We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa

Save
Share
San Carlos, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1122)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (525)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Updated 04/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in La Fortuna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica. Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve. In balance with nature, develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world. With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy a holiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience. PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco-adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the Arenal Volcano's powerful energy! A BREATH FOR YOUR SOUL...
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1563Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 601
  • 461
  • 283
  • 131
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sonyab100 wrote a review 6 Jan
San Diego, California9 contributions
Beautiful grounds, spa, pools, hiking trails on site. Rooms were dark - they need more lights throughout, especially by the shelves and bathrooms, and brighter bulbs. The restaurant where breakfast was served and the only one on site had no outdoor seating. We were there during COVID and would have chosen a different place had we known.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel Villegas, Promocionar at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Sonya, Greetings, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback is always important which is why we will take your comments into account to implement improvements in the lighting of our rooms. Thanks again for taking the time to rate our resort.
Read more
waldo2016016 wrote a review Oct 2021
Westport, Connecticut5 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a wonderful 3 night stay. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Lovely property with pools, jacuzzi. Great views of the Volcano from our villa and areas on the property. We really enjoyed the mud baths and hot springs, and the hike on the property. Good location- nearby to the town of La Fortuna, driving approximately 12-15 min; and quick drive to hiking at Arenal and to Mistico hanging bridges. Highly recommend this place for a fun, active family vacation or couples getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel Villegas, Promocionar at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Waldo, Thank you for your perfect rating, and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am sure that all of our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care of yourself! Regrats, Raquel Villegas
Read more
Raqviva wrote a review Sep 2021
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica1 contribution
I loved this hotel; my stay was relaxing. We stay in a Junior suite room, a fantastic view of the Arenal volcano. We made the river trail, it was perfect, the clear water of Arenal river and the jungle. Love it! I recommend waking up early to see the sunrise and to hear the births waking up; it was unreal
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel Villegas, Promocionar at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Raquel, thanks for sharing your experience in our resort.
Read more
allan b wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This stay was terrible: 1. We were delayed 25minutes at check in @3:00pm. 2. There was water leaking from the window inside the room. With an extra 25 minutes to check and clean it for house keeping makes no sense. 3. An old musty sofa! I sat down and it was broken. 4. At night even when the parking spots are numbered, the couple next door parked in mine, and the free spot had a do nor park cone! I was upset, so i called reception, and they told me that yeah, the cone was there because the parking spot was reserved for a guest that had limited mobility, they recommend me to park me to park under a stair case (were i would have been blocking the exit in case of an emergency). Needless to say i had to park roughly 150 steps from the place i was supposed to. The receptionist was very kind, and trying to handle it will, but she was lacking options due to a poor training, I don’t blame her, this is managements fault. They should have located the guest in a accesible room with a special parking spot in front of the room! , they should have called the guest who parked on my spot and ask him to move. This hotel is in urge of renovation. The cocktails at the bar are very expensive. The pools are not what i expected. There are many options in arenal to stay and with better pools and spring waters. As a costa rican I will not return here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
skj323 wrote a review Jul 2021
Prior Lake, Minnesota94 contributions55 helpful votes
We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Montana De Fuego. Unfortunately the weather was not good, and we could never see the volcano through all the clouds and fog. And for two straight days it rained. STRAIGHT. So we had a very soggy time there, although it was enjoyable. On the nice day we really enjoyed the pool, the mud baths, the hot springs. The daily breakfast was very good and filling. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous and spoke good English. My main complaint is that we never had hot water in our shower. Also, the lack of wifi throughout the resort is inconvenient - only common areas have wifi. They offer some nice amenities like birding, etc, which we were not able to take advantage of due to the weather. We did get to go zip lining with the affiliated company across the street, and that was a blast. It's a short 10 minute ride into town where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. This was a great place, and if we return to CR, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Raquel Villegas, Marketing at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay. We are very sorry that you were not able to observe the cleared volcano. the weather is unpredictable and a lot of rain falls during this time. Note: Your next trip do it during October and November, on these dates the volcano is always clear. 🌋😉 Sincerely, Raquel Villegas V
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montana de fuego hotel la fortuna de san carlos, montana de fuego hotel and spa, montana de fuego resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkLa Fortuna de San CarlosLa Fortuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Bogarin Trail (7.0 km), Cabalgata Don Tobias (1.8 km), and ChocoMuseo La Fortuna (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Los Rodríguez, Mercadito Arenal, and Restaurante Tierra Mia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Montana De Fuego Mountain Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.