the matter in no uncertain terms and...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Beauty view, Great facilities: the bathrooms are large and there are a lot of facilities, the kitchen is clean, fresh teatowels are provided, good utilities provided, washing machine etc. Great for swimming and safe for kids, great for kayaking, fishing stunning, Nice walk to next...More

Thank susiejean2016
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Northland Region
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Number of rooms
9
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
offstone
24 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Robynne C | Property representative |
Yes you may use the showers at a small cost and the laundry facilities. The washing machines are coin operated and the dryers are token operated. Yes we also have a dump and grey water station available to visitor at a... More
1
Vote
llammers2017
6 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Robynne C |
Hi there, yes we have a holding storage bay down the back of the camp where our regulars leave their caravans until they come for their next visit. There is a storage charge on this. We do not have long term stayers here... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"We were camping in our van so didnt stay in the actual motels"
Read review
"Of course I think self contained is best:-)"
Read review
"Motel units are best, make sure you take all the food you need. Not much in the way of shopping nearby."
Read review
"make sure you have a commitment from them they'll be there when you check in."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing